We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place!”
Review of 900 Grayson

900 Grayson
Ranked #52 of 702 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the place!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Had a great breakfast with my wife and son here this morning. The place is as clean as a pin, and the wait staff was super friendly. Go ahead and have the chicken and waffles, you know you want to try it. The homemade hot sauce was a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NadoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Remembered After 24 Years”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had just spent the night in Berkeley and were trying to find a breakfast spot. Suddenly my husband said that he thought he knew of a place. He fed "900 Grayson" into the GPS and sure enough, it led us right to the front door. He hadn't been there in 24 years, but the address happens to be the name as well, and it stuck. Pretty smart advertising I would think.It was wonderful, eclectic and a little eccentric-just perfect! Not a huge place, but inviting and very well arranged. Very unique pictures of fish on the wall-must see to appreciate.My son had the "I'm not Belgian" Waffle, which was delicious. I had the Smoked Gouda Omelet with a small apple and vinaigrette salad and a beautiful round of hash browns which, as I'm writing, is making my mouth water all over again. My husband enjoyed his scrambled eggs, hash browns and rustic toast (very fresh bread). After breakfast, our insatiable 19 yr. old son had a pecan bar and almond macaroon from the pastry counter. We all snagged a taste after he was owing and ah-hing. They were superb! I would most definitely recommend this spot to any travelers, and those who live in the vicinity. My husband couldn't drink the coffee as it was too strong, so the waiter gave him more cut with hot water and it was perfect. The restroom is located behind a curtain in the back and unusual as well-worth excusing yourself to take a peeek. :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1horseshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, OHIO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The only thing bad I can say is that I wished that they opened before 8 AM. Being from the EST, it is tough to wait that long to eat. I had to try it because it was on DDD. The breakfast did not disappoint.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best chicken and waffles”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

12:45 on Sat for brunch, wait was 20 minutes, not bad. Ordered a latte before being seated which made the wait seem quick! Had the Demon Lover. There were three of us ordering this same dish so only two of us paid the extra $2 for both gravy and syrup and we all shared since it came on the side. Probably could have save another $2 and only had one of us order both. Daughter had the Potter Creek breakfast dish which she liked and they also had her favorite tea, Numi Organic Honey Bush which she said made the breakfast experience 'perfect'. Sat out on the patio which I preferred because the inside of the place is tight and a bit claustophic. Great service from everyone! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Who knew Chicken and Waffles go together?!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We found this place because of it's high review on yelp and it was fantastic. It's kind of tucked away and we wouldn't have stumbled upon it without the help of yelp, but we were so glad we found it. The Demon Lover (the chicken and waffle dish) is their most popular item and it was really good. Like the previous reviewer, we had a brother wait on us, but he was very charming and friendly. He chatted with us for a while and made us feel at home. Maybe it was the other brother? :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 900 Grayson also viewed

 

Been to 900 Grayson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing