We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was wonderful, but not very welcoming”

Mastro's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 320 Restaurants in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
Cross street: Wilshire Blvd
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food was wonderful, but not very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overall we had a great time and the food is wonderful but it just felt very money-making oriented and not hospitable/welcoming. The hostesses were awful, not friendly at all (we did had a reservation). Cute girls but zero personality.

They originally tried to sit us at a table that was about a foot from the very loud live music. I objected and they moved us to a much better location, but considering the prices, I can't imagine that *anyone* would want to sit right in front of a wall of music. There's no way you could even have a conversation there. I was disappointed that they would try to cram in another table when it just didn't make sense from a hospitality standpoint.

Our server was fine but she seemed frustrated that we didn't know what we wanted right away.

The lobster mashed potatoes were to die for and I enjoyed the enormous desserts that night and the next morning for breakfast!

They called the next day to ask how our visit was and the girl on the line sounded angry that she had to call. I said everything was fine but it was the oddest follow-up call I have ever received.

Maybe they were just having an off week, but it just felt a bit like they were trying to get you in and out as fast as possible (and it was a Tuesday!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UCLaw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    212
    105
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Downright Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We decided to try Mastro's after a recommendation from a friend, and we were not disappointed. We were seated immediately upon arrival, and found the staff to be helpful and not pushy at all. It's a dark environment, and when we were first seated I was concerned that it may be a bit noisy, but the earlier seating soon cleared out and it was a very nice environment. We both ordered 12oz filet mignon with a couple of side orders (sugar snap peas and mushrooms) and it was more than enough food, the quality of the steak was absolutely exceptional. I can honestly say that I savored every bite of this meal. The wine selection was fantastic, with a "normal" and reserve list to choose from with a wide variety of pricing. We chose the Chateau Montelana, knowing you can't go far wrong with that, and it was perfect. For dessert, I could not resist the Butter Cake -- this was literally heaven on a plate, just amazing. I would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly - very well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Participated in a business dinner at this restaurant. The atmosphere was nice, but very dim for a business dinner.

Ordered the 8oz filet and ceasar salad. Steak was prepared perfectly. Excellent cut of meat. I know I ordered a side to share, but can not recall what I had.

Other parties got the bone-in filet, and thought it was the best steak they have ever had.

Great wine selection. Would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vjohn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meet in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

That was such a great night at your place! Lovely sitting on the first floor with a great table. The food was so excellent, we couldn't stop eating! Best steaks in town!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quintessential Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited Maestros twice during our Beverly Hills holiday having been so impressed first time around. We had a table on the first floor and the atmosphere there with the piano playing in the background was brilliant. Our server was true entertainment in herself, very theatrical in describing the menu and cocktail list etc and very knowledgable and helpful. As to the food the Prawn Cocktail starter was pure theatre in itself and the steaks were some of the best we have ever eaten. Beautifully cooked with wonderful accompliments - brilliant. An excellent wine list is to be expected, but do not miss the cocktails. The martinis are amazing! What a fantastic experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to Mastro's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing