We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, pet friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Squirrel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for families, pet friendly place”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just stayed this weekend & already referred a friend that booked to stay in January. First time in Big Bear & one of my clients mentioned this place was family friendly & has a playground on the grounds.
Great setup for my toddlers (other than the fact that I forgot the baby gate & had to constantly tell the kids the stairs are not meant to be used as a slide,lol) they loved having TVs upstairs.

Staff was friendly, cabins were clean, newly remodeled bathroom with xtralong tub. Going to try & come up before the end of winter & already thinking about a summer trip!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank instances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review and referral. We try and are always making improvements and upgrades. Look forward to your next visit. Joyce Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first trip to Big Bear Region. Not sure where to stay and found this property. Secured the Moose cabin. Staff is very matter-of-fact, not warm and fuzzy. If you want a place where mom and dad take care of you, this isn't it. We enjoyed our stay! The cabins are close together. Moose has a living room / dining area separated by a couple of steps. Kitchen is complete so you can cook if you want or BBQ as there is a grill outside. King bed was very comfortable, heat worked well as the night got into the teens! Fireplace was romantic. Lots of windows so in the summer this would be ideal as well. very relaxing and soothing.
Grounds were covered with snow, very picturesque.

Room Tip: Moose Cabin was roomy. More away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank champagnelady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay!! Our stay was on Oct. 13, 2012. Our stay at the tri-plex was so cozy and nice, that we would want to stay more in the room then experience Big Bear Lake. The room had allot of amenities for a reasonable price. The staff was excellent and pleasant to talk to, like Kitty and Nora. They made sure our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The owner personalize each room to make it as if it was your home. The bedroom furniture looked like new. The bathroom floor had new ceramic tile and shower area. New Carpet. I love the front porch with nice table and chairs. Kitty and Nora went out of their way to meet our needs. Pat and Joyce the owners are very nice as well. I definitely will be back this spring. Vincent

Room Tip: All the rooms and cabins are in a nice quiet area, away from town noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinny234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

While there are mostly cabins here, we stayed in one of the motel-type rooms, Buck. It was a warm weekend during the day, but got pretty cool at night, so this end room was really nice with windows on 3 sides that opened. There was a fireplace for cooler evenings and also a wall heater with a thermostat. The bed was very comfortable and there was a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Also had a loveseat and coffee table. We had a large truck that didn't fit in the parking space allotted for our unit, but we worked it out with the front desk that we could park in another spot right across from our unit. The internet service was fast. No problems connecting and no drop offs. This place is located a little ways from the heart of town and it was pretty quiet, which is what we were looking for. The last time we were in Big Bear was 10 years ago and we stayed here then. Our experience was just the same. We'll be back again, hopefully before the next 10 years!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bshelhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
You are great to come back after 10 years. Thank you for the review and I hope you don't wait another 10 years!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We called Grey Squirrel Resort after trying several other places in the area the same morning of our stay. They had one cabin left and we took it. We stayed in the Coyote cabin, which has it's own little driveway off of HWY 18. The Cabin was just fine for us...decorated a bit like Grandma's house from the 80's, but it was clean! Staying by the road was a bit noisy when in the living room, but once in the bedrooms and later at night when traffic was lighter we didn't notice the road noise. The master bedroom bed could use replacing - my kids liked it because it was so springy. There is NO shortage of TV's which helped our 7 year old stay put in her "own room" upstairs away from mom & dad. The stairs are a bit steep, so you may not want a toddler in this cabin.

It was a 5-10 min. drive to everything, but we didn't mind because we came up to explore the area anyway. The grounds looked great - our kids loved the tether ball and playground. We didn't get a chance to swim, but the pool looked "standard." Overall, a nice place - not hip/modern/chic, but what is in Big Bear?!

Room Tip: Coyote is near the Highway, stairs in this cabin are not great for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband kids and I stayed in the badger and loved it! It is a nice clean cabin with hardwood floors and a beautiful kitchen. Also it has a little gated area so we were able to leave the cabin door open and not worry about my black lab running out. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils. It even has a little BBQ on the porch so my husband was able to cook some steak. Tether ball, volleyball, and basketball are all on the grounds to keep the little ones busy. Also a heated pool for the kiddos and a Jacuzzi room for the adults. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Close to everything big bear has to offer. We will definitely be staying here again :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I just completed a 3 night stay in the cabin called Moose at the Grey Squirrel Resort. This little one bedroom cabin exceeded our expectations by a long shot. It had a generous sized living room, dining area and bedroom with a full bath. The kitchen was clean and well stocked with all the dishes and utensils one would need. We had a little porch area with table, chairs and a lounge. Our cabin was well maintained,clean and inviting. The grounds were beautiful-lots of trees and plants and a little waterfall. We stayed right after Memorial Day-most of the guests were gone so we had the place virtually to ourselves. To top it off, we unexpectedly got in on a special-stay 2 nights and the third night is free. Who could ask for more? We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This is the only small cabin with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogmother36668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thanks so much for your nice review. It makes owning this proerty worthwhile after 25 years of trying to appeal to customers like you! I remember you, I was the one wrestling with trying to catch a gopher in the grass! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Squirrel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Squirrel Resort

Property: Grey Squirrel Resort
Address: 39372 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Squirrel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Squirrel offers cabins on a 3 acre park-like setting, for individuals, families and groups. There is a seasonal heated pool and indoor jacuzzi (adults), volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes, croquet, basketball,and even a chipping area. The Grey Squirrel also has Vacation Homes all within a 2 block radius of the resort, providing larger accommodations with various amenities like private jacuzzi's and Pool Tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grey Squirrel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Squirrel Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing