We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired but still very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little tired but still very special”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Claremont is one of a kind. Beautiful victorian architecture in the Berkeley Hills overlooking SF Bay and the Golden Gate.

Upgrade to a West (golden gate) view. Enjoy the pool and the views. Look for deals on priceline and hotwire.

Romantic getaway

Room Tip: get a west facing room overlooking the Golden Gate and SF Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly is one of a kind! Thank you so much for appreciating what makes our historic property so unique. There is nothing quite like the views from our hotel. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    359
    195
    128
    110
See reviews for
363
412
96
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I really enjoy this hotel but in the recent years it has changed owners and some of he service has dropped. The restaurant has never really been that good but breakfast is a sure pass.The pool is great and the view is great! I just wish this hotel was updated a little and the service back up to par. The jewelry gift shop is a plus for this hotel .Great local made jewelry

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Rising high in the hills of Berkeley, our historic property has offered our guests some amazing stays over the years and we are glad you have enjoyed it on a number of occasions, but we do regret if your recent experience was not all you had hoped for. Please know that we always want to know how we can help improve as it is only through our guests’ eyes do we have the ability to assess our offerings. Your comments will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The service here is outstanding. Every staff encounter was positive but Tiffany at the spa the next day remembered my name despite the extra crowds for the holiday weekend. Carol Yoshiwara, one of the hosts at their Paragon restaurant, was helpful throughout our dining experience. The food was FANTASTIC, the views spectacular.
Two cautions:First, the holiday weekend brought out the crowds ie families. If staying without children, and you haven't the energy for them, avoid holidays, the pool was beyond crowded. Second, I did not realize that one must make an appointment for the spa even if one does not have a treatment scheduled. That keeps the spa a peaceful place not a crowded crush. They were full when I arrived and since we were staying only one night, I'm glad our schedule was flexible and that the hotel allowed a spa appointment after check out the next day.

Room Tip: Request a room away from families; sound insulation is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
There is nothing we like to hear more than how much our guests enjoy their time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions as well as your compliments to our associates. Paragon is a lively and casual spot and offers some of the best views of the Bay Area. We are glad you enjoyed it! While holidays can be quite the draw for many of our guests to stay, we are glad you were able to obtain a spa appointment and enjoy peace away from the hustle and bustle. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We took our 4 small grandchildren to the resort for a weekend. They had the best time! There is a dedicated children's pool, as well as 3 others, all heated. They had lessons available Sat. morning. There is a wonderful Kids Club, which the 3 oldest (2, 4, 6) loved, and which gave the parents/grandparents a chance to do other things. The child minders at the Kids Club were wonderful and the kids got to do a lot of crafts and play with a lot of toys. It also was very secure, which gave us peace of mind. There is a gym for grownups, and a schedule of classes (we missed beginners yoga, but will hit it next time). The rooms were excellent and the pillows really soft. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 5-star rating was that the towels were thin and had seen better days and the food was not 5-star worthy. Parking, as typical for the Bay Area, was expensive. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed bringing your grandchildren to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa for the weekend! Our impeccable attention to detail includes fun for the kids, so you can focus on adult time as well. From our Kids Club with countless activities, as you mentioned, to our sparkling outdoor pools, we offer so much to enjoy in addition to the comfort you found in our guest rooms. We do apologize if your dining experience was not more to your liking. If there was anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had an incredibly nice day and a half visit this past weekend. Absolutely loved the old world property and it's wonderful character. Took full advantage of the great property using the spa and club and eating in both restaurants. ALL staff I encountered were much more than just polite, they were authentically friendly and geniunely happy people! Everyone went above and beyond to exude "yes" attitudes, being professional yet not snobby regardless of my sometimes annoying requests. In the spa; Milan, Joe, Tiffany, and Lydia exemplified what I'm talking about. Left feeling completely relaxed, rested, and rejuvenated after a very short visit! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMurray250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Everyone here loves what they do and we are delighted you have mentioned how much you appreciate our genuinely friendly and happy associates! We can’t begin to tell you how much your acknowledgement of our service efforts means and will be sure to share your kind words with everyone. Knowing you had such an excellent stay is such a pleasure. We hope to see you again soon at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a "grande dame" hotel and spa. The staff won't ignore you, it has free wi-fi, and the place has a nice historic feel. For the price, however, rooms are somewhat dated, linens are average, no terry robes, $30 for self parking, and only one comfy chair in a king room. A lot of money for being a part of hotel history, but maybe their taxes are high.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brorog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
While we are glad you appreciated our associates and the history that our hotel provides, we must apologize if any other area of your stay fell short. Each of our guest rooms is completely different from the next, offering our guests the unique opportunity to enjoy different accommodations with each stay. If there is ever anything that you may need, including robes, our associates are always on hand to help. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking in our secure lot but we regret if this was cause for inconvenience. We do hope you will consider another stay in the future so that we can provide you with the type of encounter you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked for 4 nights, and we got a room with a horrible view of the rooftop, really ugly certainly not what you would expect when you first see the hotel building from the outside. The rooms are very old(it seems like being back in the 80's),and you can hear very clearly the people in the next room.
The first morning we had breakfast at the Meritage( the hotel restaurant), very poor menu. We ordered something but received something different, moreover, at a very expensive price!!! Last but not least, never take the cab that the valet guy call for you. You are gonna pay exactly double compare to a regular cab....we were super upset about this "accident".
I would not recommend this hotel, and certainly not going back again.
The only thing that I would save is the Paramount (another hotel restaurant) good food and very nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notpickyjusthonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
It is truly disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met, nor does it reflect the high standards of service that we have set. We will take this an opportunity to share your comments with our management team. It is truly disappointing that your guest room was not as you had hoped. We feature a variety of room styles and types and are always happy to help guests find the accommodations that best suit their needs. What you have shared regarding your breakfast dining experience concerns us and hope that you were able to let our associates know of the error. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. While we never like to read that one of our guests was not fully satisfied, we are always grateful for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,243 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing