We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Had a great stay at the Honey Bear Lodge over the weekend. We found that the lodge is a cozy place to stay. We had the loft room and it could sleep up to 6 people very comfortably with room to spare. It has a queen and a futon bed down stairs and a queen bed upstairs in the loft. We also found that the lodge is located in perfect area which is only two blocks from the Village and about two miles or less from the ski slopes. Also Big Bear Blvd is just about two block away which is great for easy access for driving or walking. At the lodge there is also a playground for kids with a swing set and a slide to keep the kids busy. They also have a fire pit outside and picnic tables for great family time, which could be used when the weather is a little warmer out. The owner seems to make sure to greet all the guest as they check in or out. Their employees are also very friendly and very helpful with information on things to see and do while you are there for your stay. We look forward to coming back for another stay at the Honey Bear Lodge and would recommend it to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Made last minute reservation for President day weekend, of course, not a lot of options. Got a one room unit. Very spacious, with queen size bed, futon bed, could have easily accomodated 4 or 5. Nothing fancy, but more than adequate for a short stay to ski. The manager was super nice, gave us extra firewood and a space heater, since the unit doesn't heat well. My only complaint was that in the description it said "kitchenette" was really was only a microwave. I guess there are other units with more complements. It is two blocks from the village with all the nice shops and restaurants. Definitely recommended if you are looking a nice, no frill place to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MtEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband suprised me for Valentines this weekend staying here ...it was so beautiful on the way up and pulling in i was in a awww moment ..so we checked in and he rented the in-spa room and omg it was beautiful and cozy inside ...the spa was awsome ,with full kitchen with everything u need to cook and clean . full bathroom as well and the second bedroom with a queen and twin bed in there was perfect for when we bring our kids up ... we loved the firewood furnace ,it definitly set the romance in the room and very warm when the weather was in the 40' s and night 18'degree weather ..it was the perfect lil getaway trip he planned for us and we are already planning our vacation in the coming weeks to stay as a family ...they have a cute lil park for the kids in the snow which is cool ,walking distance to 'THE VILLAGE' and to the lake that was breathtaking ... the staff was very welcoming and really nice ...it felt ver homey here and cant wait to stay here again ...this lodge was awsome!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have been there a few times now & will never choose another cabin or hotel over the Honey Bear. Best view of the fireworks & entertainment for the 4th of July. Awesome place to BBQ w family & friends & so cozy in the snow!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had stayed here before and had an excellent time, but stayed in one of the loft rooms with a view. This time, we took a smaller room cheaper, one level. The good points - cute,clean, fireplace, walk to village, could easily fit two adults and two children in this room. The bad points - no blow dryer! Forgot to check that and took it for granted there would be one. NOPE. Soap - only a dispenser in the shower, no hand soap, shampoos. Once again, took for granted and did not bring any. Toilet Paper - one roll (3/4 roll I should say, not even a full roll) with no replacement - my partner laughed at me about this, but I use the bathroom frequently and if there were kids with us, this never would have lasted even the one day we were there. TV remote - as another person here mentioned - did not exist. We don't watch tv but for someone that does this wouldn't be nice. Other than that, it was very quiet, once again, the location cannot be beat, the room was warm and comfortable otherwise. The staff friendly.

Room Tip: I think the loft rooms are much better but pricier, but this was a good choice for one nite, just ch...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vioet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We are due to have a baby in May and were very excited for one of our last weekend getaways before we become parents. We checked into our $150 per night room and it was very basic and outdated. The bathroom did not have any soap and there was no remote for the tv. A selling point was the fireplace in the room. There was a heater system but it was very old. My husband was able to get a remote and handsoap from the front desk. He also bought 2 bundles of firewood at $8.00 per bundle since that was not included with our room. He started a fire and the room became so smoky he had to put it out with water and open the door and window. It's in the 30's outside. We relied on the heater that would get the room too hot and then shutoff till the room was freezing again. The beds were as cheap and springy as they come. I did not get any sleep and rather than spending a great day exploring in Big Bear we drove home to sleep. I'm really upset and dissapointed in my ruined weekend. I'd never pay to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanyamvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I recently traveled with my family to Big Bear Lake and stayed here for the weekend. I had a room with jacuzzi and fireplace, nice after skiing all day! It also had a full kitchen which saved us a ton on eating out! A seperate bedroom with a full and twin bed, and may I add two sperate tvs which was nice for the kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful which made our stay pleasant. The location is great, walking distance to the lake and the village area. Didnt spend to much money on gas. The room itself could use a little sprucing up but all in all we had a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.7 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins

Address: 40994 Pennsylvania Ave., CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $75 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Bear Lodge And Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing