We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Glam Alive & Well at the Avalon Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The spirit of Marilyn Monroe and 50s Hollywood glam is present in all its chrome glory at the Avalon. This hotel was fantastic from its front desk service, personally escorting us to our rooms, to the funky, retro decor in the rooms and around the hotel. Friendly staff greeted us from the moment we arrived. Valet car service was quick. Reception staff attentive when I mentioned my teenage daughter wasn't feeling well they quickly asked if there was anything they could do or get for her and then gave her a bottle of water.
The hotel vibe is mid-century modern and both our teenaged girls LOVED THE ROOM. The vanity table was huge hit. The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed our cabana lunch poolside. All hail the Kale Cesar! The same pool you can see in pictures of Marilyn Monroe when she lived here for a few years back in the day, when the hotel was residential units. Such a fun fact that helps escalate the nostalgia of the property and one of the reasons we chose to stay here.
Close enough to "Golden Triangle" (which we learned from hotel staff) or Rodeo Dr. to walk or only a short drive into Hollywood.
We have never stayed at a "boutique" style hotel but everyone enjoyed the rooms, the dining at Oliverio and their stay, even my mother-in-law who has quite particular tastes. It was something different in a delightful way and we are so pleased to have experienced at little of the lux life in Beverly Hills. Cheers from Canada!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdzuraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear kdzuraw,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments about your most recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a delight to read your review and learn about your experience in Beverly Hills. We were certainly most excited to hear about your poolside and Oliverio experiences.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 912 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

booked this hotel based on the positive reviews I saw a couple of review websites. I was sorely disappointed...

The pool and lobby area is super cute - the service is very friendly...but once you get past the double doors you are in a different place.

I booked a "King room". After checking in the staff guided me to the "towers", which is basically an apt complex separate from the hotel.

The room is very outdated and everything looked dirty. Instead of providing travel size products, it appears they just keep refilling the same bottles of products...which also look used and not so clean. The amenities are minimal...actually..there aren't any amenities in the room.

The A/C unit is old school and really loud. Once it went silent I was awoken by sounds of dripping water in the bath tub. The sound went from soft drips to rapid drops. I hadn't even use the shower at all. Needless to say it made for an uneasy night of sleep.

Another pet peeve of mine is a room without a full length mirror...Sorry Avalon...I won't be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mix2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mimi T,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us, here at the Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills.

I was certainly most disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that the experience you had did not live up to the reviews you had read prior to booking your stay with us. Indeed we offer many different room types, spread out over 3 different buildings. I am confident that we can find the perfect room for you to set the tone for a perfect stay, should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

I wish to sincerely apologize for any disappointment or frustration you encountered on this occasion. Please kindly reach out to me directly when planning your future travels to the Beverly Hills area, so I may personally ensure that your next stay with us is nothing less than perfect; tijs.klerx@viceroyhotelgroup.com.

Kind regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hubby and I were on leg one of our trip to LA, Tucson and Hawaii and we arrived at the Avalon on Oscars Night! The hotel had upgraded us to a superior room which after the 11.5 hr flight from LHR was such a treat - our room overlooked the pool and the bar and it was so spacious - the bathroom was amazing and the shower gel and other bathroom bits were very luxurious!
The bed was SO comfy too!
Staff were superb and nothing was an issue, we really were so jetlagged and they looked after us well, the food in the restaurant is excellent, we had a couple of dishes to share over a bottle of wine while sat poolside as the sun went down and it ws the most fantastic atmosphere with jazz playing in the background.

Its a 7 mins walk to Rodeo Drive and then say 10 mins from Hollywood Blvd so excellently located and with Valet Parking you really cant go wrong.

We honestly cannot falt the hotel and would highly recommend it to any traveller going to LA...we will be back!!
Thank you all for starting our holiday off so well!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and it was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlipperClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear FlipperClaire,

THANK YOU for sharing such amazing comments about your recent stay with us. It was a delight to have you with us and it was a pleasure for the all of us to look after you during your visit to Beverly Hills.

We certainly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back sometime soon. Perhaps you would be so kind to reach to me directly when planning your future visit to the LA area: tijs.klerx@viceroyhotelgroup.com.

Kind regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here over school break. It it a lovely space, beautiful colors, modern, hip, a kidney shaped pool, someone even said Marilyn Monroe lived there for 3 years. We stayed on the 4th floor in an adjacent building, I believe it was room 444, the shower did not drain, so none of us could take a shower. My sister was calling the front desk to report this as well as a need for more towels, a light bulb that burst and a running toilet. They took the parking off the bill, but at $270.00 a night it was unpleasant. The food by the pool was great and the vibe cool, very European.

Room Tip: Request a room with a functioning bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgraham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear jmgraham200,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I was truly disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience this time. Please rest assured that this was not indicative of a typical Avalon experience.

Please kindly reach out to me next time you’re visiting the Beverly Hills area. I would be delighted to personally assist you in setting up a comfortable and enjoyable experience at the Avalon Beverly Hills.

Kind regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel with a very decent service level at a good location, the Avalon hotel is probably what you are looking for. If not for the great staff though, I would not give it a four star rating. The hotel itself looks a bit dated on quite a few places, but the rooms and the pool side are very much up to standard. Because of the location, I can understand that the hotel is not particularly cheap. Apart from that, for me it was quite a negative that valet parking was compulsory (31 USD a day). Also, on arrival two bottles of water were provided in the room, however these had a 6 USD sticker on them, which is not particularly welcoming if you are just arriving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jorg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Jorg S,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your recent experience.

With pride I shared your kind comments about the outstanding service you experienced throughout your stay with us. Indeed, our rooms with a view of our signature hour-glass pool allow for a true mid-century California experience.

On behalf of the entire Avalon team, thank you again for posting this review and for choosing our hotel on your most recent visit to Beverly Hills. We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

In Beverly Hills on business and by myself.
All the hotel staff friendly, responsive and couldn't do enough for me. Breakfast, dinner by pool was excellent both in terms of menu and quality of food. Nicely appointed and well-sized room. Pool area, reception, bar and restaurant areas all pleasantly decorated and furnished and nice peaceful atmosphere.
Only minor grumbles: fiddly bedroom door card entry, corridors outside room and stair areas looked a little shabby. Overall most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Perry L,

Thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Oliverio and that you were inspired by the overall vibe and decoration of the property.

On behalf of all of us at Avalon, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great price and great location in Beverly Hills. Stayed here for work travel so location mattered most out of anything for me. Cute boutique hotel with great service. Room service was good and the restaurant was great for breakfast, dinner and happy hour. Neat vibe, though the rooms are a bit old...which wasn't surprising. Nice bathroom products.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalinoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijs K, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Kalinoms,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the Avalon Hotel.

I’m delighted to note that you enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and restaurant. I was particularly pleased to read about the outstanding service you received throughout your experience. The team certainly enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tijs Klerx
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beverly Hills hotels
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#8 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,746 reviews
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
820 reviews
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
#12 of 15 in Beverly Hills
685 reviews
Beverly Hills
Maison 140 Beverly Hills
Maison 140 Beverly Hills
#15 of 15 in Beverly Hills
482 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 9400 W Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-4552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: $255 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its historical and novel physical space, this chic Beverly Hills boutique hotel is set around an iconic hourglass-shaped pool and terrace with private cabanas and Viviane restaurant- all just steps from Beverly Hills' most exciting shopping, entertainment, galleries and restaurants. Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxury amenities and services, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills. Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon Beverly Hills' 84 guest rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills. With custom-designed furnishings by International design icon, Kelly Wearstler other luxury appointments include sumptuous Italian linens and Momo by Davines bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing