We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as thoughtful as I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montage Beverly Hills
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as thoughtful as I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my mother for the weekend and found the hotel to be lovely but service wasn't as thoughtful as I expected of a five star rated, luxury hotel. Slight nits but there were several shortcomings:
- they made a big deal of asking what newspaper we wanted at check in yet failed to deliver a paper on both mornings of our stay. Other rooms had papers
- there are no coffee makers I the rooms and a service is provided in the lobby. It is taken down at 8:30 am. While I was waiting to get a newspaper the front desk advised another couple to walk across the way to Bouchon at 8:45 vs sending for coffee. I paid the money for coffee from Bouchon
- one bottle of water was left at turndown although their we're clearly two of us in a double room
- the bathroom has a tub/shower combo with a rod that is difficult to pull
- no make up mirror.
- I was overcharged at check out for the honor bar which wasn't used. It was quickly corrected
The room was very nice, yet for the costs, there are few frills or perks often found at other hotels. All of the bell staff and valets were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CapitolCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    73
    23
    6
    20
See reviews for
124
198
38
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here as we attended a wedding shower at the hotel. When considering where to stay in the area as there are several great hotels we decided to stay here based on location, what we had heard from friends and of course the shower we were attending was there. After a long flight from New York the arrival experience was great. After standing in lines at the airport it was great to not have to wait at check-in. The front desk staff had all of the details of my reservation set and took me right to my room. The room itself was well appointed. The sitting area was large, spacious and the bathroom was huge and I think my wife appreciated the dual sinks more than anything. The room had a nice balcony that overlooked the gardens which was great for travelers coming from a place like New York without a lot of balconies.

On our first morning we ate breakfast in Conservatory. We met up with some other attendees of the shower. While everyone's breakfast looked good, I ordered the Corned Beef Hash. The flavor and the presentation was the best I have had and would recommend it for breakfast. We spent the afternoon poolside which was relaxing and the pool service was attentive and the servers were very responsive.

The night of the shower was one of the best parts of the stay. First off, the views from the Conservatory Private Dining Room were amazing. The staff had great tray passed hors d'evours that were delicious. The great thing about the dinner was the food tasted like a fine restaurant versus the typical "banquet food". My filet was cooked perfectly as was my wife's Sea Bass. The flavors of the dish were really brought out by the sauce that was with them.

Parq Bar in the evening was both lively and fun with the live entertainment on Saturday night. Sunday we were out all day and when we returned had some sushi and Ahi Tuna sliders that were both great.

Traveling to Beverly Hills our expectations were very high. I can honestly say that this hotel delivered in every way. While it is not the least expensive hotel to stay at in the area, it is definetly worth what you pay for. We are looking foward to trying the other Montage properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyef0rdetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service at Montage Beverly Hills is excellent. They literally do everything perfectly. Whether you’re ordering room service, checking in or talking to a housekeeper every employee gives impeccable service.

It is all of the little touches that make this place so spectacular. During turndown service they put a bookmark in my book, and slippers right where you’ll need them. When our car was brought around from valet they had a cold water bottle and a hat in the car! It was my second time visiting the property and they sent me a card with treat to thank me for returning.

My only complaint is not really a complaint but rather a preference… I wanted a little more personality. I enjoy eclectic, unique places and this place is pure classic. My partner (who is defiantly classic) could move in to The Montage Beverly Hills and die happy. I probably belong somewhere in Hollywood or Venice Beach myself. Basically we were both happy.

p.s. The flowers in the lobby are REAL!!

Jorah

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We live in Southern California and wanted a short spree from work without traveling overseas. A close friend owns Tobi Blatt in Del Mar, a clothing boutique I love and her mom was former mayor of Beverly Hills. So I trusted her recommendation to stay at the Montage. We were upgraded two categories, we booked our room on Tingo where we received a reasonable rate for a hotel of this caliber. The service was top notch as stated by other reviewers. I travel a lot and am partial to quality beds, this fit my taste. The concierge staff was helpful and did not disappoint in their suggestions. Took time for a spa day and had a deep massage with Beverly that was heavenly. Had the facilities to myself most of the day which was a special treat. Lovely restaurants all within walking distance-Boucheron, Spago, Villa Blanco (Giggy was there), and tea room at Montage was fun. Hubby made reservation in scotch tasting room and said it made the trip for him. Relaxing, elegant, easy and classy. Will return again to the Montage hopefully sooner rather than later.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KerBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Heard a lot about the hotel and especially it's wonderful service and location right in the heart of Beverly Rodeo area and next door to 2 of my favorite restaurants Boucheron and Spago . Plenty of other dining options available . Huge rooms impeccable service especially from the concierge Choi . and the front desk Kurrham. Also thanks to Art the who drove us . Beautiful roof top pool huge rooms and bathrooms and state of the art technology in the rooms
Will recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjaySahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageBH1, Manager at Montage Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sanjay,

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, rooms and our location. We are certainly fortunate to have such an amazing team of associates. I am glad that their extraordinary efforts contributed to a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

David Hoffman, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The is our second time staying at the Montage because of service. Yesterday as we checked in they had a Easter gift for our son and my wife made an off hand comment about liking chocolate dipped peeps. We went to lunch and when we got back to our room, Justine Cua had arranged a plate of the deserts with a hand written note welcoming us. The service in this hotel is the best in the world!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our stay at the beautiful Montage Beverly Hills was absolutely perfect. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite facing the courtyard for 3 nights. The bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The room was immaculately clean which is extremely important to me. Room service was always delicious. The spa was blissful. Everyone (valets, bellhop, housekeeping, spa attendants, room service and front desk attendants) were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GodGivenGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 14 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#7 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#4 of 14 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Beverly Hills

Property: Montage Beverly Hills
Address: 225 N Canon Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#4 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Rodeo Drive, the luxurious Montage Beverly Hills features 201 guestrooms, inclusive of 55 suites; two restaurants, including renowned chef Scott Conant’s Scarpetta Los Angeles; the 20,000-square-foot, two-story Spa Montage; and a rooftop pool with breathtaking views of the Hollywood Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Montage Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Montage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing