We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game Playing Attempt to Over Charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Game Playing Attempt to Over Charge”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our stay at the Crescent Hotel was rather disappointing. First, as a positive, the room (premium queen) was adequate as per size and décor with a lot of electrical outlets for recharging phones, etc. The room was very poorly illuminated, though, making any kind of extended reading or writing well-nigh impossible after sunset. If you enjoy leisure reading, had to do paper work, or attempt a crossword puzzle, forget about it. Also, the door to the room did not have a peephole, which as I understand it, is an important safety feature for guests. Winston, the reception clerk when we arrived, however, was pleasant and helpful.
The real problem came when we checked out. When my wife booked the reservation with manager Tristan Sapp, Tristan said that there weren’t any petit queen rooms available for that date so he would upgrade us to a premium queen room. Tristan, also, sent an email confirming the reservation. The unpleasantness happened on check-out. When we were checking out, there was a $57 fee for the upgrade to the premium queen room. This charge was not mentioned in my wife’s discussion with Tristan or in the email confirming the reservation. We explained this to the desk clerk on duty. He insisted we had been told this. After it was obvious we weren’t going to cave in and pay the fee, he did grudgingly drop the $57 charge chastising us that he was doing this “even though you didn’t listen..” referring apparently to the fabricated conversation regarding the extra charge my wife had when making the reservations.)
It’s hard for me not to think that this attempt to milk us out of an extra 57 bucks is a practice this hotel uses to take advantage of inattentive or unassertive patrons. As far as the stupidity and rudeness of the clerk telling us “you didn’t listen,” well, that’s the hotel’s look out…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zahak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our hotel. Your opinions are very important to us. It is absolutely not our practice to bill our guests for any charges they are not made aware of during the reservation process. We have had an overwhelmingly positive response to our Living Social promotion. As a result the Petit Queen room featured in the promotion has been sold out for many dates. In an effort to allow our guests to utilize the great deal they purchased we have offered many guests an opportunity to upgrade to a lager room at a fee. I'm am very sorry this was not made clear to you when you reserved your room and that it was not handled more tactfully during your check out. Our confirmation letters have been updated to reflect the surcharge as an add-on for those who elect the upgrade option. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make up for this experience. We are currently upgrading the entire hotel and I'd love to have you come and see us again once this is finished. Please contact me directly if you would like to make a future booking. james@crescentbh.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    131
    58
    30
    30
See reviews for
40
154
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If u dont mind sleeping with noise or earplugs in ur ears, then u wont mind staying in this small but charming hotel.
Location is the top. Valet @ 27$/day obligatory.
Room has a moderate size & minimalist decor. No carpet in room is a plus.
Tiny bathroom is tiny but its functional (modern concrete shower & counter is nice).
Too much noise during the night (ventilation noise, u hear people in the corridor, u hear showers of adjacent rooms & outside noise).
Complementary Breakfast was disappointing. Only tea and coffee (no juice) with a square of greasy banana nut bread.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and honest feedback. We are in the process of renovating our rooms, including upgrades for soundproofing and shower plumbing to reduce noise. Each morning we are pleased to offer complimentary coffee and housemade pastry. A full breakfast menu is also available on an a la carte basis. We we do occasionally run packages that include breakfast and would like to investigate your booking as it sounds that you were under the impression that your room included breakfast of which you did not receive. Would you reach out to me directly at james@crescentbh.com so that I can work to rectify some of your concerns? I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
James Warren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a super cute place to stay if you are getting tired of staying at major chain hotels. Decorated great. Our room was so cute and the bed was very comfortable. Good price for area. You can walk to shops/ restaurants. The manager Christian was amazing! He got us all checked in and made us drinks at the bar. His margarita was fantastic! Great service from all staff throughout stay. We got back to the hotel around midnight and the staff helped us order food to go. Only negatives were lots of dust under bed and the traffic in the area is horrendous. Overall we loved it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissacocores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel has a great location and value just a few blocks from Rodeo Drive shopping and restaurants. The outside has great curb appeal with a beautiful outdoor patio right out front. Our room was spacious and looked recently renovated. The bathroom had a modern feel with a concrete finish in the shower. My only complaint about the room is that the hardwood floor was a little slippery...I actually slipped on it a couple times (but didn't fall); this could be a hazard for some. They had complimentary coffee and pastries in the morning which were delicious. Overall, this is a great place that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan S, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much, Erin, for your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel! We are, indeed, renovating and upgrading all of our rooms to meet the highest demands of luxury in comfort and aesthetics! We have decided to use hardwood floors not only to this end, but also so that our rooms can meet the highest possible standards of cleanliness, and to provide the best experience possible for guests who may have allergies. We do appreciate all input from our guests and will be adding area rugs to our rooms to address this concern.

Please contact us directly the next time that you are in Beverly Hills so that we can ensure that your room meets any and all of your standards!

Sincerely Yours,
Tristan Sapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great Cozy Place ! Great Staff in a nice area. I really enjoyed the stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the crescent hotel for 4 nights in early July. The hotel was great :) service was excellent, and the location was also very good! Easy walk to the main shopping area of beverly hills and 15 minute taxi ride to hollywood ( we used public transport, the local bus number 4 or 714 and it took us right into the main hollywood area or to the subway) this was only $1.50 or $5 for a day pass. We also used public transport to get to universal studios costing a total of $5 instead of $40 per person for private transfers. Highly recommend this hotel very clean, modern and great service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The room here is tiny, but for the price you probably wont get anything bigger in beverly hills without paying a fortune, location is great right near rodeo drive, lots of nice restaurants, cafe's, shops and bars. The staff here were friendly and helpful, and the decor was nice. We asked for an iron one evening and never got one as they were all being used. Overall a good stay would stay again, just dont expect a huge room and remeber your paying for the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very important to us.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by not having an iron available at your time of need. We are in the process of renovating the rooms and each and every room will have an iron and ironing board installed in the new closet.
We would love you to revisit us and remember, we have a variety of room sizes available to suit all of our guests and their varying budgets, including our King rooms at over 250 square feet and our suite at over 600 square feet so please reach out prior to your next visit so we can help select just the right room for you. Frontdesk@crescentbh.com
Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beverly Hills hotels
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
864 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,520 reviews
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#13 of 15 in Beverly Hills
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
948 reviews
Beverly Hills
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
861 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills

Property: Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Address: 403 N Crescent Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (Formerly The Crescent)
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Beverly Hills hotel, a true boutique with just 32 rooms, is in the heart of Beverly Hills just 3 blocks from Rodeo Drive. The front palm lined terrace (breakfast, nibbles, tapas and dinner) faces Crescent Ave - a wide palm lined boulevard. Established in 1927 and newly renovated in 2013, the décor is casually Hollywood, like a comfy collection of styles from the studios' storehouse of set designs stretching from 1920 to 2013. The feeling is “at-studio-at-home” with a film designer’s whimsy. The terrace and lounge flow to create the hotel’s social hub, offering casual dining and a relaxing bar/lounge, punctuated by Beverly Hills chatter. Directly opposite the hotel are the historic offices of MCA Studios. Our hotel became MCA’s local choice, where a cadre of players would stay when in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Crescent Beverly Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing