We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Big Bear Lake Resturant”

Thelma's Family Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 123 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My Favorite Big Bear Lake Resturant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Them'as has been a Big Bear stop for the wife and I for many years. With just having a storm pass SoCA we decided to take a drive up the San Bernardino mountains to Big Bear for Thelma's chicken pot pie and a homemade apple dumbling with the works. My wife wished the crust on the pot pie was a little more crispy but I enjoyed. Its the homemade apple dumblings that Thelma's is known for.
It is best to take Hwy 38 as Thelma's is on the that side of Big Bear.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ever! We ate here every morning of our 4day trip!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

What else can I say? I'm craving the cinnamon roll french toast as I type this! I generally don't like breakfast food, but I want to go back to big Bear just for Thelma's. The staff is all very friendly which made everything so much better because at other places we weren't treated as nicely. I didn't try their dinner, so i cant report on that but if you're in Big Bear and want the best breakfast ever try Thelma's. Also, the cinnamon roll french toast is $5.50 and is soooo filling. MMMMMMM

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wifey_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on the Mountain”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A lovely homey place for breakfast and lunch. Cozy indoor seating and a comfortable patio for outdoor dining. The menu is extensive and the apple dumplings (house specialty) are big, tasty and a nice take-out treat. After our first visit we made it a point to have breakfast there every morning for the entire week. Nice mix of locals and tourists and a very friendly staff. Delicious, light French Toast was part of the daily special . . . less than $6 with eggs and bacon. Good coffee, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Celebrating a Birthday at Thelma's”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

On a recent visit to Big Bear Lake, my family and I went to Thelma's to celebrate my daughter's 15th Birthday. We really loved the food. Three of us, including the Birthday girl had the Chicken Pot Pie. We preordered it to ensure that they had it for us. The child has fried chicken and my other daughter has New York steak. Everyone loved the food. The portions were huge and the quality excellent. We were stuffed so we brought home our dessert, pies all around. The pies were great. In addition, the service was great. We would recommend Thelma's to anyone visiting or living in Big Bear.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swilson628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Friendly Smiling Staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Loved the wonderful homemade food & apple dumplings!!!!! The staff was super and always smiling and nice each visit. This is our Favorite place to eat and we wish they were closer to home as would make it a daily outing. Super!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YarnMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thelma's Family Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Thelma's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing