We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood too”

Lawry's the Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
Lawry's the Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 326 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Cross street: Wilshire Blvd
Description: You'll know the moment you arrive that Lawry's The Prime Rib is an extraordinary restaurant. The signature Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef are aged 21 days, rock salt-roasted to perfection then carved to order tableside from shining silver carts. The famous Spinning Bowl Salad, whipped cream horseradish, mashed potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and warm hospitality complete the experience that has landed Lawry's on countless "10 Best" lists and made it a dining legend since 1938.
west los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seafood too”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Not only do they have beef, they also have seafood. The salmon dish was perfect for those that don't eat beef.

The salmon was moist on a bed of couscous with steamed carrots and beans that were crisp. I believe they also have a vegetable platter for true vegetarians.

The atmosphere was lively...the only drawback was we were in a backroom that had two noisy parties. We could not hear ourselves converse. I recommend that you suggest the main dining room when you make reservations.

Other than that, the food is good and tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeLinCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    138
    69
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Totally Untrendy, Totally Delicious”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

When I first read about Lawry's in Beverly Hills, I really didn't know what to think. Should I believe people who said that their meals were good when what they were eating was just about the least culinarily adventurous fare one could get? We are talking about prime rib, mashed potatoes with gravy, Yorkshire pudding, and creamed corn. There is little else to choose from, save for a ribeye steak, a vegetarian option (really), and some other sides. But I have to say, the food was delicious, and the service extremely friendly. My rare prime rib was gorgeously tender and juicy, and my creamed corn was crunchy and full of corn flavor. The salad appetizer was a very old fashioned medley of vegetables with a sweet-tart dressing that I swear had ketchup in it. The August special was a very good deal, featuring a bottle of wine, the salad, prime rib, sides, and dessert for $99 a couple. Only the dessert, a mediocre trifle, seemed like an afterthought. The dining room feels like a generic, high-ceilinged hotel ballroom with murals and tapestries decorating the large walls. And the female servers are made to wear truly silly costumes that do nothing to add to the appeal of the place. But I would highly recommend this place for the simple, delicious beef.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oldie but Goodie”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is my all time favorite spot....I could go on and on, but you've gotta go!! Make a reservation!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The BEST PRIME RIB!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This would have been the best meal ever. But the cream spinach was not so good. Wasn't bad just no flavor. Mashed Potatoes also not bad but not what I would expect from a place like this. My wife had the cream corn with her meal. That was GREAT cream corn.

Service was great.
Valet staff is super nice.

The steak was way better than Cuts at the Beverly Wilshire.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlowPoke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Succulent Prime Ribs”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you have never tried Lawry's Prime Rib in La Cienega Blvd, Los Angles California...then you must place it on your 'bucket list' when you next vist LA...Succulent, simply unspoilt - cooked to your perfection ...their specialty is Prime Rib...silver meat wagons with the Chef carving at your table , a freshly tossed green salad..baked Idaho potato..with condiments of choice
Table service of the highest standard...the ambiance of the dining room and the Lounge where you have hot canapes available whilst sipping on a cocktail - awaiting your table to be called...this is class with realistic prices...Lawrys are famous for their condiments and they prove it...Friendly, courteous & always consistent...a must visit place...many happy returns...ivy

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 802Lucy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawry's the Prime Rib also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Lawry's the Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing