We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average mexican food”

Azteca Grill Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 122 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Average mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Uninspiring mexican food. This was the highest rated restaurant (@ yelp). So, I picked this one and went with a big group of friends.
The food was OK. But considering the reviews, I was expecting better quality food. The chips were mediocre and salsa downright bad.
Burritos were decent.
But the shrimp dishes were average (got two different types) and they tasted the same :(
Give this one a miss, if u want good mexican food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Flavorless, boring, shameful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were told by our hotel that this place, "wasn't bad". I'll give them that. It was bland and flavorless and such a shame for the prices and good reviews. I ordered the carne asada burrito and it was horrific. The carne asada was literally lacking in any kind of flavor. It was like chewing rough water. My guess is that it was microwaved. Horrible. It was mostly rice inside the burrito anyway..

My friend ordered the trio fajitas. She got the same bland and flavorless steak, tiny iddy biddy chunks of flavorless chicken and three shrimp she actually enjoyed.

I should have known the second they gave us BAGGED and DISGUSTING chips. What self respecting mexican restaurant serves up bland bagged chips? Come on, now.

Crying shame.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazingly good Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a great find! Great fish tacos (you can get them with grilled or fried tilapia) and shrimp fajitas. The taco chips were crunchy, not too salty and you have your choice of mild, spicy green or super spicy salsa. We were very pleasantly surprised and pleased we could have our dog with us outside when dining on the patio. Pretty basic -- plastic chairs and wire tables -- but the food makes it all worth it! Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We love this little family owned Mexican restaurant. The food is great and the people are very nice. This is our favorite place for Mexican food in Big Bear.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food this is where the locals go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The best Mexican food in Big Bear Lake bar none. This is where the locals go. The $.99 cent Tacos on Wednesdays produced a noon time rush that filled the parking lot in the blink of the eye. We had breakfast there two days in a row and the food was execellent. Great classic Mexican cusine. They have a large dinner selection and we tried some one evening, my wife loved the pork. Open from 11:00am til 10:00pm for outstanding dinning. The wait staff are always right there for any extras you may need. You should try them !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca Grill Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
 

Been to Azteca Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing