We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Squirrel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed February 10, 2012

this place is clean and nice - nothing super special kinda older but its central location and its parking is good - you get the feeling that you are in your far away babin but near others. they keep the grounds clean and nice - they also have available other homes for rent off the main property.
the heating is good - kitchen is nice - beds are comfy - worth the money

Room Tip: make sure you decide how many people are coming you can bunk more all over the cabin with no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSarfati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do Manage Vacation Rental Homes around the Grey Squirrel Resort proper, which can give you a different perspective on the lake, new or whatever. The Resort is older almost"historic" so indeed takes even more care in updating, re-modeling and re-decorating. We are always trying. Thanks for noticing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Beware the fine print; internet only works at the front desk if you're staying in one of the cabins. Might not be a problem in the summer, but when its snowing and you're stuck in doors its a pain. TV has maybe 15 channels so that's not much comfort. Staff was also rather rude when we asked about wifi. Other than that, the cabin's in a good location, but accommodation is just about adequate for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Sorry you didn't necessarily enjoy your stay. Wifi has 2 antennas but Charter cable does go in and out if we are having storms. We now have an upgrade with the 2 nd antenna, but can't guarantee storms. Cable TV has expanded stations, 2-74 and you have a Flatscreen and a TV in every bedroom. I don't want to be defensive and do hope you will try us again. Mention your review and I will gladly give you a free night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This place is okay, very rustic, as you would expect from a cabin rental in Big Bear. It's a five minute drive from the Village. Unfortunately we had two major issues with this place.

Firstly, when we lit the open fire in our cabin (it was called Beaver), it completely smoked out our entire cabin. When we arrived we noticed the bricks around the fireplace were blackened by soot - that should have been a warning!! The issue was structural - either the chimney flute was closed, or the chimney has not been swept in a long time. We had to leave all our cabin windows and front door open for almost three hours to air it out. It was only 30 degrees outside and we were freezing. We eventually put the fire out with water and the smoke still filtered into the room for 45 minutes, indicating that the chimney was blocked and it was returning back down. If someone lit a fire and fell asleep, it would be a major health issue with smoke inhalation. Everyone's eyes were stinging and watering and we all got sore throats. Our daughter had an asthma attack as a result of the cold air and the smoke. Not the cozy cabin experience we were hoping for.

Secondly, the mattresses on the bed bunks were so uncomfortable that my son slept two nights on the couch and my daughter slept in our small double bed with us. I tried sleeping on the bunk mattress but it was absolutely the worst mattress I have ever slept on. I've backpacked around Europe and nothing was ever this bad.

If you can find cabins with better reviews, I would go there. Would not stay here again based on our experience.

Room Tip: Do not book the Beaver Cabin - defective fireplace and most uncomfortable mattresses ever in bunk ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Bunk beds can be difficult as the matress sets on a board but I thank you for your comments and will check it out. As far as the fireplace, the grate must be puhed to the back of the firebox or it will try and draw air from the room verses the chimney. We were not aware you were having an issue with your fire or we would have gladly helped. It doesn't sound like you would come back, but if you give me a call I would try and make a better stay for you next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in Mink cabin. The location was good close to Alpine Magic Mountain and not too far from the Village and city grocery stores. Well equiped kitchen. Fireplace was great. Not a 5 star but it is a cabin so it worked out fine. Stayed for new year's eve so was a little pricey but fits quite a few guests. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32332Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I've stayed at the Grey squirrel cabins ever since i was a little girl when my grandparents would take me and my cousins for a week every summer! It's a great property with a renovated playground, basketball court, and pool and indoor spa. We stayed for a nice relaxing weekend. I can't wait to go back this winter! The kitchens do have dishes, coffeepot, etc...so it's nice you don't have to bring much besides your food. The wildflowers out in front of our cabin and all around the property were very lush and colorful too!

Room Tip: Look at the property map and stay toward the middle or back of the property, not the closest ones on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed in the bear's lair apartment, a vacation home a few minutes walk from the main Grey Squirrel site. It was about 800 sq feet with 2 small bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedding etc. was good (though a bit soft, especially the sofa bed). The furnishings. Although the main road is fairly close it was quiet. There is a swimming pool in the complex and also one on the Grey Squirrel site, and the location is a short walk from a little park by the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I love this place. The cottages were very clean and the grounds were manicured with lawns and beautiful flowers surrounded with evergreen trees. We plan to come back next summer with our whole family and rent 5 cottages. There is something for everyone to enjoy here and a great place to bring families together.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lvrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thanks for your review and for enjoying our Resort, particularly when the flowers are in bloom and all of you( Including your pet) can enjoy the grass and peacefull fountains. Look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.1 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Squirrel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Squirrel Resort

Address: 39372 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $150 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Squirrel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Squirrel offers cabins on a 3 acre park-like setting, for individuals, families and groups. There is a seasonal heated pool and indoor jacuzzi (adults), volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes, croquet, basketball,and even a chipping area. The Grey Squirrel also has Vacation Homes all within a 2 block radius of the resort, providing larger accommodations with various amenities like private jacuzzi's and Pool Tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Grey Squirrel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Squirrel Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing