We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Mexican food, service a bit slow”

El Torito Grill - Wilshire Blvd.
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food, service a bit slow”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food here is consistently very good, and that is the reason we keep coming here. The type of food is typical Mexican-American, with a few twists. They make their own flour tortillas and bring these to your table with a couple of delicious sauces, instead of bringing chips. You must request chips if you want them. Apart from the traditional alcoholic beverages, their drink selection is disappointing, just regular sodas, no Mexican sodas or drinks (no horchata or jamaica or Jarritos sodas). Desserts are quite limited, just 2 or 3, but tasty.

Service always seems a bit slow to us. The servers have too many tables, I guess. Last night, our server took the order from a family that arrived after us, before taking our order, an honest mistake, but given the long wait, a bit annoying. As with many restaurants, it takes a bit of effort to get your check and pay.

Warning: valet parking was $7 when we went last night, so you may want to hunt for nearby meter parking or public lots, though that can be a challenge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican Food = Average rating for average food and service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have eaten here about 5 times over the last few years. My opinion is that this upscale version of the El Torito Chain is not much different than their other restaurants. Basically the quality of the meats and different items they serve are not of outstanding quality. It gets by if you are in the area but there are much better Mexican restaurants in the Beverly Hills, Los Angeles areas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food -- nice people!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had a birthday party in their banquet room. The staff was very accommodating and helped in every way (especially Joshua!). The food is tremendous -- my guests raved about it -- highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh yea!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friday night after work my fav place to beeeee. Those large margaritas, loads of tortilla chips and heaps of people. Then for Sunday morning brunch, nothing better and yea those fresh tortillas made right in front of you and the coffee stirrers yum yum. How I miss this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyersFanInLA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Homemade Tortillas Made This Spot A Regular on Our Rotation”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Located directly across the street from my old office, El Torito is a chain restaurant in a city that normally doesn't have chain joints. They had some slightly different specials and a few healthy options in this large and comfortable restaurant. The calling card of this El Torito was the fresh made tortillas that come to you warm from the grill and right out of an exhibition kitchen. Carbs are bad for you but I dare you to say no to these suckers with a little honey butter in the inside. Yum.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyersFanInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito Grill - Wilshire Blvd. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing