We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird, overdone decor. It feels like "The Shining"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY Beverly Hills
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall I did not like this hotel and would not return but there were a few pros. Great location right off Wilshire, just a few blocks from Rodeo Drive. The staff was friendly and professional. The rooftop bar/patio was amazing with great views.

Unfortunately there was nothing else about this hotel I liked. The décor, wallpaper, mirrors and furniture make you feel like you are on the set of "The Shining". You enter a small mirrored elevator to get to your rooms, when you exit the elevator the mirrors and paint are so overwhelming you can't figure out which way to go to find your room. Once you finally get to your room you open the door and the rooms are small, oddly shaped with long hallways leading to miniature rooms. Most rooms have poor view over a parking lot. There are so many mirrors and bizarre artwork in this little room its impossible to get comfortable. I was here in a large group and many of us discussed how challenging it was sleeping in the weird rooms. The temperature control was very poor and it was difficult to get comfortable. The beds, linens, towels, bathroom fixtures and furniture felt very cheap.

There are plenty of nice hotels in Los Angeles, I would recommend staying at one of them and pass on the Thompson Beverly Hills. Great place to visit for a drink on the roof.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Airbound13,

Thank you for the kind response in regards to the staff as well as the ABH - Rooftop, Bar & Lounge. We are sorry that this hotel was not a proper fit for your stay.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for SIXTY Beverly Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 780 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

had the best time in LA staying in this fab hotel. walking distance to rodeo drive and felt really safe staying here. loved the free coffee before 7am kept me going till we left for our daily trips. went to spago which is so near great food and rooftop pool is the coolest place. loved it. rooms were clean ,fresh and immaculate always choc left when we got in at nights. would recommend to stay to anyone wanting to walk for shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiebfur5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Susiebfur5678,

I so happy to hear about your pleasurable stay! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, location, complimentary coffee & chocolate. Come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Location is great. Centre of Beverly Hills.

Rooms are OK. Normal. No nice views. Just good.

Hassle with Internet. Have to pay...and a lot.

Despite making remarks, amenities were not being replaced/refilled after usage (you find yourself under the shower with no shampoo). No replacement of water.

Entering around 4 pm and room was not made up. They said that it is policy to clean late....I found it difficult to believe. Of course they first clean the check out rooms, but 4 pm.....

Handling of the complaints: very defensive.

Just everything on the 'thin side'. With a little effort and more genuine approach, I am sure they can do much better!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Danielontour,

We thank you for providing feedback. We are in the process of improving and will consider your feedback. Next time you are in Los Angeles please allow another opportunity to show you our updates!

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Thompson Hotel and this was the worse experience from our one month US tour.
The first issue was with the valet parking: they are charging a huge amount of money for parking on their premises but their service is extremely bad: the first day when we picked up the car we had to wait around 10 minutes for them to bring us the car and, when they finally brought it, the car was smelling like cigarettes and we also found a cigarette bud on the floor.
The second issue was when, after returning to the room, we realized that the maid has thrown away my night guard which I left on a napkin on the bathroom sink. After complaining to the reception they investigated and concluded that the maids have seen it and they did not throw it out. They also claimed that they checked the trash from our room but couldn't find it. So, the result was that I will need to pay a considerable sum to replace it and they declined all responsibility and suggested that I should go to the police and file a theft report.
Overall, the hotel is far too expensive for what they offer (the rooms are small as well) and their service is really poor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very conveniently located, 20 minutes from airport (not during rush hour!) We arrived late--2 am due to flight delay but were promptly serviced. First room had smell of smoke so they gave us another room. Decor is all black and white, shiny and "sophisticated". Clean, roomy, nice amenities like leaf-shaped soap. Rooftop has small pool and view of LA, also a popular bar.
We enjoyed coffee and appetizers there. Valet parking available. Excellent service all-around.
Would stay there again. No 5 star review because of smoke smell in first room and one elevator was not working for a while.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing another building so it was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxiePotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during out Honeymoon in California and thoroughly enjoyed it. As soon as you arrive the Hotel feels very stylish, modern and personal. Our room was a good size, spotless and really comfortable. We were even given a bottle of champagne as it was our Honeymoon. The reception staff were really helpful and gave good recommendations. This hotel is literally 5 mins walk from Rodeo Drive and about 10 mins to the start of the LA bus tours. We will definitely stay here next time we visit LA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Kelda D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about you recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you had a memorable Honeymoon trip and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back next year for your Anniversary trip.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I came back to the Thompson last month, this time for 6 days- the longest I have stayed yet. Everything was perfect especially thanks to the amazing service from Peter at the front desk once again! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Diana504,

Thank you for your loyalty to Thompson Beverly Hills. It is always great welcoming back a familiar face. I will make sure to pass on the kind words about Peter.
We look to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,669 reviews
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
914 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
#11 of 15 in Beverly Hills
674 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#12 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: $304 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California Cool meets East Coast sophistication at this erudite respite located in the glamorous Los Angeles enclave, minutes from Rodeo Drive boutiques and Hollywood power-playgrounds. The International Style-designed SIXTY Beverly Hills is a serene-but-scene-stealing outpost featuring luxurious comforts like bespoke furnishings, artfully designed bedroom suites and a gallery of Hollywood-evocative imagery. A cinematic Above SIXTY Beverly Hills rooftop bar and outdoor poolside lounge provide balmy zephyrs and panoramic views of L.A.'S fabled canyons while the tony-but-fuss-free Caulfield's Bar and Dining Room is the all-hours spot for casual New American cuisine comforts. SIXTY Beverly hills is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing