We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Big Bear Lake!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Mountain Manor Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Big Bear Lake in California has the BEST B&B I've ever been to, and I've been to many of them all over. Visit Gold Mountain Manor there. GORGEOUS setting, rustic mountain elegance in the pines and great skiing (winter snow and summer water). Not right on the lake, but only 5 minute drive from it. It's worth it! This place has FABULOUS gourmet breakfasts, and the owner is so wonderful. She personally greets everyone, fresh flowers in your room, lovely touches everywhere. Ask for the Ted Ducey Suite... it has a one-of-a-kind artistic bed built out of a giant tree. This place is great for romantic getaways or weddings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Gold Mountain Manor Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

All I have to say is This place is Great. All you can ask for in a mini vacation or a long vacation. "WE LOVE YOU CATHY"

We stayed here in June this year for 2 nights . This was our first Cabin experience with family. Everyone had fun. Also the entertainment and stories were very interesting to hear. We really enjoyed the Breakfast Scene. We naturally thought Bed and Breakfast was what it sounds like. However it was a Family Style sitting with other guests in the Manor. Which was a Great way to mingle and have a conversation about different things to do and ideas of maybe what to do and where to visit within the City.

Also it was a great touch in the room we stayed in." Bessie's room" They all had a guest book to sign, or read all the past stays personal experiences. ALL I CAN SAY IS WE WOULD DEFINATELY RETURN. GOOD PEOPLE, FOOD and HOSPITALITY IS GREAT.
"Kiska and Kila" were great guests that came to visit. The family fell in love with them.

Oh last but not least the garden court yard was beautiful, and the my husband loved the Hammock. It very much so complimented the Rustic Cabin's porch view. So Peaceful for me to get up have a cup of hot tea and read my book.

Hope this review will help anyone who intends to stay here.

Thanks,

The Parker- Nguyen Family
Teasha and Vietnam, also Z and T

Room Tip: Bessie's Room-- is very Bright beautiful to wake up to in the morning. The white wicker décor is...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great experience during our two night visit. Kathy made us feel right at home, the room was clean and quiet and we met some great people. The breakfasts were to die for starting with homemade yogurt and fresh fruit. We found some nice walking trails near by. The total experience was great!

Room Tip: Lucky Baldwin room was rustic.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

maybe it is just us but i did not enjoy our time. yes the ladies were nice cookies were awesome. the breakfast was set up beautifully. but not real happy with the small room. there were children there after the memo said they could not accommodate children. yard was to die for. o the bath powder and tub were great but we could of had a bigger and better set up in a cabin. they said wine and snacks on weekend we did once on sat. we really did not see anyone sun at all. place was bare,. will not return or tell anyone to go there.

Room Tip: cant say much about rooms but this place is to far from the village where you can shop or eat
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cavasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was beyond a surprise. Every once and awhile, special and highly unexpected experiences find you. This was the case for our last weekend up in Big Bear. Cathie has continued a tradition in the manor but also has brought her own amazing yet humble energy to it creating the perfect environment to truly wind down. As parents of three children, this is a rare joy for us.
From food, to hospitality, to the most beautiful of locales, true synergy exists at this place. Please go and have a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After just one day of a "Girlfriends' Weekend, I was already planning several return trips with family and friends. Everything was just amazing. Cathy is an exceptionally warm and gracious host -- I really felt as though I was a special guest in her home, which is basically a huge cabin with interesting things to see throughout every room. An enormous veranda porch looks out to the most inviting lawn, with flowering trees and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the birds and the breeze. And as if it wasn't already perfect enough out there, Cathy shows up with a tray of lemonade, iced tea and fresh-baked cookies! Breakfasts were creative and delicious, and customized to our crazy food needs/preferences. I wouldn't change a thing, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The grounds were beautiful. The yard is surrounded by trees, there were multiple lawn chairs, a swing and a hammock. All relaxing.

The main rooms (living and dining) had a great ambience were comfortable and inviting.
Pool table, tv and movies, fireplaces, multiple seating areas but still felt cozy and inviting.

The guest rooms each had their own uniqueness so there is something for everyone. There was one room that had the bathroom separate.
There was no shortage of hot water and the tap water is drinkable and mountain fresh.

Kathy is very friendly and made us feel welcome and at home.
Expect to be greeted by Kiska and Qila. I can't remember the breed but they reminded me of a small version of a Husky.

We were going to skip breakfast and go for an early morning hike. I am glad we changed our minds. The breakfasts were amazing.
Homemade yogurt, fresh fruit, a cooked apple tart, quiche, baked croissant French toast (each morning had it's own serving so my list of food was spread over 2 mornings) were all prepared in ways I have never had before.
Fresh baked afternoon cookies were great.
Evening wine and appetizers is not a new concept but was a nice finishing touch for the day.

The breakfast and evening get together were great opportunities to meet others (which is always one of the reasons we choose B&B type accommodations).

The location is not in the village but it is only a 5 minute drive.
Quiet location.

Overall an excellent experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear City
4.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
657 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
#1 of 16 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Mountain Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Mountain Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1117 Anita Ave, Big Bear City, CA 92314-8938
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear City
Price Range: $129 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gold Mountain Manor Bed And Breakfast Big Bear Region, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing