We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few issues”
Review of Wolf Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolf Creek Resort
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A few issues”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We usually stay the the sister hotel - Bear Creek Resort - when we're in Big Bear but it was sold out so we tried out this place.

The first impression of this hotel is how badly it lacks landscaping. The grounds are rather large and they don't really take care of them very well.

Second impression is that the cabins are extremely small. We got a "one bedroom" since there were two of us. We were told there was a futon for the second sleeper -- however -- you have to move every single piece of furniture in the room in order to get this futon open AND it blocks the door once open -- so say goodbye if there is a fire in the place! The futon is a bit difficult to open as well and I had a fist size bruise on my leg after trying to close it the second morning.

Other than these issues, it's in a good location and it was clean. So.. while I'll always return to the Bear Creek for it's Cabin space and beautiful grounds ... I'd probably keep looking past the Wolf Creek.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

So fun! Beautiful Wine Room with an excellent wine selection. Always has live entertainment. The staff is very friendly. Be sure to order a bottle - a nice surprise of a set of yummy chocolate truffles is your reward. If in Big Bear, this is a must stop by!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MELODY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Went up for the weekend-the new wine room is amazing! Never thought I'd find such an environment in Big Bear-best accomodations by far, and now a beautiful atmosphere to enjoy a fine glass of wine. Excellent choices from many regions-these folks are doing it right!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and i booked our last minute getaway to Big Bear, we have stayed at other lodges in the past, This property resently went through a head to toe renovation, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the front desk clerk Sue went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, she gave us the managers special we free firewood, a couple of t-shirts and a pair of coffee mugs. The lodge is pet friendly, next time duke will get to come with us instead of staying in the doggy day care center. thanks again for a great time

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the cabins with a fireplace makes for a romantic night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights by the end of February, as we bought an stay and ski package at Big Bear Mountain.
The hotel is great! Perfectly located on one of the main streets, just across a McDonalds and a Seven Eleven and very close to both Big Bear and Snow Summitt.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, with nice, big and very comfortable beds. They have a fire place and fridge, microwave and coffee maker. They provide with coffee and pop corn also.
The place has a hot tub which is perfect to recover after being at the mountain all day.
We were not able to make wifi work, and unfortunately the girl at the fron desk could not solve the issue either.
One minor detail, the last night we spent there our room was not cleaned up, they only left the towels in a bag lying on the bed...
I would defintely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank april_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a chalet at the resort. The chalet was clean, a little small as we had 2 kids with us and did not relise how small it would be. I think the chalets are suited for couples only. The chalet had a kitchen and separate bedroom with a really comfortable bed. I would recommend staying here, but if you have 4 people select a bigger cabin, you will go crazy in one of the chalets, tripping over each other.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Wolf Creek Resort. The chalet rooms (living, kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom) are small, but nicely remodeled and very clean. The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed having a refrigerator and a flat screen TV. We appreciated the helpful staff, and the fact that the Resort is pet-friendly ($35.00 extra for our dog). We are very much looking forward to our next stay at Wolf Creek!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Creek Resort

Property: Wolf Creek Resort
Address: 41421 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wolf Creek Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf Creek Resort is a newly remodeled property offering private cabins, chalets and variety of motels rooms that sleep 2 to 6 people. We also specialize in large group accommodations which can sleep up to 34 people in the Wolf Den. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wolf Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing