We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great biking and trail running”
Review of Snow Summit

Snow Summit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snow Summit is the ultimate destination for summertime fun! Snow Summit offers a wide range of summer activities, including lift-serviced downhill mountain biking, cross-country mountain biking, Scenic Sky Chair rides, hiking, and more! This summer, the always-popular Snow Summit Scenic Sky Chair offers the most breathtaking views in all of Big Bear! Once at the top, grab some bites and brews at the most scenic BBQ in Big Bear, the Skyline Taphouse, while taking in the views of the valleys below and the surrounding mountains. From the top of the mountain, downhill mountain bikers can enjoy the famous Snow Summit Bike Park. For cross country riders, Snow Summit's chair lifts provide access to a huge network of trails around the resort that have something for everyone. For hikers and outdoor enthusiasts, Snow Summit is the perfect hiking destination. Snow Summit and the surrounding area offer an expansive network of trails and roads, where hikers can enjoy picturesque hiking trails and roads with stunning scenic terrain and incredible views of Big Bear Lake. Want to step off the trails and work on your golf swing? Feel like a pro at 7,000 feet - you'll be surprised at how far your ball will soar! Bear Mountain Golf Course is a great destination for golf and features a challenging golf course, golf lessons with seasoned pros and a great driving range. From hiking to sightseeing to cross country and downhill mountain biking to golfing, there's plenty of fun for everyone this summer at Snow Summit! Experience a winter vacation close to home! Snow Summit and Bear Mountain (Big Bear Mountain Resorts)offers two distinct mountains to suit your style. With a free shuttle between the two resorts you can enjoy access to 26 lifts, over 436 developed acres and 1,800 vertical feet along with shopping and dining choices. Snow Summit provides the premier mountain resort experience for everyday skiers and riders in pursuit of wide-open groomed runs and picturesque alpine views. Winter sports enthusiasts are guaranteed to enjoy their time on the snow with unparalleled learning programs for snowboarders and skiers of all ages, limited ticket sales, and beginner, intermediate and advanced terrain.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great biking and trail running”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wow!! Loved the skyline trail! Take the ski lift up and play all day on the fire roads or the single track. Make your way to the bottom on your own or take the lift back. Lunch at the top or cafe at the bottom. Great set up for all summer outdoor fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CODoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    143
    32
    7
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Region, California
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great place year round”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Snow Summit is fun year round! In the summer you have the scenic chair ride to the top of the mountain which is a great place to spend the day hiking and picnicking. There is also lots of other summer activities going on, mountain bike rentals, etc.

In winter Summit is a great place to ski. A very friendly family place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed ourselves”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I visited Snow Summit in March 2013 as a side trip on our visit to California (from Sydney, Aust).

It was a midweek visit as we wanted to avoid the crowds. We were well aware of the spring conditions so we weren't expecting much.

We had the choice between Snow Summit or Bear Mountain but we chose the former because our skill levels are more suited being intermediates.

The skiiable acreage is relatively small in comparison to our local ski resorts in NSW. As a point of comparison, Thredbo is listed at around 480Ha, Snow summit as 97Ha.

We arrived at around 8-ish in the morning and briefly dropped by the local ski/board hire. 20mins later we were on our way to the mountain.

Managed to park about 5mins walk away from the ticket windows. No queues at the ticket windows either.

The runs were fairly short, but enjoyable. The snow quality for that time of the year was perfectly acceptable but my late afternoon the bottom areas were quite slushy.

Lift lines were smooth and manned by reasonable people.

Crowds weren't bad either but came across some people who chose to sit on the middle of the trails rather than on the side so I had to dodge some people.

Some reviewers have mentioned the lack of signage around, but I didn't notice that problem at all. The mountain is relatively small so once you know where the lifts are, you'll be able to get your bearings and where the trails are. No big deal IMHO.

Our favourite trail was the Westbridge which is classed as a blue/green (i think). Lots of park features to dodge around, long trail compared to the other trails and not as many people.

Parts of the various trails were icy so the snowboard didn't hold the edge well, but i think thats spring conditions for you. Other parts were soft and almost powdery which i think is where the man-made snow were in abundance.

The food was a little pricey but that's the same for most resorts.

Best part was the abundance of restaurants and accommodation in and around big bear lake. We stayed at Hillcrest Lodge (highly recommended) and only a 10min drive to Snow Summit.

Will definitely be back the next time we visit LA.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank moy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views, beware of lunch deal”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We took a scenic trip on the sky chair with our two children, and we loved it. Great views and quite reasonable ($16 for adults and children under 7 are free). We were offered a lunch deal - where you buy lunch in advance and claim it on the summit. However there is no lunch deal for kids under 7, so they accidentally charged us for the older kids lunch deal which meant our kids were no longer getting the sky chair for free.....but they refunded us the difference when we pointed this out when we got back down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Ski Area & its Summer Options Too”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have skied here 10 or so times and found it very enjoyable! I really like the fact that they emphasize safety over their PA system many times throughout the day. This is the perfect ski area for an intermediate skier, challenging enough but not too difficult. And, the views from the top of surrounding mountains and the lake can't be beat by too many places.

Snow Summit is also great when there is no snow! You can take a lift to the top with or without your mountain bike and hike or bike in beautiful surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Summit also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Snow Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing