We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Gimmick , Pure Culinary Art”
Review of Tagine

Tagine
Reserve with OpenTable
Tagine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 324 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Price range: $8 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Gimmick , Pure Culinary Art”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was in Beverly Hills that day with some friends and we read that this is the place to go to,
At first I thought , hmm do i feel like generic Morrocan food ,so i was reluctant. The outside of the place is very understated and discrete to the point we thought it was closed. We went thtu its old small blue door and we were very lucky to find a table as the place is very small. They played artsy jazz music and the food presentation was superb , from tasters on elegant spoons to baby Zuchinis ( courgettes) . The lamb was perfectly cooked. We gave our compliments to the chef and left with a big smile. Yes it is more expnesive than the avergae Morrocan restaurant , but this is not an avegrage Morrocan restaurant this is a wonderful gastronomic experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeTrident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa OK USA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good food but way overpriced”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

You can hardly find this place, just a tiny storefront. Very dark inside. Food was excellent but way overpriced for what you get. We got the tasting menu, but I think we would have been happier with a la carte. Wine mark up also huge.

Helpful?
Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, high prices”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading the other reviews we decided to try it out. Almost missed it since it is a small store front restaurant. Decor was interesting, but it was so dark we couldn't even read the menu. Started out with three tiny appetizers that were compliments of the chef. We then shared the hummus plate that was excellent but TINY! Four little slivers of pita and two tiny glasses of hummus and eggplant. The food was delicious, what there was of it. The honey lamb tangine was so fatty but in the dark it was impossible to cut the fat away. The lamb chops and fish were better choices. We also were shocked by the wine mark-ups. Better to bring your own wine and pay the $30 corkage. Interesting experience, but we won't be going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, atmosphere romantic eclectic”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This a place where you can easily spend $200 for a couple and enjoy the food immensely. The food is excellent. The location is just above Wilshire on Robertson; not exactly where you'd expect to lay out that much for a meal. The venue looks like an old storefront with very eclectic interior. One wall is full of Moroccan style cushions with old Elizabethan looking wall decor over them, the opposite wall has Moroccan style framed images. The place is kept fairly dark, perhaps so you don't notice the decor. There was very nice music playing throughout the evening with that famous Moroccan musician Louis Armstrong sounding good as always.
Most folks seem to order the tasting menu as we did. Each item on that has been described by others here, suffice it to say we enjoyed each dish. The tariff for the tasting menu is $71pp, there is a stiff charge for wine, tea, or non tap water. There is no real place to wait for a table if the place is full but they do seem to stage the meals pretty well. The servers were very friendly and the service felt quite good.
The decor notwithstanding, the feel was quite romantic and it would be a good place for such a date.
How was the food that good? How does it compare to other Moroccan places in the LA area such as Dar Maghreb and Koutoubia? The food is better than either, less traditional but more flavorful. As example the B'stilla looks like a napoleon rather than a sugar dusted pie; it tastes great notwithstanding. I can't believe the chocolate soup for desert is a Moroccan staple.
Is it worth the money? Well the food is certainly terrific, the service holds it own, the venue well for the money it isn't. Will we come back.............very likely but for special occassions.l

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not a perfect restaurant, but delicious food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

First, the food was amazing. From start to finish, the tasting menu was really, really great. Our favorites were the courses with the phyllo dough and the one with the lamb (though the menu may have changed since this review). One other thing that we appreciated is that although we are lactose intolerant, we could eat almost every item on the tasting menu, which is quite rare as these are usually full of cheese and cream sauces. Instead, this was a light, fresh, delicious, and still quite filling menu. One quick food comment ... we were offered tea at the end of the restaurant. This tea is (1) really, really sweet and (2) expensive! So, make sure you really want it before saying "yes".

The service was inconsistent. When we first walked into Tagine, it took several minutes before anyone even greeted us at the entrance. Normally I'm not picky about this sort of thing (or really even notice it), but we felt almost ignored. It would have gone a long way if one of the staff even said "hello" or acknowledged us, but instead we felt out-of-place standing around at the front of the restaurant. It made it worse that there's not really a good area to wait, so we were basically hovering over the tables near the door. However, our server for the rest of the meal was excellent, and the courses came out quickly (but not too quickly), and the service was attentive but not overwhelming. So, easy fix, but one that would have made a big impact on our experience.

The atmosphere is the main reason I gave this place a "4", and even considered giving it a "3". First, the restaurant is in a weird location. We walked there from our B&B, and it's just in a strange area, in almost a strip mall setting. Granted it has an entirely different feel once you're inside, but approaching the restaurant, we sort of had a "where are we??" feeling. It didn't feel unsafe, but definitely didn't seem to be a nice area. The decor inside was nice, dark, and felt like it could be traditional Moroccan, though the setup of the restaurant is a bit odd. As I mentioned earlier in the review, there's not really a waiting area at the front of the restaurant. When we finally were seated, we were taken to the table at the far end of the restaurant, near the entrance to the kitchen. At our table, we were sort of in a twilight zone, between the bright lights and sounds coming from the kitchen and the dark, intimate feel of the rest of the restaurant. It could have just been bad luck that we ended up at this table, and maybe we would have been more comfortable at another table, but this also had a negative impact on our dinner.

Overall, for $71 a person, we had some pretty high expectations going in. And as far as the food, it's worth at least that much ... one of the best meals we've had. The service was also good, once we were finally acknowledged seated at our table. Unfortunately, we just didn't feel that the atmosphere lived up to the rest of the dining experience. So overall, I'd recommend Tagine for a special occasion, but I'd just be aware of the items I mentioned in this review going into the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tagine also viewed

 

Been to Tagine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing