We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nobu Matsuhisa's best restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuhisa

Matsuhisa
Ranked #20 of 318 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Description: World renowned chef Nobu Matsuhisa's first restaurant opened in 1987 in sunny Beverly Hills. Matsuhisa Beverly Hills is the flagship restaurant to all Nobu and Matsuhisa restaurants worldwide.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nobu Matsuhisa's best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A really great restaurant. Sushis are made delicately and professionally here. Many dishes are recommended: Miso-Glazed Black Cod, Corn Tempura, Beef Tacos, Matcha Green Tea (with milk), Bento Chocolate Box, etc. I should make this place a must visit for me every time I go to LA.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abzollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    69
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of best sushi restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dined here last week and everything was fabulous. The toro dish, chilean sea bass were favorites. Sashimi platter was also very good. The lobster tempura was also unique and very good. Service was impeccable. The sampler dessert at the end with mochi, ice cream, and other items that I cant remember was also very good. Definitely would come back. The price is just well $$$$.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adhoboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Creative and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nobu Matsuhisa is among the best sushi chefs in the world. What sets Matsuhisa apart from others is Nobu's use of unusual Peruvian spices. The yellowtail with jalopeno is a real spicy suprise. the Black Cod in Miso is superb. It is very expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
401 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, Expensive, Not Worth It? - $240 Lunch for 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a business associate I was meeting for lunch. I have heard it's a great place, however I was surprised by the prices. $240 lunch.

I did not order, my associate and Sushi expert ordered. I did not expect what he ordered was going to be so expensive. Seems like we had 8 pieces of Sashimi, 2 orders of crispy rice w spicy tuna, an order of crab spring rolls and some 6 diet cokes. Looking at their menu I wonder if they gave me the wrong bill? I will just say, beware.

The service was very good. It was not a $240 lunch. Over priced in my book. Lesson Learned - Don't let business associates order or pick restaurants in LA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a good moment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Madame Nobu is a great host.
She keeps this only family owned restaurant of the Nobu franchise empire very warm and busy. Small dishes are perfect of freshness and cal-Asia fusion taste. If only the waiters were more present.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuhisa also viewed

 

Been to Matsuhisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing