We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient, clean, very pleasant staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, very pleasant staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We took a shuttle from LAX and the driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel, which is a good 30-40 minute drive from the airport depending on traffic Room was clean, bright and pleasant and the bed comfortable. Efficient air conditioning. Within easy walking distance of Rodeo Drive and the expensive properties the area is famous for. Good local bus service which we took to get to Universal Studios - needed to change twice but it was still a very easy journey and a day pass costs just $5 - compared to a taxi ride of around $50!!
There is a central open air swimming pool with restaurant tables around it, which was nice. Breakfast was fine but rather expensive. Beware of ordering cocktails at around $14 for nothing special. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony and overlook the open air pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear jennie-jay,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to explore our beautiful city and enjoy all that Beverly Hills has to offer within walking distance from our iconic hideaway.

I was certainly most excited to read that you had a chance to enjoy Oliverio restaurant during your stay and that our dedicated service teams provided you with a warm and genuine experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    232
    109
    48
    43
See reviews for
122
266
55
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

From the very beginning the impression of the hotel was very good, friendly valet service. At the check-in we were upgraded to a bigger room 'so you an really enjoy your first stay with us'. After we asked even the Wifi was complimentary. We had a good and quiet night there and the room was really really spacious. Reasonable priced as well!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misterneuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear misterneuen,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very good lactation for what we wanted. We upgraded our room as we were very disappointed with the size and condition of the first option. This was only an extra $15 a night but made all the difference and would recommend this. The pool was only open until 6pm which meant we only used it in the morning . This is due to the restaurant being around the pool area. They charge for the water in the room and for parking your car and as everyone expects a tip this became expensive. The hotel staff very extremely friendly and helpful with maps of different areas to help you make the most of LA. If you fancy something different go to the Huntington Library which has some amazing gardens so don't be put off by the name.

Green Features: If you are happy not to have your bed made each day they give you a free small bottle of water.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Redhackers2,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit and your great comment regarding our commitment to reducing our carbon foot print.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our recent 4 night stay here. The room was large and well designed although the windows and A/C seemed quite dated. Information on what the hotel had to offer was limited in the room, eg nothing about the complimentary tea or coffee on offer in the mornings, nor were we told. I think this could be improved but having said that the staff were so helpful we could have asked for help at any time.

The pool area is lovely although we didn't get chance to go in it, but did eat our breakfast poolside which was absolutely lovely.

The staff were great. We arrived late and the bar was basically closed but the young lady behind the bar happily served us with a beer and iced water and made us feel very welcome. Alessandro on the front desk helped us immensely with providing information and booking buses and taxis and just his general friendly demeanour was a stand out for us.

This hotel is in a great location for exploring the area. The room decor was perhaps not quite to our taste but the bed was probably the most enormous comfortable bed I've slept in.

I would recommend this hotel, I wish we had had more time there. We stayed 4 nights but arrived late on day 1 and left early on day 5 to return to the UK.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear C H,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post this detailed review of your recent experience with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

Indeed, I am immensely proud of our team here at the Avalon. Each of our colleagues is dedicated to providing all of our guests with the best possible experience; whether it be from our reception team, in our guestrooms, or at Oliverio, our poolside Italian restaurant.

I am glad that you were able explore our amazing city; steps away from our iconic Beverly Hills Hideaway.

On behalf of all colleagues here at Avalon, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is a bit of a throwback. It looks as if it were built sometime in the 50's or 60's. Cinder block walls and window AC units that don't quite cool the rooms to a comfortable level in the heat of the day. However, the property is very well maintained and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms were decorated in a mid-century modern motif and comfortable. The location is convenient walking distance to Rodeo Drive and the heart of Beverly Hills and very convenient driving distance to other destinations in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BigDaddy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear 1BigDaddy007,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to enjoy our Kelly Wearstler designed guestrooms and public spaces. I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about the impeccable service that you received from our team throughout your experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel when attending a family members wedding. This was the hotel where they and their guests all stayed. The hotel style is old Hollywood with plenty of marble, light greens and elegance. Very retro and chic. They provide complimentary valet parking for guests and even did for a visiting friend who stopped to chat for a few hours. This is wonderful because LA parking in difficult to find and expensive! They have a nice pool in the center and served complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings while we relaxed in the lounge chairs. They have a restaurant but I didn't not have an opportunity to try their food. The staff was exceptional, courteous and very professional. Our room was nicely appointed, very clean but quite small. This did not matter because we were rarely in the room. I would definitely recommend this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear mah2011,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and pass on our congratulations to the happy couple!!! We were delighted to learn that you and your friends and family were able to relax and enjoy our Kelly Wearstler designed guestrooms, our oasis inspired cabanas and lounging at our iconic hour glass pool.

You certainly must visit us again and experience Oliverio Restaurant. Chef Mirko Paderno's signature menus feature modern Italian food with regional touches and are a "feast for the senses".

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Arriving at the Avalon, I was amazed to see how modern and luxurious the features were. Clean, and fresh - I was excited to see that the photographs on the website were accurate. I was provided with a king room in the next building, which was secure and only a few steps from the main building.

Customer service was excellent - from the front desk, concierge, valet and any service folks I encountered, the staff was genuine and seemed happy to be there. Ridiculously friendly.

The Golden Triangle is a healthy (15 minute?) walk away from the hotel - lots of stuff to look at, en route.

The pool amenities were fantastic - clean and quiet.

The rooftop was a great vantage point to check out the fireworks over July 4th weekend.

Overall, definitely great value for your money - and a great find in this area. Will definitely recommend to friends and family, and will hopefully be able to spend more time here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the next building are great - further away from the pool and only steps from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear jayscout,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy our Beverly Tower residences.

I am glad you were able to enjoy all that Beverly Hills has to offer within walking distance from our iconic hideaway.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beverly Hills hotels
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#10 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#8 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Beverly Hills
Sirtaj Hotel
Sirtaj Hotel
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Beverly Hills
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
#12 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Property: Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Address: 9400 W Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-4552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#12 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Viviane restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 84 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing