We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Bear Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bear Creek Resort
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Well kept up place overall, the grounds were well maintained. With so many hotels in resort towns, you have to expect hotels to be older in general. Our room was small but was nice to have a little kitchen/dining area. The front porch was nice too to sit and have a cup of coffee. We did hear traffic noises from busy street since we kept the windows open for the mountain cool air. I could see someone complain about being hot in the summer, but we got great late summer weather. Would definitely stay here again. Grocery store and bakery across the street. Restaurants and the Village are just a few minutes ago. We loved the Peppercorn Restaurant. We saw a lot of different other hotels from the road, but this one definitely looked well cared for in comparison.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynchase13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited Big Bear for the Tour de Big Bear bike ride. We did a lot of research on the hotels/resorts in the area and came across some frightening reviews. Issues of being dirty, bugs, etc., but thank goodness we found Bear Creek Resort! It was listed as a recommended resort for the race so we took a shot and were very happy with what we found. We stayed in one of the studios and it was perfect for our needs. Little kitchen with everything you could think of including dishes, utensils and dish soap for easy clean up. The bathroom and bed linens were clean and the bed was so cozy! Though there is no AC, they had already supplied the room with a standing electric fan which was just right for us. We wouldn't take a chance and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The little cabins are attractive. The woodburning fireplace is quaint. Hmmmmm...trying to think of something else positive to say. The front desk staff was friendly.

All right, so, the negative. Right ON the street. It's not a quiet oasis. I was in a cabin directly across the pool. My neighbors were rude and did not respect the pool hours. It would be nice if they locked the pool or turned off the lights or something to deter the noise of disrespectful guests. Shower was moldy and the grout was dark stained from the dirt.

Will NOT stay here again. When I come to the mountains I want quiet and trees...not street noise.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay next to the pool. Random local people drive off the street and use the pool. Kind of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RN4Lilones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I scooped up 2 nts end of July for $99 as a google offer. When we arrived at 10 am on a Sunday I explained we would be happy to come back much later if we could get the best possible view of the pine tress and be away from road noise. Receptionist said no rooms had view of trees and that she had no other rooms available for google offer . That night there were only 3 cars in the parking lot. so she could have upgraded us. This gal should not be in the hospitality industry - we were greeted with her sitting at the computer with her back to us. We extended no kindness or warmth whatsoever. We paid another $17 in room tax. Our room (#4) was such a disappointment. Small, door opened to side of bed without nightstand or light. Window over rt side of bed - very bad feng Shui. No shelf in shower for shampoo, razor etc. No paper towels or coffee filters in kitchen. No teaspoons either. Cold tile floors. Lots of traffic noise from hwy. Seats at table sunk way down - needed replacement. Screens on windows bent from attempted break-ins. Fireplace in room but no gas pipe or fake logs. Need to buy log from reception. Had we known we could have brought logs from home. Worn bed. When we woke up we both said let's check out a day early which we did. When I explained how unhappy we were the same receptionist said we could have an upgrade for a small fee. We said no thanks and left.

We wrote down at least 9 other places we would come back and stay. We had a great time in Big Bear even if we didn't enjoy or room. We'll definitely be back. Best Western has a Chateau for only $116 a night mid week!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indeptravelforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We rented two 1-room cabins for a quiet cool two days at this resort. It is close to the lake, restaurants, shops. The room had a comfortable queen size bed with a small functional kitchenette with coffeemaker, microwave, very small under counter fridge. It did have a fireplace but since it was July we didn't need to use it. We could have used some paper towels in the kitchen instead of using the towels provided in the bath but overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaePalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bear Creek resort with another couple. We rented cabin #2 which was a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom cabin. Over all this place has one of the best curb appeals and is close to everything. (ex. restaurants, small grocery store, brewery, and the lake)
However the inside was less to be desired. The bathroom was very small no counter space put place your things. The kitchen was functional but small. Although the bedrooms did have king beds in them the ceiling height was suspect. The biggest down fall was that there is no a/c and it was close to a busy street. No a/c would be ok if the bedrooms weren't above the kitchen and in the attic. I would stay at this place again but in a different room.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jamiedan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a one bedroom here through the internet and received a studio (the people at the front desk said there was nothing they could do to change it because they were overbooked), The cabin room was equipped with a fireplace, a comfortable queen sized bed, small kitchenette with a few dishes, a microwave, small refrigerator and a table for 2. The common area had BBQ's for your use but you have to buy charcoal. There is a grocery store right across the street. Since there is no air conditioning ( it was 90 & 95 degrees) the room has a fan and it is necessary to leave the windows open. However there is a pool.The cabin is right on hwy 18 and there is a lot of traffic noise. We were there for our anniversary for two days on July 2 & 3 and were more than happy to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4funVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
683 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
#36 of 45 in Big Bear Region
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Resort
Wolf Creek Resort
#11 of 45 in Big Bear Region
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Meadows Resort
Bay Meadows Resort
#8 of 45 in Big Bear Region
55 reviews
1 mi away
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
#7 of 45 in Big Bear Region
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Resort

Address: 40210 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $81 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership as of August 2016! All cabins have been completely renovated and are like new. We are a pet-friendly facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing