We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific food, service, ambience with a view of the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Steak & Seafood Restaurant

Evergreen Steak & Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Evergreen Steak & Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 116 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific food, service, ambience with a view of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We tried Evergreen this weekend because of a friend's recommendation. Jerry, the owner, greeted us at the door and made sure our evening was a success. The interior is warm and inviting and the view of the lake is the best! We had the rack of lamb which was cooked to perfection. As we had eaten a large lunch, we asked if we could split the dish. No problem here - in fact they gave us two choices - split one dish with no extra charge or split the dish with two sides of our choice for a small extra fee. Although we didn't have room for dessert, when we heard they had carrot cake, we took some home. Outstanding! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MzMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    8
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality food and fun atmostphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family dined here over the New Years holiday and loved it. The restaurant has loads of character - it is decorated in mountain style with colorful lights. They also had a giant old fashioned Santa in the entry way (much to my children's delight). I ordered the champagne mushroom chicken and it was absolutely delicious. Main courses run from $16 (pasta) to house specialties (filet mignon etc) at $30. Kids meals were very reasonable, around $6. Service was very good. Restaurant was busy. I would definitely return, this restaurant is a new favorite for us in Big Bear.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“December 2012.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visit every year at Christmas (5 times). What keeps us coming back is Jerry and Emillee. The food is average but the sitting is wonderful. I always try the venison and next year will try to duck. While I enjoy the venison, I find it pricey. They are a very busy restaurant at Christmas time and the best time slot is around 5:00 PM. We always eat there on Christmas Day. While I rate it average I will continue to eat there on Christmas Day because of the views, Jerry and Emillee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were here for a weekend Nov 2012. New to area so saw this rated high and tried it to celebrate a birthday.
Called the restaurant and they said reservations were suggested. We made reservations for 5:30pm. Restaurant was EMPTY when we arrived. By the time we left there was only one other table seated.
Staff could not have been friendlier, specials were explained well (although would have been nice to have prices of the specials).
Ordered the avocado/shrimp appetizer, very colorfully displayed on the plate and fresh taste.
Hot tea was ordered and a box of teas to choose from was brought to the table. Water glasses refilled quickly, more hot water available if needed.
Main entree was the 'Evergreen special" a steak with crab on top over garlic mashed potatoes. This was scrumptous. Steak done as desired, crab tasted fresh, garlic mashed were good. Would have been nice to know this was a $50entree though!
Dessert was the cheesecake and it was light, fluffy and good.
I will go here again.
The view of the lake is great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank champagnelady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could use some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Garmin directed us here for a seafood restaurant. The exterior of the restaurant is very plain, but the interior definitely has character. The Maitre D will greet you, as well as the unusual decor. There is, indeed, a table of wedding cakes (display) near the entry. There are also white christmas lights strung up throughout the ceilings as the sole source of light (we were there for dinner) which reminded me of a hookah bar and a backyard wedding reception. They also have many empty and dusty wine bottles on shelves for decorations. Let's just say that the decor could use some adjusting to the food prices. The people were very friendly. There were some service issues, which we believe were caused by the kitchen.

We did wait for an hour for our appetizers to arrive and over 30 minutes after that for the entree. The waitress seemed apologetic, but could only give us a smile. The food comes out in bunches: all of the tables got their appetizers at the same time (for example our appetizers arrived on the same cart as the next table that got there 45-50 minutes after us). Then all of the tables got their entrees at the same time. All of the food was brought out on a plastic rolling cart, the type usually seen at pizza restaurants that carry the bus tubs. The crab appetizer turned out to be two large legs of King Crab legs ($40), with a flower on top. Also, a flower was stuck right in the middle of our food: my steak looked like a fern and a flower were growing out of it. Am I supposed to eat that? Flavor was okay, presentation made us giggle. Unfortunately I only had my poor cell phone camera to take the uploaded photo.

We were having such a nice day in Big Bear that I didn't realize how dissatisfied I was until I wrote this review.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Steak & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Evergreen Steak & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing