We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Boutique Option in Beverly Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SIXTY Beverly Hills
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is ideally located near the heart of Beverly Hills. Although it is on bustling Wilshire Boulevard, its motor and lobby entrance is discreetly located off the street. The staff is warm, welcoming and accommodating. The lobby, like the rest of the hotel, is compact but creates a relaxing and intimate vibe. The hotel's design is cool and hip without being over-the-top. For example, although the hallway walls and ceilings are clad in black laquer, it is well lit so you do not get the feeling that you are walking through some dark maze like you do in some other hip hotels. The rooms are spare without being spartan. Wood is prominently used--including bare hardwood floors. Bathrooms are small but have sufficient lighting and lots of marble and quartz tiles. The rooftop pool offers a relaxing respite. The gym is merely adequate. SIXTY Beverly Hills (formerly Thompson Beverly Hills) has evidently been open for a few years and is looking a little worn around the edges. Other than that, it is a solid Beverly Hills choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 859 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed at Sixty (formerly Thompson) properties in NYC and had a good experience, so I was looking forward to a stay at their Beverly Hills property. And on the surface, the place delivers: It's sleek, sexy, great rooftop pool, with a friendly downstairs staff and a good central BH location. But after that I was surprised at how the actual experience didn't live up to the look.

I got a great rate, so I was expecting the room to be cozy, which it was. That was no problem. But I was amazed at how much they sacrificed functionality for good looks. Pieces of the faucet broke off in my hands. The mirror wasn't no-fog. The sexy lighting in the room and bathroom was so incredibly dim I couldn't even tell what color my dress was or how it looked on me, and I was going to an event so those details were important. The lamp and the phone both didn't work. The elevator is very slow. And on and on. For the price I got, I would have felt I overpaid but hey, that's LA. If I had paid full price, I would have been pretty unhappy.

And speaking of full price -- we stopped by the rooftop bar late at night, which is, as you might expect, populated with a semi douchey clientele. Fine. But my guest ordered a fairly easy cocktail, which came out incorrect and undrinkable, and our waitress never came back after dropping it off to see how it worked out (and that it was untouched). When I went to pay, I saw I'd been charged an extra $4 for premium gin, which I hadn't asked for. I know that's par for the course at rooftop bars, but I would be extra specific with your order if you do go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixtyBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear happycamper519,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to try out Sixty Beverly Hills. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations, especially after you have tried our sister properties. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously, and we will address your room and rooftop service complaints. We are also in the process of improving the lighting of our guestrooms based on guest feedback, so I hope that you give us another chance so that we can show you our new and improved property. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best,
Dene Nui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I hope that I will still be able to get a room at Sixty after you read this. I have stayed here many times over the last year and it is a 'best bet' for time in LA. The location is perfect and the staff is fabulous.
My last trip was while my mom was in the hospital and I never felt that I was alone going through this stressful time. From the bellmen/valets to the front desk I always had a warm welcome and genuine interest in how I was and how my mom was doing. It was always nice to be able to take a short walk in the residential neighborhood just behind the hotel (I once lived just three blocks away) to unwind, and then head up to my room. I enjoyed the view every night watching the lights of the city. What can I say about a mini bar that runs from Patron to a tumeric elixir-my kind of fridge!
I didn't make it up to the pool often but it was a great break in the late afternoon or a nice way to start my day. All of the staff at this hotel are great, and over a few weeks I was able to spend time with many of them. I was there as the hotel switched from a Thompson Hotel to Sixty and thankfully all of the staff remain...they are the heart of a very cool hotel.

Room Tip: Sunrise or sunset? pick your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A wonderful staycation for me. The pool is private and well kept with wonderful views (when not smoggy!) of century city, the hills, and even downtown.

It's a sleek private place to escape- the staff was always helpful and virtuous especially Cody Ray, a houseman/valet who was extra attentive.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipanemasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixtyBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ipanemasol,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our wonderful Cody Ray! I will be sure to pass on your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next staycation!

Best,
Dene Nui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Next to a Ferrari garage close to Louis Vitton and all others big names this is really Beverly Hills.Nice rooftop terras with pool a good place to see and be seen. Room in my opinion a bit worne out service excellent,good value.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Had an excellent stay, and was so pleased with the location, service and amenities. Cool decor too and an excellent rooftop deck and bar. If you're heading to Los Angeles for business, pleasure or a little of both, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great Hotel, great location and the best staff! I wish I could remember names but the Food & Beverage Manager was top notch! He knew my name after first night and made me fell like a regular! Thank U!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
966 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,823 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,221 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: $254 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California Cool meets East Coast sophistication at this erudite respite located in the glamorous Los Angeles enclave, minutes from Rodeo Drive boutiques and Hollywood power-playgrounds. The International Style-designed SIXTY Beverly Hills is a serene-but-scene-stealing outpost featuring luxurious comforts like bespoke furnishings, artfully designed bedroom suites and a gallery of Hollywood-evocative imagery. A cinematic Above SIXTY Beverly Hills rooftop bar and outdoor poolside lounge provide balmy zephyrs and panoramic views of L.A.'S fabled canyons while the tony-but-fuss-free Caulfield's Bar and Dining Room is the all-hours spot for casual New American cuisine comforts. SIXTY Beverly hills is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing