We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How good can a Hotel be?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“How good can a Hotel be?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

If I owned a Hotel I would make it mandatory for my employees to spend a couple of days at the Peninsula. If they were able to pick up even a little of the magic that makes the Peninsula so great then the cost of the visit would be money well spent.

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a "deluxe" room on the third floor. We had booked a room one grade down but the front desk upgraded us at check in. We arrived late on a Thursday night in our rented Kia and were greeted by a friendly valet who was waiting out front among the Ferraris, Lambos and a Buggati Veyron. A young man checked us in, told us about the upgrade and escorted us to the room. He asked if we would like a complimentary cocktail and truly seemed interested in making sure everything was right and that we were comfortable. The room was beautifully decorated and there was a fruit and tart tray with two nice place settings waiting for us. And it was really good. The bathroom was large and elegant.

We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs and it was very good. . . it was also the most expensive breakfast I've ever paid for. The food at the hotel is great but the price is not for the budget minded. Upstairs is a rooftop pool and a small dining area that really takes advantage of the wonderful LA evenings. I had a "Tuna Chop Chop" dish that was one of the best things I've ever eaten while spending the evening upstairs.

A real stand out was the head concierge David who helped us select a restaurant to entertain my boss. His advice was spot on and even though the restaurant was an easy walk from the hotel, he arranged for the house Rolls Royce to take us to dinner with the boss. Really fun and silly. The next day another young Lady at the concierge desk sent us to another great restaurant just down the street.

My wife and I each made an appointment at the Spa upstairs, she had a manicure and I had a massage. We both loved the people and the service. So first class.

We very rarely stay at 5 star hotels so maybe there are other places as good as the Peninsula, I don't know. But I do know that some places that cater to the very wealthy can be a little uncomfortable to "normal" middle class folks like us who were on a very rare "splurge" staying there. Not the Peninsula. Every single person on the staff treated us like we were the most important customers in the hotel.

I sure hope we can afford to visit The Peninsula again some day.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel. They really will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    76
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
173
259
56
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a June weekend, and the service and facilities could not have been more outstanding. Every employee at the Penninsula is obviously well trained in the ways of customer serrvice, from the Hotel Manager down to the housekeeping staff. Everyone we encountered was exceedingly freindly and helpful without being phony. Our room had been recently remodeled, and it was absolutely beautfiul. A top notch hotel in the middle of the action, with top notch pricing to match, but you will definitely get what you pay for here. Bravo, Penninsula!

Room Tip: Rooms facing front of building may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is easily the most personal and impressive hotel experience we have ever had the pleasure of indulging in. The concierge (especially David) are legendary, the staffv selection process must be rigorous as every member of the team is so courteous and nice - they can't seem to get out the way quick enough in the wide corridors to make room for you to pass with a beaming smile! - the front desk concerige go over and above of what is expected and clearly have some very impressive pull in and around LA. Yes this is not a cheap stay but you get more than what you pay for and are treated like royalty throughout the stay. This is truly a home away from home. The sundeck and pool are peaceful, quiet and beautiful - there is never a shortage of beds even though the space is quite small and very personal compared to other hotels in the area. we also love the hotel cars and especially the Phantom which is a great perk and makes life very easy to pop out as you wish and get collected quickly.The GM, Offer is a true gentleman and we are looking forward to returning early from our stay in Las Vegas as we miss it so much - look forward to seeing you all soon and thank you again for an amazing stay.

On the small negatives - Spa is more than expensive I'm afraid to say at around $300 for a facial and the same for a massage and I'm not sure why this costs so much compared to all other similar calibre spas?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Everything about this hotel is truly first-rate, but what set it apart for us was the service, especially from housekeeping and the staff at The Roof Garden. The food was fresh and beautifully prepared. Thank you to Dereck, Fermin and Jillian and co. for making my 17 year-old son and I feel so welcome and well taken care of. The gym is small but well-equipped and stocked with fresh fruit and cold face towels.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiasticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Peninsula hotel group and particularly the Beverly Hills property are among the very best in the world. I've stayed at the Peninsula Beverly Hills, Peninsula Chicago and Peninsula Hong Kong. I would rate the Beverly Hills property the very best hotel I've ever stayed (Possible tie with the George V in Paris).

Very convienent to shopping, afternoon strolls, the best spa period.
The Peninsula's comittment to world class service is second to none.
They do not miss any details whatsoever. The Peninsula has taken what the Ritz Carlton was 15 years ago and blown it out of the water.

If you have never stayed at a Peninsula property, please do so. If you have, you already know what I'm talking about.

Utilize the fantastic concierge team at the Peninsula for excellent restaurant recommendations. Set up the hotel car (Rolls Royce) for a shopping trip.

The price is not for the budget seeker but you'll not regret spending it here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is as good as service gets,
amazing rooftop pool and jacuzzi,
very comfy beds,
great big shower and deep soaking bath
We had a great stay and would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The greatest experience that we ever had in a hotel. The frontdesk staff, the congierge, the restaurant staff, the swimmingpool staff and housekeeping, the whole team never say no!!! they even do not know the word " no ". And 24/7 they are doing their admost to please you. I will recommand this hotel to everybody who travels for business in combination with pleasure What a great experience. It feels like home. The staff is extremely warm and kind.
We will certainly come back.
Pini Peleg

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiniPeleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_MD, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Beverly Hills
Montage Beverly Hills
Montage Beverly Hills
#8 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Property: The Peninsula Beverly Hills
Address: 9882 Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Los Angeles' most exclusive and elegant hotel, The Peninsula Beverly Hills resembles a gracious private residence built in the classic Renaissance style. The hotel is tucked amid lush gardens in a quiet corner of the city, offering luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, a tranquil spa, extraordinary dining and legendary Peninsula service. Our 194 guest rooms, suites and private villas were all elegantly refurbished in 2011, featuring new furniture and upgraded technology. Conveniently located near Beverly Hills' most important business, shopping and entertainment areas, The Peninsula Beverly Hills is the ideal destination for business executives, leisure travelers and families alike. Unique to the hotel is our 24-hour check-in/check-out experience, meaning you may arrive and depart at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Peninsula Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing