We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snowboarding”
Review of Bear Mountain

Bear Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bear Mountain is known as a world class ski and snowboard resort. In the summer our focus turns to our nine hole golf course nestled at the base of our mountain. Featuring a nine hole course, driving range, Pro shop, Clubhouse and Grill- your day will be complete with a visit to the Bear Mountain Golf Course. Please call to make your tee times today.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great snowboarding”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a weekend snowboarding Bear Mountain and actually loved it. It's not Tahoe, but its worth the trip if you are in the Los Angeles area. Good beginner runs, but much better for intermediate boarders.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noo snow summit closed!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We intended to go to snow summit and upon arrival, found out it was closed. We made our way over to Bear Mountain instead. My first time there was a good experience. The slightly more advanced route had tricks and jumps and fun stuff for you adventure-seekers! The easy trail was very simple, made one run down and went running for the other lift. The good thing about the beginners run, when you're getting off the lift, there's a guy telling EVERYONE exactly how you're supposed to get off the lift.. I don't think I've seen that anywhere else so I had to mention it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very nice local”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

too many crazy snowboarders that have no etiquitte. the black diamond runs are nice and long, longer than snow summits but the intermediate and beginner runs are better at snow summit. the nice thing is you can shuttle back and forth between the two on the free shuttle if you have all day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank timhoeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Snowboarder's Paradise”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you ski but don't snowboard, beware! I was almost runover by over enthusiastic snowboarders who seemed to ski in packs. Beautiful runs are available for the skier, but avoid the snowboarders runs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jroger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for local spring skiing”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It is easy to get to and a great price, although the spring snow was pretty mushy by the afternoon. All in all, not bad for boarding options at the end of March!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Bear Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing