We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet and great Location”
Review of Goldmine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goldmine Lodge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet and great Location”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family of 5 stayed at lodge #3 and we we're very comfortable. There is a huge fireplace in the living room and a nice working flat screen TV. There are two comfy beds in the other room and a small standard bathroom with a shower (no tub). The location is great - Walgreens is walking distance to get your supplies. Overall, this place is a nice place to stay especially if you have children or a couple who wants to relax and just getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Withkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Went to Big bear for New years and stayed at the Goldmine. I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in as the room had a cabin feel to it even though all the units were attached (as opposed to real cabins). The room had a heater and a fake fireplace, good decor, TV, microwave, mini fridge, pretty much all we needed since we didn't spend that much time inside. Awesome water pressure in the shower too. The place is right on Moonridge, a few minutes away from Bear Mountain and the Zoo. Also a short drive from the Village. If you're looking for an inexpensive, decent place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slvah2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved staying at Goldmine. We went there to celebrate our anniversary, and couldn't have made a better choice. We stayed in the deer room, and the décor was amazing. It was romantic yet provided with a mountain vibe. I have been coming to Big Bear since I was a child and you would be surprised by other hotels seem like just like the rest you'll find in Los Angeles. The Jacuzzi was surrounded by tall pine, and at night with the bright stars that we are deprived of in LA it was beyond romantic. The best part was the prices, which were only $59 dollars a night. The two ladies at the office were very helpful, and supplied us with a ton of ideas, especially geared towards a young couple. My husband and I had a great time, and we are planning a trip to come back out with my sister and boyfriend in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband, two daughters ( 9 & 5) my bestfriend and myself spent two nights. The cabin was clean and newly remodeled. It was really wonderful. We all had a really good time. We only had to ask for what we needed and it was done fairly quickly. I would recommend it for any family. There was plenty of room.

Thank you for a terrific experience.

Lisa Schatkowski

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Ca
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I took the kids to Big Bear for the weekend. We all had a greatd time! The #5 cabin at the Goldmine Lodge was very cozy. The management was excellent and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we felt we needed. Thank you Leslie, Vic and Kyle! We'll definitely be back. Plus, the cabin was very affordable and close to the lake and the zoo. The kids especially loved the waterslide at the fun park. I would recommend parents getting the day pass for $12. Best money I ever spent!
Phil S.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

At the first glance the place seemed to be okay for the price.I'm not an extremely picky person that would complain a lot,however, the place is far from a good one to spend your money on. I decided to take my 5yo daughter for mommy-daughter vacation ,just for 3 nights. We stayed in Pinecone room on first floor. We actually were the only people staying there which at first was exciting to have whole place just for ourselves ,later that I realized that the place is empty cause it has lots of flaws. First of all, the fridge froze my food and veggies had to end up in trash,second-there is no room service,no one cleans and you have to pick up the trash and take it outside,but okay. Another thing, the water was sometimes hot and sometimes cold so we couldnt take showers plus the shower plumbing was bad,the water wouldn't go down for about 40 min so you had to take a quick shower or the water would overflow:( The jacuzzi outside was filthy,full of bugs and leaves and spa towels full of dried dead spider and some alive ones too,yuck! The kids playground looked nice until you came to play on it.It looked like it wasn't cleaned for awhile,full of crap and spiderwebs. Overall,the place is just simply neglected and out of shape.So not worth even little money that I paid for staying there. And the two ladies that work there are quite unpleasant and unwelcoming,especially the blonde one. Luckily, we didn't spend much of our time in the lodge,otherwise we would be pretty miserable. Don't bother with that place,you can find muchnicer,moze welcoming place in the area for as little money as $59 a nite and I quarantee you"ll better off than staying in Goldmine Lodge. I will be back at Big Bear Lake but never again at Goldmine Lodge.

Room Tip: Stay away from that place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We went to this place for more than 10 years, under a few ownerships. Most of them kept the place as a family place: breakfast served, kitchen with utensils, and a friendly service. Today is none of this.
No breakfast at $230 per night, most of kitchen utensils are minimum, and you have to leave the room before 10 or they do don clean the place!!!!!!!

The second time we try to go there was even better: they mess up our reservation.
So please save your money!
MM

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdm892000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
#30 of 45 in Big Bear Region
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fireside Lodge
Fireside Lodge
#10 of 16 in Big Bear Region
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Black Forest Lodge
Black Forest Lodge
#18 of 45 in Big Bear Region
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmine Lodge

Property: Goldmine Lodge
Address: 42268 Moonridge Road, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Goldmine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing