We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well, it could have been worse.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Flores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Del Flores
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well, it could have been worse.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The sad thing about Hotel Del Flores is it could be so much better. The structure is quirky but likeable; has a delightful staff, in a wonderful location. It is a direct and easy drive right off the Santa Monica freeway. BUT from the careless upkeep it is as if the owners want to punish guests for looking for an affordable place to stay in the midst of Beverly Hills, and (more important for me) close to the UCLA campus.
Unlike many reviewers, I did not smell any mold. My room was clean, carpets included. In room bathroom (definitely pay for the upgrade of private bath and toilet $35.00 per night plus tax), sheets and bed cover were very clean. Parking, in a covered structure around the corner is convenient and affordable: $9.00 per day with in and out privileges.) But, details that could be an inexpensive fix, that are neglected and have been for some years, condemn this to property to poor ratings. Abandoned furniture: sofas, office chairs, end tables linger in the hallways; the dirty upholstered vanity chair provided in the room, and dusty, canted venetian blinds create a depressing Bates motel feeling.

Room Tip: Upgrade to private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    9
    24
See reviews for
3
7
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
l.a. ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

0 stars
noe mangementt
flithy rooms stained ugs mold midew
wifi only in lbbby

water leaks in cosets from plumbing upstairs
maids want money for towels and tolet paper
desk people will cheat you for days deposits or damages
check your room first see all equip. working before checkin
stil stanking water along outside of building breeds mosquitots
rats can be seen late at night they carry fleas
check your ankles also some times bed bugs
owner julian or nathaniel owens hides does not confront complainents also
owns orange wilshire hotel ph. number is
you can smell the stench from office window rooms and halls stink people check in and check right back out demand money back
owner sprays perfume in morning to cover up
donot use gas in wall heaters they are faulty fire alarms will go in night
if you pay for parking demand your own key card dont accept hownse card
they are only alotted so many key cards
rooms in back unbearablly noisy
rooms on left side noisy kit. help 12 to 3am
women professionals do business
several long time residents get drunk regularly on front porch
if our computor shows others using your ip address email FBI LOS ANGELES
check with police dept. man entered female room from outside alley
homeless regularly use alley as short cut
beware if you dont tip maids
beware identity theft

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
50 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beverly Hills hotels

Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The worse hotel ever ! We run out after 1 night, being eaten by bugs and experiencing horrible smell!!!! Colorful nasty spots on the carpet. We saw 4 different rooms. Wow! Junky furniture from the garbage, smell of damp and mold....

They never refund our money! The manager Carlos Lopez is ignoring us for 4 months by now, he is picking up the phone and pretending he is not the manager. The Owner Ann Owen Sterman impossible to reach.
They are fraud and criminals, running anti sanitary place and getting away from it.
Nobody cares!
BBB was trying to contact them ---- right!---- nice try!

Room Tip: The tip ---- NEVER GO to this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 25FrankS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Honestly, looking at the ad's picture and reading the some reviews - I was prepared for the worst but the location was too tempting for the price. Basically, you can spend your night for the same money as paid at the motel, yes, but you are two streets over from Rodeo Drive. Zip code 20910! On the bright side, the staff was really friendly and helpful. Not all rooms have their own shower - however, we booked and had one with a private bathroom. When we came in, it was extremelly hot and it seemed that the noisy window mounted AC cannot make it any cooler - until we noticed that hot air was coming through some vents in the wall. We just pushed a piece of furniture in front of the vent and the room became quite comfortable. Again, for the money paid to stay in the middle of Hollywood, considering the size of LA, the prices for public, transportation, gas, parking, time wasted if you leave at the other end of town from your planned sites to visit, etc I do not remember seeing or smelling any mold in our room, and the bed spread and sheets were clean. The furniture was very old and mismatched - however, we considered this aspect as part of the place's character.

Room Tip: An upstrairs room with private bathroom is worth the extra buck for the convenience and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladimiramirela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

It's hard to describe this place without an outpouring of frustration, but I will try.

We arrived at the hotel and it looked ok, a little characterful lobby. Salvatore, who checked us in, seemed friendly enough.

Unfortunately it was all downhill from there. We were led into the cramped, dimly lit room, and the first thing you notice is the level of dust on every surface.

Closer inspection revealed a large dark brown stain on the faded green linen, and mould in the corners.

It was at this point I sought to change rooms, because to anyone of even low expectations, this place would still fall way short of the mark.

The new room was a little brighter, but still smelled of damp and had the cleanliness issues of the previous room.

At this juncture I should point out that I have stayed in many a place of low comfort, ie beach huts, hostels, etc, and the very least you expect is a sense of hygiene.

However, after leaving and having to pay $40 for a taxi back across Hollywood to find alternative accommodation (the much better for the price Coral Sands Motel), the response from Julian, presumably the hotel manager, to my complaint was worse.

There was no reference to the cleanliness and instead a suggestion that my expectations of the property had been too high. I was not offered any refund that differed from the standard 2 nts penalty for cancellation on day of arrival.

In the end, it was a gesture only from Expedia - a refund of those two nights in addition to the hotel's one - that ended up with me getting my money back.

In summary, the management of this hotel has no interest in improving the service - or it seems cleanliness - of the hotel, and as such (as a former travel agent who has inspected over 300 hotels in my career) would recommend that you avoid this place like the plague... you might just catch it if you stay...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

When we arrived they informed us there was a $25 fee for spending the night. We called to check our reservation twice and were not quoted anything about this charge. The receptionist was incredibly rude. When we finally got to the room it was a shared bathroom with the room next door. This was never mentioned by any of the people who made our reservation. To make matters worse the door on our side of the bathroom wouldn't close because the door was broken. When we checked out in the morning the man behind the counter charged us $240 dollars. We asked him why in gods name the price had doubled and he said "Oh sorry" and then asked for my card so he could charge me more money. The charge for the hotel just posted to my bank account and it is more than I ever signed for on and credit card receipt. I hate this hotel and would advise that no one ever stays there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hollymilstead20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We spent a night (almost one night, at 3:30 AM my wife couldn't take is anymore and asked if we could leave in the middle of the night, which we did),
The room was smelly, the bathroom faucet was dripping (and of a design popular in the 1920s), the noise in the back alley was infernal; the bed was just a mattress on a metal frame (no headboard, no nightstands) with pillows hard as wood.
The location is perfect, but the hotel needs to be cleaned and refurbished; maybe the sign in the little cafeteria warning residents (I wouldn't say guests) not to touch others' food in the fridge - cameras are on, should've been a red flag.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank val91201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beverly Hills hotels
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
#12 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Beverly Hills
Sirtaj Hotel
Sirtaj Hotel
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Flores

Property: Hotel Del Flores
Address: 409 N Crescent Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-4815
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Del Flores 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Del Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing