We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Northern Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Restaurant

Himalayan Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best Northern Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is wonderful, absolutely the best Northern Indian food I've ever had. There are enough items on the menu to keep anyone coming back for days. The food is prepared to perfection, and the service is great. Himalayan is located in the heart of the village at Big Bear Lake and is a must for any visitor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    66
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We LOVE the Himalayan. My husband didn't even know he liked Indian food until we went here and he's been addicted ever since. It likely contributed to our decision to move here. Try palak paneer, the veggie roll, alsloo mattar, chicken masala and the garlic naan. You won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2SierraOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very nice place and very delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Decided to have dinner here. We hadn't had Indian food before and decided to try some. The service was nice, the food delicious and spicy. Our server was very helpful in recommending some dishes. I can't remember what we ordered but it was all very tasty. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Taste of Nepalese Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Although we have tried many Indian restaurants, this was the first time that we had ever had "Nepalese Indian" food. The food was definitely delicious. It is kind of similar to most Indian food that we have tried; however, it is not as heavy and not greasy at all. The spices that they use seem to be a bit different than the regular Indian restaurant and they give us a lot of food. My husband and I ordered three dishes and they were enough for two meals and then some.

On top of the good food, the waiters and waitress (appeal to be from the same family) were VERY friendly and checked on us quite a few times to make sure that we had everything we needed.

I strongly recommend this restaurant if anybody is going to Big Bear Lake for any reasons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delivered on time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ordered by phone dinner for the adults of in our group. Dinner was delivered on time and still warm. The spinach and potato side dish was quite good. The mix grill was pretty solid too! I just did not expect the food to be that great and we were all pleasantly surprised. Take a chance and order from the Himalayan!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPCharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Himalayan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing