We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh yes..still a classic”

Peet's Coffee & Tea
Ranked #1 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Berkeley
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Oh yes..still a classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been hooked on Pete's for 30 years and go everytime I am back in Berkeley. The aroma and quality of the coffee has always set the benchmark in my mind. I don't think I've ever had better coffee..anywhere.
Thanks Mr Pete!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiAgainPleaseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best of Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is where it all started. Peets was one of the first coffee stores and went on to inspire others to get into the mass market coffee business. The coffee is dark and strong, so if you're from NY you might ask to have a little hot water added.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“From dark to light...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

...the best coffee in the Bay Area! Quality of Peet's coffee has remained consistent, in spite of the ownership being taken over by Starbuck's (yes, horror of horrors!). A pound of beans, and they will give you a cup of coffee as well. Baked goods are also on offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank swineshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“For a great aroma and great nostalgia the original Peet's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'll confess: Peet's coffee wins me over with its deep dark fragrance. Otherwise it tends to be too strong for my delicate constitution. That doesn't stop me, however, from enjoying the beverages, snacks, atmosphere, and conviviality of the original Peet's. I've been offered (and accepted) portions of snack foods from other patrons, enjoyed splendid bracing conversations with strangers (most of them regulars), and have either bubbled or brustled to the street music that sometimes takes over the sidewalk outside. In short, the original Peet's is a total experience, and far more enjoyable than even this historic coffee can account for. Take a computer or cell phone if you must, but be open to the chance meeting and the spirit of the moment. After all, its the real Peet's!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokononer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good strong coffee, well made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just stop by any Peet's for good consistent coffee.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peet's Coffee & Tea also viewed

 

Been to Peet's Coffee & Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing