We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a resort jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a resort jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Perhaps I'm wrong, but the Claremont hotel is probably the best kept secret in California. My family loves this hotel, which feels like something out of the "Somewhere in Time" era. Just driving up to the hotel, you know it's special. Not only does it have a classic era look, but once inside you realize that it is a hotel on the level of all the great hotels in California from the Del Coronado in San Diego, and the Fairmont Hotel is SF.

The rooms are extremely comfortable, the help is extremely friendly and the food is very good (although the weekend brunch is expensive -- we usually take a short walk through the hotel grounds and go to a quaint restaurant next to the hotel grounds called Rick & Ann's (another hidden jewel).

From the bar in the Claremont you can see the entire SF bay area. One of the best views you can get in the entire bay area.

One of the things we really enjoy at this hotel, is it's a true resort with a very nice fitness center, pool, tennis courts, and fitness classes that are included for free in the resort fee.

If you're staying in the Berkeley area, or entire east bay area, there is just no comparison to other hotels. If you're staying in the SF Bay Area in general, there are more famous hotels, fancier hotels, but the Claremont really has no equal in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us. We are truly honored and humbled by your glowing review and love knowing that you can find no equal comparison! How wonderful that your time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is such a special time for you and your family. Reading your review brought us a great amount of joy as we learned of your appreciation not only for our hotel but also for all of the amazing activities and amenities we offer from our pool, fitness center, tennis courts and more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that we can do it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    325
    174
    118
    103
See reviews for
296
362
85
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not only was our room huge and beautiful the view was fabulous. I have never had a better view!
I highly recommend the consierge Sandie. She was very informative and so helpful and friendly. Sandie made our stay a wonderful experience.
I normally love my spa experience but this time I felt a little put out by the staff in the Claremont Spa. I felt like I was an annoyance rather than a valued customer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback about your stay with us! We are overwhelmed by your glowing review! Views from our property are truly quite a treat and knowing that you have, as you put it, never had a better view is just wonderful! It truly delights us to know that some of our associates were able to create a positive experience for you but we do regret if you were not as pleased with your spa experience and will be sure to share your comments with everyone. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! The grounds and rooms are beautiful. Sandie at the concierge desk was helpful with everything. She really went out of her way to make out stay a memorable one. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arivera81livermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We think your review is outstanding! Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. All of our associates love providing the very best in service to our cherished guests and we will be sure to share your glowing comments with everyone. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I had a spectacular experience at The Claremont. We had taken advantage of a AAA offer for halfpriced rooms (although admitedly, half price was still pricey) but we were not disappointed. We had a deluxe room that overlooked San Francisco, the Bay, and the Golden Gate.

The Paragon was great for lunch and afternoon cocktails. The Meritage was fabulous for dinner! Service was outstanding - the receptionists were very knowledgeable and quickly checked us in and we met Tillman who was not only polite, but very helpful in settling us in our room - thx.

The only thing that would have made this more perfect was if we had brought our swimsuits and tennis rackets - we didn't think to bring a swimsuit so we could take advantage of the pool and hot tub - we didn't think it would be warm enough in April - ha! It was in the mid to upper 60s and the weather was perfect. And the courts would have been a wonderful way to end our afternoons by playing a set or two.

We took a ride above The Claremont and into the UC Berkeley campus - what fantastic views from the top of the ridge above Berkeley!

Will we go back ago - yes indeed

Room Tip: Bring a suit, your workout clothes, and tennis rackets and take advantage of The Claremont's spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you chose to stay with us again at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Thank you for sharing details regarding your recent experience as well as so many of the amenities you enjoyed while here. Our fitness facilities are a favorite for many of our guests and we truly appreciate your high praise! If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, our associates are always ready to help. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girlfriend received a gift certificate for a stay at the Claremont and decided to use her certificate while I was visiting her out in the Bay Area. We had been looking forward to being pampered and good girlfriend catch up time. Our experience was disappointing to say the least.
The person at reception was rude, our room was not ready, and there was no availability at the spa. We were instructed to come back later. We went to their restaurant for a bite to eat.
After eating we decided to visit the spa just to see the facilities - they offered to take us right in on the spot - much different from what the front desk offered.
The spa was very worn and felt...not perfectly clean. My robe was in tatters and everything just felt unkempt.
When we returned to check in we were again greeted rudely and told our room still was not ready - we would have to wait. We waited in a long check in line again, and this time another person called and found that in fact our room was ready for us.
Super long distance to the room. Large room. Not a stellar view - some rooms would have a wonderful view of the bay - just not ours. Stained carpet. My friend call the front desk to request a room change - but of course - no other room available.
At this point we were resigned to having a less than perfect experience.
We had a room with two queens - I slept well, my friend did not.
Bottom line - I would not return nor would I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It is always our desire for guests to depart from our hotel with a positive impression, as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for all who visit. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if your spa experience was not all you had hoped it would be. While it is not clear as to the circumstances surrounding the delay in your check in, we truly regret that you were inconvenienced. We encourage everyone who stays with us to let us know how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain share your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, cal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yolanda Smith is excellent masseuse! I receive an annual gift certificate for the spa and usually book room overnight after spa massage. For the past couple of years, I've been fortunate to have appointment with Yolanda Smith. She provides excellent customer service and works out the kinks as I suffer from sciatica. I recommend her highly.

As for the hotel, I probably will not reserve a room again as there was many hours delay between massage and getting my room which was not as reserved - reserved room with bay view receieved view of HVAC housing! Additionally, bathroom had smallest shower which meant unable to use bubble bath gift left for me in room?! Mind you, the hotel did provide my meal gratis and offered me another spa treatment upon my calling front desk to complain. I took the meal but didn't want to/couldn't stay next day and the moment for celebration was already a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaA709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We're so happy that your spa visits to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa have provided you with such a healing experience! Our knowledgeable therapists provide the very best care for all guests and we will share your kind words with everyone here, particularly the associates you mention by name! We must apologize however, if you experienced any delay in accessing your guestroom or if your accommodations were not all that you hoped they would be. Please know that every room is completely unique and we would hope to welcome you back again to stay that would make you most comfortable. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for our daughters visit to Berkely. They have a special rate for college visits which made the stay very affordable. Very convenient to the school. I'm very active and loved all of the access to trails, spinning classes, pools (with coached masters swim club), weights, etc.

Rooms were very small but clean and well maintained. Breakfast was way too expensive but had an absolutely georgeous view of the SF bay. There are quite a few great restaurants and bakeries within 1-3 miles so we went exploring for most meals and always found something good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Located within walking distance of UC Berkeley, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly offers the perfect accommodations when visiting the area. Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for our hotel. There are so many great ways to stay active at our Club with swimming, tennis, group fitness classes and even a Kid’s Club for our younger guests! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing