We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must in BBL!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azteca Grill Restaurant

Azteca Grill Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 117 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must in BBL!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

SO hard to find a good meal in Big Bear Lake! But I read reviews about this place & it did not disappoint. The food was really fresh & delicious. Margaritas are excellent. Outdoor patio is fun & dog friendly. Service was good.
Definitely a must when in BBL!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Harper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I dined out today at the Azteca Grill in Big Bear Lake California. The food was very good and the service was excellent. I feel like we got a really good value for our money as the prices were very reasonable. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating...it is a plain little restaurant, not very large, no frills but we came here to have a good meal and that is exactly what we got.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank grnvlysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Azteca Grill (Local's Favorite)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Local's favorite...Clean, Friendly, Great prices, Authentic Mexican food. Outdoor patio with live music on weekends or cozy indoors with spanish music makes you feel like your in Mexico..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So*Cal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very nice place. Small but the perfect size, they have inside and outside seating. Very, very clean establishment! I am always on the lookout for a yummy chimichanga, and in all my years I have only found one that was good and that place closed down... until today, they have the best chimichanga I have ever had! I wasn't holding out much hope to find a good chimichanga, but they blew me away, I'm surprised. It seems to be family run, looks like a husband, wife, son, and a couple other family members in the kitchen. They were all very nice and it makes for a nice dinning experience. We will definitely be back and I am very pleased with Azteca Grill in Big Bear! (I also must suggest the Sugar Pine Bake Shop, right next door in the same parking lot!!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalTravelingWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
473 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Excellent Salsa Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a very cozy little Mexican "diner" and the food is above average, if not very good. It's flat out the best Mexican food in this little town, and the service is good. It's small, seats about forty, but that's what makes is special. You feel like you are in a small old town diner and the place is very clean. I loved the salsa bar, with three types of salsa, and the tomatillo salsa was one of the best I've ever had. I had the nachos and they were just perfect, not too much, just enough. The enchiladas were tasty and the carne asada burrito was ample and tasty and very satisfying. I think that this place tries very hard to please, and it shows. It's one of the best meals you can get in this town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca Grill Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Azteca Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing