We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best French bakery around”
Review of La Farine Berkeley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Farine Berkeley
Ranked #20 of 27 Dessert in Berkeley
Price range: $5 - $20
Restaurant details
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best French bakery around”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you like French breads and pastries, this is the place for you. Delicious cakes and tarts, reasonably priced. Only downside is there is very limited seating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ginag1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fruit tarts!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just a great French Bakery and the owner is super friendly and helpful! I have ordered cakes from them multiple times for numerous occasions and they are always delicious. The apple tart is fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oaklandtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so great but okay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will get decent bakery choices here but doesn't taste really authentic because tastes more sweet than they should be. If you prefer more sweet than authentic then go for it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nurcadisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious Pastries”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After eat at the Zachary's Pizza we walked down the block to have some dessert, we ordered the best yummy fruit tart, lemon shortbread and chocolate cheesecake - fall in love for all these pastries as they are not too sweet compare to others! Besides the pastries, we also like to order the sandwich to go, pricey but worth it for such a quality food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey But Delicious”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We bought a pistachio and chocolate cake which was fabulous even though we were a bit thrown by the $35.00 price. If you're looking for a desert for guests or to bring when you are guests (as we were), you'll be pleased with your choice. A $3.75 loaf of fresh baked light rye also delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anita z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Farine Berkeley also viewed

 

Been to La Farine Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing