We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamour Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came for a wedding and SURPRISE! The bride and groom were staying here also. What a glorious, glamourous place to stay. We had the largest suite with one bedroom and a huge sitting room with dining room table overlooking the tennis courts and the Golden Gate. One bathroom proved challenging for 4 people but it was hilarious. We had coffee and read the paper in our "sitting room" each day, and had cocktails on the deck below our suite nightly. Every little enclave has a great view from The Claremont. The brunch was delicious and we spent about 4 hrs there. The service from the staff in the dining area is THE BEST ever. They turned us onto new types of local drinks and fed us well. Our steaks were perfectly done. Thank you Claremont for a dream come true fairytale glamour visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that overlook the Bay - you may pay more but it is breathtaking! Just buck up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicaleigh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

What an incredible honor to have been a part of your fairy tale getaway! Everyone at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly loves to contribute to each guests’ experiences and we will be certain your share your comments with all of our associates. Knowing that you found your stay to be so positive is the best compliment we could possibly receive. Brunch at Meritage is always a favorite with our guests and it is a delight to know you enjoyed everything from your accommodations to the views. We hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I made a reservation five months ago for a PUR room, but it was not honored by the hotel despite being confirmed multiple times. The Assistant Manager told me that there was nothing she could do about it as they were sold out. But I put the credit card on the room months ago, called two weeks ago to confirm, and called the day of check-in to confirm. Each time I was told that the reservation was committed. I will never stay again at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank amm60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

It is with deep regret that we read your feedback as this is not the type of experience that we hope for any of our valued guests. While it is not clear as to what manner you made your reservations, it is always our hope to provide the accommodations that will best suit your needs and we apologize if that did not occur. We will be certain to share your comments with our management team and are grateful you have taken the time to detail your experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We came here on our third night of our honeymoon because I was able to get a small deal. The hotel is lovely and very historic. I had seen it before driving through and it is impressive. We were a little disappointed at the high parking fee and the facility fee we had to pay, even though we weren't going to be there long enough to use the facilities (and I probably just hadn't read the fine print to realize there were those fees). The room was very nice, although I would have liked a nice bathtub. I think the prices we paid for the location were reasonable, although it's one of those places that was nice to go to once, but we don't feel a big need to return. We stayed at B&B's the rest of our trip that included breakfast, better shower/tub for less, so it was hard to be really excited about this, but it was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted to chose to stay with us for even one evening of your honeymoon trip and enjoyed our historic property. Please know that every guest room in our hotel is completely unique from the next, with something for every taste but we apologize if your accommodations were not more to your liking. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking and facility fees but it is regrettable if this was not more clear. Our facility fees enable guests to enjoy a wide variety of exciting amenities while visiting, including complimentary wireless service, full access to the Club, use of our three outdoor pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, 3 hours of child care and so much more. We hope you will consider another visit to take advantage of all that we have to offer. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

after seeing the living social deal online, my girlfriends and i decided to book the claremont for our staycation.

we didn't find out that this hotel was rumored to be haunted until AFTER we bought our livingsocial voucher. i decided to move forward with it and hope for the best. slowly all the girls came to find out the rumor as well and i can say it made for interesting sleepless and scary nights.

rooms - pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms. we were told our room was one made for 4 ppl and we weren't cramped at all. overall the hotel was a bit outdated and in need of some deep cleaning (dirty grout in the bathrooms, rugs w/big water stains and the handle for the shower just came off at one point - just fully came off). also the room did not come with a mini fridge or microwave. we had to check our snacks in at the bag check.

customer service - not bad. our shower drain was clogged and we called right away. they said someone would be right up. that was the first day and no one showed. but they must've come by while we were out at night because by the next day it worked perfectly.

club - we did check out the pool/jacuzzi/classes. the weather was still gloomy when we went so we checked out limited services. we checked out the inside and outside jacuzzi and whirlpool. the jacuzzi outside was fine. it was surprisingly filled for 1030am on a sunday. the inside whirlpool was terribly murky. i wouldn't want to be there by myself at night. and my girlfriends were able to check out some classes although they didn't mention and ups or downs to them. the reception in the club area has a coffee and tea station. there were a handful of us trying to grab coffee/tea and i can say it was the most awkward set-up. it would be great it they had more counter space to dedicate to this, it really didn't have the flow or set-up for more than 1 or 2 people at a time.

paragon - we ordered some food at the paragon during their afternoon specials and they were just okay.

meritage - we decided to end our stay with their brunch buffet at the meritage. it was nice and relaxing and the food was decent. it could've used more selection but everything we had was nice. because we were ending our stay we decided to ask a few questions about the haunted rumors and the waiters were more than happy to entertain. however we were all disappointed when we saw how much the bill was. this was definitely the most expensive brunch buffet any of us had ever had. it definitely was not worth the cost. no matter how relaxing it was and how nice the window seats were. we finally got up from our relaxing brunch because our waiter asked "if i can go home now?" as he grabbed for our bill. we took this as a hint that we needed to leave. and leave we did but sadly we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miltonsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We are truly grateful to learn that you enjoyed many aspects of your girls’ getaway, from your spacious accommodations to the service you received while visiting. It is disappointing, however if you were inconvenienced in any way or if some areas of your guest room were not as they should be. Your honest feedback is truly of value to us and will be shared with the appropriate departments to ensure that everything is at its best for future stays. It is our hope to welcome you again in the future, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My good friend and I, both moms who have had a looong year with our kids, decided we needed a splurge. We live in Oakland but had not had an overnight with a friend at the lovely Claremont Hotel, just 10 minutes from our homes. We reserved the bed and breakfast. We had wanted to reserve a massage but this wasn't available with our package. We had a Bay View room - worth the extra few bucks! No matter - we checked in, had a beautiful small dinner on the balcony at Paragon. The next morning our breakfast was with an amazing and clear view of the SF Bay - including the Golden Gate and SF skyline- (can't guarantee the weather but any view of the bay is usually noteworthy!) We explored the spa and pool options on foot...there are many so just be prepared to need to return! We will be doing this again! Just a note - the spa is not co-ed so if you are a mixed gender group you'll be apart. We decided to split the time with pool time first and then spa time. For the spa just the day rate amenities were enough for us: super special shower, steam sauna, jacuzzi; sandals, towels and spa water provided, along with a roomy common area to get ready. I left at 5pm (less than 24 hours there) and felt like I had been gone a week!
Lastly, the hotel had misplanned our room and we were given a room that was not clean (not terrible, just not all set) - we mentioned this to the front desk, telling them we were on our way to the bar. They gave us $50 to spend at the bar and did the room while we were gone, and all was well. No fuss. Service was very amenable. But so were we - so it goes both ways.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bay view was worth it. Small windows since it is an old building but still fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caligirl764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

A moms’ spa getaway trip sounds like the perfect way to enjoy some adult time with friends! Thank you so much for sharing your special trip with us and for providing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Did you know that our Spa has been named among the 10 best spas of its kind in the country by Vogue, Elle and Shape magazines? We offer all of the services you need to relax, rejuvenate and unwind and are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at Paragon as well. We hope you get the chance to treat yourself to another getaway trip soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Walking into the Claremont is like stepping back into the grandeur of old, gracious hotels of the past. It is a beautiful hotel set up on a hill overlooking Berkeley and the Bay. I have stayed there many times and the staff are always very helpful. The spa is first-rate. The women's spa includes a lovely jacuzzi, steam, and a variety of showers that are also fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Glorious is such a wonderful compliment, thank you! The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa strives to maintain our rich history but with the very best of modern amenities. We couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed your stay on so many occasions. A visit to our Spa is always such a treat! We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is a classic and overlooks Oakland and the bay. However many of the rooms have no view. The lobby has that classic 1930's feel with dark wood, high ceilings and classics photos. The hotel is rumored to be haunted and I will just say the rooms aren't comforting. The hotel is old. There isn't any other way to say it. The rooms are very small and have a distinct musty smell. The bathroom is small and the tile floors look worn and dirty. The bed was ok, but the pillows were lumpy. The closet is extremely small. The safe does not fit your average size laptop. The shops and restaurants are nice, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. The AC is over the door and Is very loud. All night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDCNECSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

It is truly disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met. Someone from our management team is always available should any concerns arise and it is disheartening to know that we were not given that opportunity to provide you with a better experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. We are always grateful for the feedback we receive, however, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,397 reviews
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $299 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing