We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like opening a beautiful gift box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beverly Hills Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arriving by car, after a number of international flights and still slightly dazed by travel, can be a bit overwhelming at the Beverly Hills hotel, as valets and attendants swarm over you the minute you pull up at the entrance.
From there on checking in and registering is a breeze, and as in any good hotel they have somehow figured out who you are and you are immediately addressed by your name.

We were upgraded to a newly refurbished bungalow in the garden behind the main building of the hotel. Now, going through this garden with blossoming rhododendrons – even at dusk – and entering the room replete with a fireplace and a welcome platter of pink macaroons, pink candied jelly and strawberries dipped in chocolate, is like opening one of those beautiful old fashioned gift boxes with pink stripes and a satin ribbons.

The room was extremely comfortable. Bed was super nice and the shower has a very impressive array of tabs and heads in all directions. I liked the walk-in closet.
OK, if I need to be critical, I would say that the new furniture betrays a ‘made in China’ signature, but that is really ubiquitous in the US today and even with US hotels overseas.

What we enjoyed most at the Beverly Hills hotel was the Polo Lounge. It has this vibe of nonchalant sophistication, a mix of people as well as environments (outside and inside). Breakfast and service was top notch. At night the place has a buzzy atmosphere all of its own. Hard to find a place like that, and we simply didn’t bother about the other bars and dining options.

This is not a cheap hotel, but the standard is high. With the exception of Asia, it will be hard to find anything similar at that price in any of Europe’s capitals, and the service won’t be that good.
The best place I have stayed at so far in the US, and I’d definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baastje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

From the moment you drive up the long private driveway, passing parked Rolls Royce's and Lambourghini's, you know you are in for an enjoyable experience at the BH Hotel. The renowned Polo Lounge is tucked just off the lobby, and it is not uncommon to see celebrities passing in and out of the hotel, the Polo Lounge, the awesome pool out back, or even the small but very cool diner downstairs. The Beverly Hills Hotel is steeped in history and charm - it is relatively small and only 3 floors or so, lying low and amidst beautiful old trees in a residential neighborhood off Sunset Drive, in the heart of Beverly Hills and way before Sunset gets seedy and touristy. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. There are bungalows that can be rented but they are pricey, and worth every penny. You come to the Beverly Hills Hotel for the experience of doing so. Maybe it is not for everyone, but everyone I bring or tell to go there finds the hotel fascinating. Look, its LA, Hollywood, and the Beverly Hills Hotel completes that sense of fantasy with all its glitz and buzz. And the hotel, even though it might get busy at its entrance at times, is remarkably quiet and secluded. I like a room in the back of the hotel facing out on North Crescent Drive. Some rooms have fireplaces and balconies for sitting. The pool is worth the price of admission, and the hotel has added a large spa in the last few years that is quite nice as well. There are poolside cabanas, a great restaurant with booths and nice over hanging trees, and the pool attendants work hard and do a nice job to set you up. There are other great hotels in the area - the Peninsula, the Hotel Bel-Air, to name a few. To me the Beverly Hills Hotel combines luxury, service, location, and fun in a single package.

Room Tip: the only rooms i might avoid are the ones facing out towards the entrance to the hotel - they aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOWestonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I don't think the beauty and magic of this hotel can even be put into words. It is without a doubt my most favourite place in the world. There's many a day I sit at home in the UK and dream of being back at the Beverly Hills Hotel.
First of all the rooms are absolutely beautiful, they have an elegant, old Hollywood vibe and this suits my taste down to the ground.
The Polo Lounge is a must! The staff cannot do enough for you. The sirloin burger is delightful. The ambience of being in the polo lounge is incredible and if you keep your eyes peeled you're guaranteed to spot a star or two.
This Hotel is definately a gem, I sit in my Beverly hills pyjamas and slippers, drinking tea from my Beverly Hills mug and look forward to returning later this year!
Definately put a stay in this Hotel on your bucket list!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indymatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband and I currently reside in Kuwait, and we recently spent time in the U.S., with the last two nights in L.A. When in L.A., we generally stop by the Polo Lounge for a cocktail, and then go to the Bel Air for dinner and drinks in their bar. On this trip, we decided to forego the Beverly Hills Hotel and go directly to the Bel Air. I can't begin to tell you how horribly disappointed we were. We knew that they had just undergone a multi-million dollar remodel, and were anxious to see what had been done, but they have gone and ruined the old world, classy place it once was. Not sure what clientele they are trying to attract, but it appears they are trying to cater to a young and hip crowd, who enjoy loud, thumping music, in a room with all hard surfaces with absolutely no class or ambience. We decided to have one drink, and even regretted doing that.

We drove directly to the Beverly Hills Hotel, walked into the Polo Lounge and were able to get two seats at the nice, cozy bar. The restaurant was crowded with a nice group of well-dressed people, no loud music was anywhere to be heard, and the ambience was perfect. We ended our holiday in the U.S. with the best burgers and Trefethen Cabernet, which was exactly what we wanted after dining on fancy meals for weeks, and Jimmy took excellent care of us. It was wonderful to return to a place that has kept it's class and ambience and that we were treated extremely well.

We hope to return to CA in June, and after reading some of the previous reviews, I see where a remodel is in the works, and I certainly hope that management does not follow in the footsteps of the recent Bel Air remodel. We've never been fortunate enough to stay at your hotel, however, we do frequent the bar and restaurant when in L.A., and we very much hope that when we return, the hotel has retained the same class and coziness that it has always had. I'm all for updating a property, but please don't ruin what is and has always been a true treasure. Please don't go all modern and sterile and make it look like a typical "W" Hotel.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SaminQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This place just has to be seen to be believed. It sits on busy Sunset Blvd. yet still is an oasis from the everyday hustle and bustle. Its perfectly situated just less than 5 minutes from Rodeo Drive and 10 minutes to the Sunset Strip. Wanna go to the beach? No problem just a short 20 minute drive to Santa Monica. The valet, front desk and concierage at this hotel are all simply amazing. Eating outdoors at the famous Polo Lounge is pure bliss here and something no one should pass up even if they arent staying at the hotel. This was our third trip back and my teenage daughter and wife just love all the celeb spotting that goes on. The room service is flawless with the best menu and such attention to detail. My hat goes off to the staff and management of the Beverly Hills Hotel. As soon as time allows we will be back again in our home away from home!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow suite and couldnt be happier. Yes its pricey but worth every penny. Walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthJerseyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon and it was amazing! The service was excellent, the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast every morning in the Polo Lounge was delicious. After dinner each night, we looked forward to drinks there as well. If you're looking for a hotel where you'll spot a celebrity or two, this is definitely your place. As soon as you leave the property, you're in the middle of the famous palm tree-lined streets of Beverly Hills. You're just minutes away from the Sunset Strip, Rodeo Drive and the Hollywood sign. This hotel is the epitome of high class and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear mjpino,

First of all, congratulations on your wedding! A honeymoon is a sacred experience for newlyweds so we're honored you chose us to stay the first few nights.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and don't forget we are celebrating a 100 year anniversary this year so you must return to enjoy the festivites!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Beverly Hills in June 2011 along with my wife, daughter and son. This was our second time at the hotel as we had stayed here in June 2010 for the first time. The hotel is, without doubt, the best hotel I have ever been in. The quality of the hotel and its rooms are truly outstanding with nothing but the best fitting used throughout. We all found the staff very warm, friendly and attentive to your every need - nothing was ever too much trouble. We had a few lunches at the Polo Lounge and the quality of the service and food could not be faulted. One of the many outstanding features of the hotel are it gardens which are immaculate and so peaceful. The pool area is just amazing and again the attention to detail is world class. After a day out sight seeing in LA I can't think of a better place to sit and have a cold beer than on the balcony of the bar as the sun goes down - absolute bliss.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheHappyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHotel2010, Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear The Happy Clan,

Our first reaction to your review was how could the happy clan not have a great stay? We won't be arrogant to think it's not possible, but we do love a great screen name!

We appreciate that you've taken the time to review us and for trusting us with your family stay. We will be celebrating our 100 year anniversary this year so we find it enjoyable to read such positive reviews having been a hotel longer than Beverly Hills itself! There aren't many hotels in the world with our history and we are pelased you feel the same.

All the best, and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
840 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 353 in Los Angeles
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
742 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverly Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hills Hotel

Address: 9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: $652 - $3,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beverly Hills Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beverly Hills Hotel is a luxury, five-star hotel, located on Sunset Boulevard in the center of Beverly Hills and surrounded by 12 acres of lush, tropical gardens, exotic flowers, and private walkways. Providing privacy and tranquility in a truly residential setting, The Beverly Hills Hotel is within easy access to the business and entertainment centers of Los Angeles, Century City, Rodeo Drive, and many of the Hollywood studios. The hotel is just a 35-minute drive from Los Angeles International Airport. Referred to locally as "The Pink Palace" The Beverly Hills Hotel is a place to see and be seen, to catch glimpses of famous faces, or to revel in splendid luxury. What makes The Beverly Hills Hotel stand out is its superlative combination of service, a location that offers guests privacy, yet in the heart of a city, and a refreshed facility that, while faithful to the hotel's architectural and interior design traditions, is more dramatically beautiful than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beverly Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing