We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was O.K.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Squirrel Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed March 18, 2008

I stayed in the Aspen Pines A for the weekend. It was a 3 bedroom 1 bathroom cabin. The fireplace was absolutely beautiful. But, that was all. Everything else was average at best. It felt more like you were staying over a friends house. It was clean but not like a vacation resort. It did not thrill me at all. My two sons were not able to watch television in their bedroom because there was no remote. When we called the front desk to inquire they told us that they knew the remote was missing but the DVD would work without a remote - WOW! Since there were no televisions in any of the other bedrooms we were all forced to watch television together in the living room and you know how that goes for a family of five - can you ever agree?

They claimed to have wireless internet which is one of the things I researched prior to booking this cabin because I knew that I had work to do on Monday morning. Needless to say, I was not able to connect. We called the front desk to inquire and they told us that it was only the cabins in the front of the resort. We asked if we could come to the lobby to work and we were told that the internet did not work in the lobby (go figure). I had to go to Starbucks and purchase a hot spot card and work there while my family continued their vacation without me. It was extremely inconvenient to say the least.

There was no iron/ironing board to iron our clothers. The towels that they left out for us were raggedy and torn (but clean). We only had one roll of toilet tissue which ran out quickly for five people (which we reserved for). The hot water ran out after I took my bath and never came back that morning, My husband and children had to take cold showers. The hot water was back that night, but again only for one bath.

However, the cabin was absolutely beautiful after it became covered in snow. But, I feel we paid entirely too much for these type of accomodations from The Grey Squirrel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lasbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Grey Squirrel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

We live in the San Gabriel Valley so when we saw the mountains full of snow we knew we had to head up to Big Bear for a couple days of fun. We've stayed in many places in Big Bear, but wanted to try some place different so we sought a small cabin on the Grey Squirrel property. After viewing the available cabins we decided on the FOX cabin that sleeps 4. Both bedrooms are upstairs with a king size bed in each that were fairly comfortable. Hint: Bring extra blankets in the winter. The livingroom was tiny, but sufficient for 4. The love seat style couches weren't comfortable enough for 4 though. One longer couch and two comfortable chairs would work better. Comment to the owners; coat hooks near the front door would be a nice touch so they have half a chance of drying out. The kitchen was well stocked and clean, with a large refrigerator. The bathroom was actually rather large with good water pressure, but lacked a heater which causes you to get business done real fast. The fireplace was stocked with logs for a nice warm touch. We also brought our own to continue the fun since we don't get the chance to use a fireplace in the SGV. The cabin seemed pretty clean which is a big plus. On the down side, we had to shovel snow for about 15 minutes just to get our average sized car into the spot next to the cabin. It would have been nice to get a bit of a monetary credit for our work or have maintenance do it for us, the paying customer. We aren't allergic to work, but like to take a break on what little vacation we get. The property looks like it has a lot to offer when it isn't covered in snow, so we may return in the Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Momofboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank grnvlysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Love2Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New port Beach, CA.
19
Reviewed January 24, 2005

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed June 14, 2004

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Squirrel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Squirrel Resort

Address: 39372 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $139 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Squirrel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Squirrel offers cabins on a 3 acre park-like setting, for individuals, families and groups. There is a seasonal heated pool and indoor jacuzzi (adults), volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes, croquet, basketball,and even a chipping area. The Grey Squirrel also has Vacation Homes all within a 2 block radius of the resort, providing larger accommodations with various amenities like private jacuzzi's and Pool Tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Grey Squirrel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Squirrel Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing