We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pong's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pong's
Ranked #97 of 119 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Came here for dinner on a weekend getaway. My husband I love thai and japanese food. I ordered chicken teriyaki over fried rice, and i didnt even recognize my dish. My rice was literally drenched in sauce...it looked more like slop, and the chicken was bland. My huband ordered shrimp tom yum. There was literally only two pieces of shrimp in his soup. I dont know about the sushi, because we didnt try any, but after our experience i dont see us coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yoyi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, owner not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Food is good. Have no complaints there. Service from the wait staff isn't too bad, just a little slow. Now, the owner, Pong, is another story. The first time I went in there with my husband was last summer. It was hot outside and we were parched. We sat and Pong came to take our order. We asked for water and she said "you order first!". She was curt and very rude. I have since been back twice. (Without my husband, he won't go back) The last time I found out she had discontinued the fortune cookies (to save a buck I was told) and will not take credit or debit cards for less than $15. That was the last straw. Won't ever go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pong's Oriental Delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I go to Pong's for the Sushi, in particular the California Delight. It is served on a sushi boat and has Crab, Avocado and Cream Cheese inside, Crunchy Powder with Sweet Sauce outside and costs $10.99. My husband loves the Big Bear Roll which is the same price and includes Chicken, Shrimp, Avocado, Green Onions, Carrot and Sesame Seed (I've not tried it yet so can't comment on that one).

The food is always fresh, tasty and affordable; while the service is always warm, welcoming and prompt.

I was never a fan of sushi until we started going to Pong's and now I can't get enough. A testament to the master sushi training of the owner of Pong's.

The place is closed on Tuesdays. Here's a link that'll take you to their hours and menu.http://www.bigbearlake.net/restaurants/­restdisplay.asp/restid/1066

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaDLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great healthy Asian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Every time we eat at Pong's, we're never disappointed. I usually have the vegetarian Pad Thai, and my husband gets the orange chicken. The cucumber salad (although you can get soup instead) is always delicious and a get start to the meal. What's also great is that you can order the food just about any way you want. For example, if you want the sauce mild versus spicy, just let the server know when you're ordering. If you want something without onions (like me), make sure you let them know when you place your order. The sushi is also very popular at Pong's. While I don't eat the fish, my friends did, and very much enjoyed the sushi boat. I usually order the vegetarian sushi rolls with tofu, and have always been pleased with it. Since I love the pickled ginger they use as a garnish, they always give me extra. :-) The service is always excellent, even when they're crowded. If you're in Big Bear, definitely eat there for lunch or dinner. They are closed on Tuesdays, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrmyr971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“another local's favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Food is tasty, especially if you like Thai coconut curry, or Pad Thai noodles. Not a big place nor fancy. Good place for lunch specials. My only complaint is their green tea is weak and not complimentry. it will cost you an extra $2 . For excellent green tea and sushi..., go down the street to Fuji restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pong's also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Pong's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing