We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of garbage cans -hardly luxury” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
1 review
“View of garbage cans -hardly luxury”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We wanted a last minute get away and booked a room at the Claremont. We had stayed before and loved it! This time we were very disappointed. Our room had a view of the garbage bins and we had to listen to garbage being rolled to the dumpsters the entire night. (Photo will be attached). We called to the front desk and they told us, "we are sold out, there is nothing we can do". They made it clear that since we had booked it online on a travel site, this was why we were receiving a subpar experience. This felt like a motel 6, not a luxury hotel & spa worth the $350.00 dollar rate. Even the clock radio was out of the 70s. The room was large but the furniture was old and dated. It was not dated in a classic way, but more a thrift store way.

The bed had stiff sheets and the comforter was so old and thin there were no feathers left in it.

I would not recommend this hotel to online shoppers especially since clearly the hotel gives the subpar garbage bin view rooms to online travel site booking guests.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaSunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a treat to stay at the Claremont! A big, beautiful room with a view of SF, delicious food from the Paragon, the spa hot tub & showers & poolside service! Couldn't ask for a better weekend! Sandie, the concierge, made great dinner reservations for us and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. What attention to detail! Can't wait to plan our next girls trip there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdawson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a better review! A girls’ getaway trip can be such an exciting time and we are thrilled that you chose The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa for your getaway. We love to go, as you put it, above and beyond for our guests to ensure a great stay is had by all. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very positive experience. Shabnam...(I am sorry if I spelled wrong) at the front desk is FANTASTIC! Excellent customer service skills and fantastic with helping us get something special for our special occassion.I think she was instrumental in making our stay so fantastic. She is personable, reliable and willing to go the extra mile for the customers. She should be a head manager at this hotel because of how wonderful she is! If a Claremont Manager is reading this review...that girl needs a promotion and raise!!!

I originally spoke with Makevia (spelled wrong I am sure..sorry) who is also at the front desk, and she too had excellent customer servcie skills and was very willing to help. We checked in had a gorgeous room over looking the bay and San Francisco. We had a wonderful time at the pool and enjoyed walking the property. The spa was nice to relax and enjoy some pampering. I suggest you purchase Spafinder coupons from Costco to save yourself some money. The Claremont Spa accepts Spafinder coupons which will help cover the costly spa treatments. (Tip...you can use spafinder coupons for gratuity too)

Also, hotel guests received 3 hours of complimentary kid care. While I did not use this service...it is an added bonus for parents wanting some childless r&r.

Room Tip: I would suggest Bay View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimimcmillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We love to help create special memories for our guests! Thank you for sharing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa as well as your appreciation for so much that makes our resort unique. From your enjoyment of the beauty of our grand hotel to our pampering spa treatments and more, we are thrilled to have made your weekend so special. What really stands out is your mention of our associates and the service they provided to you. We all thoroughly enjoy creating special memories for our guests and will be sure to let everyone here know how much you have valued their efforts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Perhaps I'm wrong, but the Claremont hotel is probably the best kept secret in California. My family loves this hotel, which feels like something out of the "Somewhere in Time" era. Just driving up to the hotel, you know it's special. Not only does it have a classic era look, but once inside you realize that it is a hotel on the level of all the great hotels in California from the Del Coronado in San Diego, and the Fairmont Hotel is SF.

The rooms are extremely comfortable, the help is extremely friendly and the food is very good (although the weekend brunch is expensive -- we usually take a short walk through the hotel grounds and go to a quaint restaurant next to the hotel grounds called Rick & Ann's (another hidden jewel).

From the bar in the Claremont you can see the entire SF bay area. One of the best views you can get in the entire bay area.

One of the things we really enjoy at this hotel, is it's a true resort with a very nice fitness center, pool, tennis courts, and fitness classes that are included for free in the resort fee.

If you're staying in the Berkeley area, or entire east bay area, there is just no comparison to other hotels. If you're staying in the SF Bay Area in general, there are more famous hotels, fancier hotels, but the Claremont really has no equal in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us. We are truly honored and humbled by your glowing review and love knowing that you can find no equal comparison! How wonderful that your time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is such a special time for you and your family. Reading your review brought us a great amount of joy as we learned of your appreciation not only for our hotel but also for all of the amazing activities and amenities we offer from our pool, fitness center, tennis courts and more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that we can do it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not only was our room huge and beautiful the view was fabulous. I have never had a better view!
I highly recommend the consierge Sandie. She was very informative and so helpful and friendly. Sandie made our stay a wonderful experience.
I normally love my spa experience but this time I felt a little put out by the staff in the Claremont Spa. I felt like I was an annoyance rather than a valued customer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback about your stay with us! We are overwhelmed by your glowing review! Views from our property are truly quite a treat and knowing that you have, as you put it, never had a better view is just wonderful! It truly delights us to know that some of our associates were able to create a positive experience for you but we do regret if you were not as pleased with your spa experience and will be sure to share your comments with everyone. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! The grounds and rooms are beautiful. Sandie at the concierge desk was helpful with everything. She really went out of her way to make out stay a memorable one. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arivera81livermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We think your review is outstanding! Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. All of our associates love providing the very best in service to our cherished guests and we will be sure to share your glowing comments with everyone. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I had a spectacular experience at The Claremont. We had taken advantage of a AAA offer for halfpriced rooms (although admitedly, half price was still pricey) but we were not disappointed. We had a deluxe room that overlooked San Francisco, the Bay, and the Golden Gate.

The Paragon was great for lunch and afternoon cocktails. The Meritage was fabulous for dinner! Service was outstanding - the receptionists were very knowledgeable and quickly checked us in and we met Tillman who was not only polite, but very helpful in settling us in our room - thx.

The only thing that would have made this more perfect was if we had brought our swimsuits and tennis rackets - we didn't think to bring a swimsuit so we could take advantage of the pool and hot tub - we didn't think it would be warm enough in April - ha! It was in the mid to upper 60s and the weather was perfect. And the courts would have been a wonderful way to end our afternoons by playing a set or two.

We took a ride above The Claremont and into the UC Berkeley campus - what fantastic views from the top of the ridge above Berkeley!

Will we go back ago - yes indeed

Room Tip: Bring a suit, your workout clothes, and tennis rackets and take advantage of The Claremont's spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you chose to stay with us again at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Thank you for sharing details regarding your recent experience as well as so many of the amenities you enjoyed while here. Our fitness facilities are a favorite for many of our guests and we truly appreciate your high praise! If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, our associates are always ready to help. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#2 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing