We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Munchies

Mountain Munchies
Ranked #73 of 114 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is a favorite among locals (I can tell because every time I'm there, I run into several people I know). As soon as we're seated, a server quickly comes to our table and takes our drink/food order. My two favorite items are the "Mountaineer," which I like on a squaw roll. It's a vegetarian sandwich, generous with avocados and cheese. If I really want to splurge, I also order the curly fries, which they serve with ranch dressing. Another favorite of mine is the garden burger, where they also add avocados. Yum! My husband ordered the French dip the last time we were there, and he's never disappointed. He also likes the turkey and gravy. We've never been disappointed with the food or the service! You can order the food to go, but it's more fun to stay in the restaurant and visit with everybody! If you go during mealtimes on busy (holiday) weekends, be prepared to wait for a table, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myrmyr971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
561 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“OK Deli Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I am a local and have tried this restaurant several times over the years. The service is just OK (we are regularly ignored by the wait staff) and the food is average on a whole. If you want better food taste and quality, I recommend going to the Bear Belly Deli on Moonridge Road. They have a much better offering of foods, meats, etc., overall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Sandwiches in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have been visiting Mountain Munchies for over 15 years now. The menu offers many kinds of sandwiches for all. So Far we have never been disappointed. The prices are reasonable. The atmosphere is clean with large tables. The staff was friendly and cooperated when we wanted the large sandwiches cut in thirds. I believe this deli has been open at least 30 years or more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snookie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great owners and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

This little diner is in the Stater Bros. shopping center and is open from 8am to 7pm daily. I am in Big Bear several times per year to see family, and most mornings during my visit I take my father to breakfast there. We also end up going to dinner there at least once each visit. The food is very good -- be sure to order the hash browns at breakfast and the carved turkey sandwich or entree for lunch or dinner. The portions are quite generous for the price charged, and I believe it provides the best combination of good food and good value in Big Bear.

I also want to put a good word in for the staff. My father is elderly, uses a walker, and moves very slowly. The staff could not be more welcoming or accomodating of him. Their kindness to him alone makes me want to go back again and again.

Helpful?
Thank ccthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hard to find but Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Mountain Munchies is next to Stater Brothers market. Some of the Best Food in Big Bear Lake, you will not be disappointed! Looks like a small diner/eatry, but excellent food no matter what you try and large portions!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dsd1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Munchies also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Mountain Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing