We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montage Beverly Hills
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The Montage is a very pleasant hotel. The favorable components are the spa and the restaurants. I got the best facial I have ever had. When I walked out of the spa looking like I needed a shampoo desperately the hair salon very kindly accommodated me and I got an excellent shampoo and blow dry. The ninth floor restaurant has a lovely view and the food is good. The location is great if you want to be in the middle of expensive shopping. Other than the remote drapes and lights the rooms are without distinction. The room size is good and comfortable. I think my disappointment is that the price of the room is greater than the value of the room. I requested to stay an extra day and was offered a room price $250 more than the Expedia website price for the same. That was off putting, I would probably make another choice next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    87
    26
    8
    26
See reviews for
141
214
41
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at the Montage. The rooms are spacious, bright, comfortable and well-equipped. The hotel has a homey, relaxing feel unlike some overly large hotels that can feel impersonal.
I also liked the Hollywood costume design sketches in our room, one by the famous Edith Head (a gown for Grace Kelly in To Catch a Thief).

The staff are friendly and helpful. I'd like to give a special mention to Mr Ernesto Castillo who, at his own initiative, went way beyond the call of duty to organise cold/flu medication for my sick husband. While delivering our in-room meals, I'd mentioned that my husband was unwell and he showed concern and urged me to call security to arrange getting medication. My husband insisted he'd be fine. About 30 minutes later, Mr Castillo returned with medication at his own instigation. I was very touched by this show of care and concern. Montage Beverly Hills has a great staff member with Mr Castillo!

Our kids (9 & 11) loved the pool / spa too.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spend 15 to 20 nights a year in this hotel -- I obviously normally like it. Tonight (1/15/14) I ended up in what must be the smallest room in the hotel -- staring at the back side of a bldg out my window (room 610 - avoid). And I am paying full rate. I call down to the front desk and ask them to look up my profile and it indicates I have only stayed here twice in last couple of years. Poor CRM / IT management -- you guys should be better than this. Interestingly, this same thing happened to me here at the Montage three years ago. What's the deal -- why so hard to keep track of a loyal guest?

Room Tip: The rooms facing south toward Wilshire have a big building blocking your view and light -- and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThomasJ206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageBH1, Manager at Montage Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear ThomasJ206,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. It is through the direct feedback we receive from our guests that allows us to continually heighten our service levels. We are disheartened to learn of your experience and offer our deepest apologies for not delivering the expected service. We keep our guest profiles as up to date as possible and apologize for what happened with yours during your most recent stay. Please contact me directly when you are ready to return so I can personally see to it that your next visit is flawless.

Sincerely,
Masato Kominami
Resident Manager
310.860.7877
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at the Montage Beverly Hills. As in the last the exceptional staff welcomed my wife and I and son, and we were quickly checked in and on our way to our suite. Beautifully prepared with all the amenities that we I've when we travel. What we love about it here, apart from the attentive and delightful staff, is the room decor, the restaurants and then easy access to everywhere we need to be. Only takes a few minutes to bring your car from the garage, new bottles of water placed and when we leave a Montage cap.

Dining is a treat at Scarpetta, their signature pasta with tomato and basil is a must. We dined also at Parq for cocktails and snacks, and their cold meats superb. If you are their on Sunday, head to the 9th floor and enjoy their brunch. Bottomless Bloody Marys and Mimosa's start you off, but their speciality. Is the waffles and chicken, with an egg, which blasts your senses.

I am looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Montage in Beverly Hills for 5 days. It was fantastic and they handled issues very well.

First - great with kids. They have an incredible playroom with activities for kids down in the basement. Also lots of things planned around holiday time for children. Whenever we needed something for our daughter they were there within 10-15 minutes if not sooner.

Valet was amazing and had our car up and ready to go everytime we called down...never had to wait.We had to come back to the hotel a week after checkout and they not only remembered us but gave us free parking for the day. Just overall incredibly friendly and helpful.

Concierge was helpful and always had ideas, even when we had last minute need for holiday dinners etc.

The location is 2nd to none. If you have kids and want a beautiful place to stay where it's easy to get in and out, this is the place.

We found the rooms to be comfortable and like a mini-apartment.

On Christmas eve the hotel lost power (not in their control). Within 20 minutes they had a bellman gathering our stuff, moving it to a new suite....while we were frustrated and upset they provided free dinner and reimbursed us for the complete stay. Responsiveness and responsibility in today's day and age is hard to find and we were impressed with the professionalism they showed in dealing with this matter.

We would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

There is nothing negative to be said about this hotel. Nothing. The location, staff, quality of room, amenities, restaurants ... all completely top notch. Everything is spotless, the staff is as courteous as can be, really, this hotel hits high marks at every single point of contact with the guest. Have stayed there over 5 times, with family, on business ... and have loved every stay. Great job in all ways!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGuyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Bel Air, Four Seasons, and the Peninsula. This hotel does not compare to any of those, WiFi is absolutely awful, wrong room on check in, service from poolside restaurant to Scarpetta was subpar, everything is just off.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank DCYOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Beverly Hills

Property: Montage Beverly Hills
Address: 225 N Canon Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#6 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#8 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Rodeo Drive, the luxurious Montage Beverly Hills features 201 guestrooms, inclusive of 55 suites; two restaurants including Chef Geoffrey Zakarian's debut West Coast restaurant, Georgie, and The Rooftop Grill; a 20,000-square-foot, two-story Spa Montage Beverly Hills featuring L.RAPHAEL; Paintbox, the exclusive children's program featuring themed days, indoor and outdoor activities; and a rooftop pool with breathtaking views of the Hollywood Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montage Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Montage Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Montage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing