We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Burgers!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant

Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 115 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're in the Big Bear area this place is worth the stop. Friendly people, good service and GREAT BURGERS!!! Plenty of TV's for the sports fan and nice arcade area for the kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen93550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
601 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“STILL HAS GOOD FOOD BUT SERVICE HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I really like the food at Sandy's and since we live in the area we had gotten used to going there at least once a week. However, we have stopped going there due to the extremely poor service. On our last two visits we sat for over 30 minutes without ever being acknowledged by or talked to by a server (both occasions were medium busy, not packed). We got other servers attention and they stated they would notify our server but he never came to our table. We went to the bartender to advise them we needed service but still our server never came to our table. The food is good at this location but the very poor service is simpy unacceptable. We have no plans to return due to our having to leave twice in a row due to the poor service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
601 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Food In Big Bear Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I have lived in Big Bear Lake, CA for several years but have never been to Sandy's. We had heard some good things about the food but a sports bar is not our scene. We finally made it and were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food. This is a sports bar so the noise can be rather loud (especially when a favorite team is on one of the big screen TV's) however, the food makes it worth the visit. My wife said the fish & chips were excellent and the homemade tartar sauce was the best she had had in years. I had the chicken strips, homemade potato chips and cole slaw, all of which were very good. (The chicken strips were probably the best I have ever had.) The place doesn't look like much from the outside but it is definitely worth the visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just ok anymore....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have been coming to this place for years but this trip the place was obviously becoming run down (wobbly chairs/tables) holes in the pool table pockets (ALL OF THEM) and the food was not as good as it used to be. The staff is friendly and fast but this place needs some $$'s put into it. For a sports bar however there isn't a lot of choices so give it a try and make your own call.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I visited here for MNF and enjoyed the atmosphere and people. We sat up at the bar, the bartender was nice and had a great sense of humor. They did a free contest for prizes after the game as well as $1 Red Stripes for every scoring during the game, which either was was a great deal! They had great game/happy hour specials and the prices were great!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing