We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great For night sking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Summit

Snow Summit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snow Summit is the ultimate destination for summertime fun! Snow Summit offers a wide range of summer activities, including lift-serviced downhill mountain biking, cross-country mountain biking, Scenic Sky Chair rides, hiking, and more! This summer, the always-popular Snow Summit Scenic Sky Chair offers the most breathtaking views in all of Big Bear! Once at the top, grab some bites and brews at the most scenic BBQ in Big Bear, the Skyline Taphouse, while taking in the views of the valleys below and the surrounding mountains. From the top of the mountain, downhill mountain bikers can enjoy the famous Snow Summit Bike Park. For cross country riders, Snow Summit's chair lifts provide access to a huge network of trails around the resort that have something for everyone. For hikers and outdoor enthusiasts, Snow Summit is the perfect hiking destination. Snow Summit and the surrounding area offer an expansive network of trails and roads, where hikers can enjoy picturesque hiking trails and roads with stunning scenic terrain and incredible views of Big Bear Lake. Want to step off the trails and work on your golf swing? Feel like a pro at 7,000 feet - you'll be surprised at how far your ball will soar! Bear Mountain Golf Course is a great destination for golf and features a challenging golf course, golf lessons with seasoned pros and a great driving range. From hiking to sightseeing to cross country and downhill mountain biking to golfing, there's plenty of fun for everyone this summer at Snow Summit! Experience a winter vacation close to home! Snow Summit and Bear Mountain (Big Bear Mountain Resorts)offers two distinct mountains to suit your style. With a free shuttle between the two resorts you can enjoy access to 26 lifts, over 436 developed acres and 1,800 vertical feet along with shopping and dining choices. Snow Summit provides the premier mountain resort experience for everyday skiers and riders in pursuit of wide-open groomed runs and picturesque alpine views. Winter sports enthusiasts are guaranteed to enjoy their time on the snow with unparalleled learning programs for snowboarders and skiers of all ages, limited ticket sales, and beginner, intermediate and advanced terrain.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great For night sking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We got in late and did the night sking our first night! It was pretty nice and the wall was fun! Great for a quick get away on the weekend! Not to many people at night and they blow snow at night so bundle up!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Layla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    138
    30
    7
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, CA
1 review
“Snow Summit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For skiing close to big cities, this is adequate. It's not a "resort," and the parking management is deficient, but overall, a great and fun place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all I want to say that the staff at Snow Summit are truly fantastic. Their friendly helpful attitude adds much to a day of skiing. The process of buying lift tickets and getting our skis went smoothly and there were no problems with fit. As for the skiing itself, while Big Bear is not exactly Vale, it is a good day of fun nonetheless especially those of us not seeking triple diamond runs which you just won't get there. Instead, you have the southern California sunshine and an atmosphere of just chilling and having a good time. We went as a family with two young kids. We didn't do classes this time but next time I will consider that option.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank niwplauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great slopes - few people - great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had the best time! Slopes were almost empty, all of them open and really well groomed. We loved every minute of it!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great conditions but unfriendly staff at Snow Summit...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be up in Big Bear just as it was dumping 5 inches of fresh powder on the ground so we knew we were going to be in for a treat when we went skiing / boarding at Snow Summit. The mountain was open with great conditions and it wasn't too crowded on Friday when we went. I must say that the snow was great and, as usual, the lifts and runs were well groomed, however, a lot of the staff we came in contact with was not very friendly and in some cases, outright rude. While stopping into the pub for a bite of pizza and a drink at lunch time the cashiers at the restaurant were rude to virtually every guest that came through their line including my daughter. No smiles, snippy answers, rolling of the eyes as well as comments among the two girls working the registers about guests was totally unprofessional. In addition there was a group of young men from another country (Italians I believe) who were simply having a good time, enjoying a few drinks at a table and playing some of their music and singing along (quietly) and they were approached by the cashier and spoken to rudely about their loud behaviour (IN a PUB might I add) and told they needed to stop playing their music or she would call security. We are at a ski resort where having a good time is OK and certainly allowable in a pub, but either way a friendly smile and some politeness would have gone a long way...

Our second day took us to Bear Mountain where my teenage son and his friend felt more at home, but it is obviously designed more for boarders and this old "two planker" likes to keep it old school and enjoy some longer ski runs. It was very crowded, which I expected with the good snow and the weekend, but the staff at BEAR MOUNTAIN was MUCH friendlier as a whole than the staff at snow summit which was a bit unexpected.

All in all the convenience and scenery of both Bear Mountain and Snow Summit will keep us coming back, but it would be nice if the encounters with staff were more positive given the high rates to enjoy a day on the slopes!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank califamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Summit also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Snow Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing