We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Avalon. The hotel is in the middle of Beverly Hills, but in what felt like a little more of a residential area – which was great because there was very little traffic in the area, especially at night. Lobby is stunning. Very friendly staff, from the valet to check in. I had a room in the tower, and the bed was very comfortable. Loved the mid-century decor of the room. Nice bathroom. I could hear a little noise from hall and room next door, but not enough to bother me or make me lose sleep. Slept very well both nights. Room service was absolutely delicious, and the staff very accommodating when I asked for a very early breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, and have recommended to friends. Love that they even offered yoga by the pool one morning. (The pool is incredible.) If you're considering a stay in Beverly Hills, the Avalon offers a much more personal experience than the big chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisavee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Lisavee11,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy the Kelly Wearstler designed lobby and Beverly Tower residences all tucked away in our little corner of Beverly Hills.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our delicious food and beverage offerings. Chef Mirko Paderno's signature menus feature modern Italian food with regional touches and are a "feast for the senses".

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit and that you enjoyed Saturday morning Yoga by the pool!

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    220
    99
    43
    36
See reviews for
107
244
53
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Was the best stay of our week long trip. Great, friendly and helpful service. Staff were brilliant and always there to help in anyway they could. Even made my two young children feel very welcome. Definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara_Blake2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Lara_Blake2009,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your recent experience with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

Indeed, I am immensely proud of our team here at the Avalon. Each of our colleagues is dedicated to providing all of our guests with the best possible experience; whether it be from our reception team, in our guestrooms, or at Oliverio, our poolside Italian restaurant.

On behalf of all colleagues here at Avalon, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We took a shuttle from LAX and the driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel, which is a good 30-40 minute drive from the airport depending on traffic Room was clean, bright and pleasant and the bed comfortable. Efficient air conditioning. Within easy walking distance of Rodeo Drive and the expensive properties the area is famous for. Good local bus service which we took to get to Universal Studios - needed to change twice but it was still a very easy journey and a day pass costs just $5 - compared to a taxi ride of around $50!!
There is a central open air swimming pool with restaurant tables around it, which was nice. Breakfast was fine but rather expensive. Beware of ordering cocktails at around $14 for nothing special. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony and overlook the open air pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear jennie-jay,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to explore our beautiful city and enjoy all that Beverly Hills has to offer within walking distance from our iconic hideaway.

I was certainly most excited to read that you had a chance to enjoy Oliverio restaurant during your stay and that our dedicated service teams provided you with a warm and genuine experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

From the very beginning the impression of the hotel was very good, friendly valet service. At the check-in we were upgraded to a bigger room 'so you an really enjoy your first stay with us'. After we asked even the Wifi was complimentary. We had a good and quiet night there and the room was really really spacious. Reasonable priced as well!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misterneuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear misterneuen,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very good lactation for what we wanted. We upgraded our room as we were very disappointed with the size and condition of the first option. This was only an extra $15 a night but made all the difference and would recommend this. The pool was only open until 6pm which meant we only used it in the morning . This is due to the restaurant being around the pool area. They charge for the water in the room and for parking your car and as everyone expects a tip this became expensive. The hotel staff very extremely friendly and helpful with maps of different areas to help you make the most of LA. If you fancy something different go to the Huntington Library which has some amazing gardens so don't be put off by the name.

Green Features: If you are happy not to have your bed made each day they give you a free small bottle of water.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Redhackers2,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit and your great comment regarding our commitment to reducing our carbon foot print.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our recent 4 night stay here. The room was large and well designed although the windows and A/C seemed quite dated. Information on what the hotel had to offer was limited in the room, eg nothing about the complimentary tea or coffee on offer in the mornings, nor were we told. I think this could be improved but having said that the staff were so helpful we could have asked for help at any time.

The pool area is lovely although we didn't get chance to go in it, but did eat our breakfast poolside which was absolutely lovely.

The staff were great. We arrived late and the bar was basically closed but the young lady behind the bar happily served us with a beer and iced water and made us feel very welcome. Alessandro on the front desk helped us immensely with providing information and booking buses and taxis and just his general friendly demeanour was a stand out for us.

This hotel is in a great location for exploring the area. The room decor was perhaps not quite to our taste but the bed was probably the most enormous comfortable bed I've slept in.

I would recommend this hotel, I wish we had had more time there. We stayed 4 nights but arrived late on day 1 and left early on day 5 to return to the UK.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear C H,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post this detailed review of your recent experience with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

Indeed, I am immensely proud of our team here at the Avalon. Each of our colleagues is dedicated to providing all of our guests with the best possible experience; whether it be from our reception team, in our guestrooms, or at Oliverio, our poolside Italian restaurant.

I am glad that you were able explore our amazing city; steps away from our iconic Beverly Hills Hideaway.

On behalf of all colleagues here at Avalon, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is a bit of a throwback. It looks as if it were built sometime in the 50's or 60's. Cinder block walls and window AC units that don't quite cool the rooms to a comfortable level in the heat of the day. However, the property is very well maintained and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms were decorated in a mid-century modern motif and comfortable. The location is convenient walking distance to Rodeo Drive and the heart of Beverly Hills and very convenient driving distance to other destinations in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BigDaddy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear 1BigDaddy007,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to enjoy our Kelly Wearstler designed guestrooms and public spaces. I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about the impeccable service that you received from our team throughout your experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#4 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#10 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#8 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Sirtaj Hotel
Sirtaj Hotel
#9 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#5 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Property: Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Address: 9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Viviane restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 84 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing