We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise packet....”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 324 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Cross street: Dayton Way
Description: Step inside Il Fornaio and take a culinary journey through Italy. Early mornings bring rustic, crisp crusted bread hot from the oven accompanied by the scent of fresh brewed espresso. During lunch and dinner hours, pastas and flavorful sauces simmer while meats and vegetables roast over hot coals. Bottles of wine from small, regional wineries are uncorked to complement the dishes, which have been crafted in the custom of Italy's chefs, bakers and homemakers. Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprise packet....”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Walked in in New Year's Day evening just before the restaurant was full and the food and service was very good. The portions are big so either share or make sure you are hungry. Great way to relax after a day at the shops

Helpful?
Thank MikeyfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and writing your nice comments about our restaurant. We are very glad and happy to make our guests experience an enjoyable one. I hope to meet you on your next visit, so to personally thank you for your patronage, grazie mille & arrivederci


Maria D'Auria

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    164
    61
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fontvieille
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining for a chain resto...”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent service. Authentic employees (a real Italian dude served us). bread & olive oil was a nice touch.. pricy

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WGH29ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments about our restaurant. We are very glad and happy to make our guests experience an enjoyable one. I hope to meet you on your next visit, so to personally thank you for your patronage, grazie mille & arivederci

Maria D'Auria

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Wasn't expecting much of this one, as we heard it was a chain. And the service wasn't good--but the food was excellent. The butternut squash ravioli was excellent and other pasta dishes and pizza, as well as chicken and meat dishes ordered were all wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeeLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments about our restaurant. We are very glad and happy when we provide our guests with an enjoyable experience, offering delicious food and a pleasant atmosphere. I hope to meet you on your next visit, so to personally thank you for your patronage, grazie mille & arrivederci


















Maria D'Auria

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food in Beverly Hills”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable, and the price was very reasonable given its location. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Grazie Mille!!! I'm very pleased that your dining experience in our location was an enjoyable one. We focus on a daily basis to make sure that all our guests receive delicious meals and great hospitality. I hope to meet you on your next visit, so to thank you once more in person, Arrivederci , a presto,

Maria D'Auria

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Italian Kitchen”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant while window shopping on Rodeo Drive. It's a true Italian kitchen with different seating options - linen table cloths or a seat at the kitchen bar or a seat outside. The menu and wine list is pretty extensive. We enjoyed a lite lunch. I had the Caesar Salad and a bowl of housemade Butternut Squash Soup. My husband had a Calzone. Very comfortable and delish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavvyHotelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for your very nice and kind comments. We welcome all feedbacks and of course we feel proud and happy when our guests have a great experience in our location. I hope to meet you in person on your next visit to thank you again for your patronage, Grazie Mille, a presto!

Maria D'Auria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing