We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM AND COZY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn Der Bach Resort
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn Der Bach Lodge and we will be taking our children back next time we go.
The room was a bit dated, but it was clean and very comfortable. The woman who greeted us was very friendly and helpful. She helped us with our dinner reservations and gave us helpful advice on things to see and do while we were in Big Bear.
The grounds of the Inn Der Bach were very well kept and the pond on site was full of beautiful fish and turtles. Lucky for us the weather was very warm so we were able to walk around and see the animals that were around the property. The large mule that is kept in the back is wonderful. Many of the guests were out taking photos of him and the wild burros that were in the field next to the grounds. Being from the city it is a real treat to see animals out in the wild.
We will be going back to the Inn Der Bach this summer. This time we will be bringing our children.
I would certainly recomend this lodge to our friends and family.
The only thing I would recomend is that the lodge update the T.V's in the rooms and maybe upgrade the rooms a bit.

Room Tip: Room # 10 is very warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

Reading the reviews something must have drastically happened between 2009 and 2011...Would not recommend this to anyone!! First i must say this was my first time to Big Bear and have nothing else to base my opinion on....but I can't imagine this is the norm.

After "getting a deal" on one of those deal websites (going to write to them and suggest they review the places they do business with)... I assumed this was a good place....how can you go wrong...usually $300 and I got it for $150... I thought I scored a winner... Boy was I wrong!!!

Basically everything that was said in the previous reviews is exactly what my husband and I experienced. No one was there to "check in". We went into ever Chalet looking for someone but no one...it was almost like something out of a horror movie. After searching we eventually found a note attached to, what is called their office door, telling us which chalet we were staying in. If my husband hadn't looked around I don't know what we would have done. But too our surprise, every single chalet and the lodge was unlocked....at least I can say the people at this establisment are trusting folks. Luckly the other places were open because we had to "borrow" lightbulbs from the other chalet for ours.

I understand that this place is located in the outdoors, and critters live amongst us...but I don't need to see their droppings on the kitchen stove...not the welcome I really want!

The sad thing about this place is you can see what potential it could have if they put in some tender lovin care into it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenn0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Really, really don't stay here. Do your homework and you can find a lot of better places to stay. This place is not worth it. We booked two nights and checked out one night early. Service was good but it could have been better staff needs to be more informative and understand tourists do not know their way around town so we need information other than - theres nothing to do around here- . Cabins are really old, super old, like the other review says theres an old tv without a remote control that has a vhs player. had to get up all the time to change channels. wireless doesn't work so forget about bringing your laptop. the bathroom was dirty, it looked like a guy had peed right before we checked in. All the dishes were dirty had to wash all the dishes to make dinner and to have a cup of tea. the tea pot had burn milk inside and it was rusted. let me also mention that you have to clean the cabin and leave it the way you get it at check in or a $50 charge will be placed on your card. What a joke. My boyfriend sat on the armchair and got a nail through his palm. Door locks are a joke, they are not attached to the wall, in other words the door frame is loose. Someone can you bust the door open with very minimal effort. The AC/heater was either too hot or too cold. It was just not worth our time and money. The place is not cheap rooms run from $125 - $200 a night and I have stayed at better places for this much money. We wanted things to do in the area and we asked if we could walk to the river and we were told that it would be around 2-3 miles and 2 miles down our way we found a sign that said 4 more miles to the river. We had to turn back and get the car. Staff should at least know little things like this it was a little frustrating.

Big Bear City is beautiful, the snow is beautiful, we will be back again to enjoy the river and all the little shops and beautiful houses. Highly recommend to visit but really look into where you stay and of couse you must bring snow chains to avoid having an accident.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mevarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnDerBach, Manager at Inn Der Bach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

We have since replaced the on site supervisor and housekeeper. We are truly sorry that you found the room not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

If it wasn't real, I'd think it was a prank. The attached cottage (#9) was old and worn. The heat was too hot or too cold. Except for some soap and shampoo packets, there was nothing. No coffee maker, a microwave that sounded like it may blowup, no little refrigerator, ,,,and get this. An old TV without a remote that only had one channel which worked if you put in a provided StarWars tape and hit play, then stop. We were offered firewood for a little heater ($10). The ceiling fan was so wobbly, We thought the blades were going to come off
On the positive side, it was clean (worn but clean).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillyAtwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy682, Timothy, General Manager at Inn Der Bach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Billy,

We are sorry you and your wife didn't enjoy your stay at Inn Der Bach.
Since your visit in 2011, management has changed. New management has been here almost a year and we are working very hard to make Inn Der Bach a place where you will be happy to stay and bring the whole family.

A lot of guests appreciate the rustic feel of our hotel, but we take your satisfaction seriously and will heed your comments for down the road. We assure you now, we have working cable TV, free Wi-Fi, wonderful Keurig coffee and Tea makers and so much more to make your stay that much more enjoyable.

I hope to hear more from you! We're always looking to improve and appreciate your feedback. Thanks so much and take care!

Best regards,

Timothy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at Inn Der Bach this December and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are not extremely new, but well designed. It was helpful to have a full kitchen with stove, microwave, coffee maker, and full fridge.

The whole property is very attractive, but by the time we got back to our room we just wanted to enjoy a wood fire and some time together. I wish we had more time to be there… maybe next time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heirs2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We visited the Inn Der Bach this October, and i must say.... It was a beautiful and quaint inn. We were able to relax and stroll the property on several occasions throughout our trip and it was a very peaceful experience. It is only a few minutes from the slopes and all the other action of Big Bear.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tru2logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostwriter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn Der Bach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Der Bach Resort

Address: 1351 Midway Blvd, Big Bear City, CA 92314-9210
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear City
Price Range: $150 - $950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Der Bach offers a variety of inviting alpine chalets for your accommodations. We are located on the historic Shay Ranch.Our purpose is to provide clean and comfortable accommodations on our well groomed, park-like grounds. As our guest, we want you to be relaxed, rested, and restored each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Der Bach Hotel Big Bear City
Inn Der Bach Resort Big Bear Region, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing