We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spa resort for an active stay, and super convenient for visiting Cal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great spa resort for an active stay, and super convenient for visiting Cal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for our daughters visit to Berkely. They have a special rate for college visits which made the stay very affordable. Very convenient to the school. I'm very active and loved all of the access to trails, spinning classes, pools (with coached masters swim club), weights, etc.

Rooms were very small but clean and well maintained. Breakfast was way too expensive but had an absolutely georgeous view of the SF bay. There are quite a few great restaurants and bakeries within 1-3 miles so we went exploring for most meals and always found something good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Located within walking distance of UC Berkeley, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly offers the perfect accommodations when visiting the area. Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for our hotel. There are so many great ways to stay active at our Club with swimming, tennis, group fitness classes and even a Kid’s Club for our younger guests! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    349
    192
    127
    109
See reviews for
353
402
93
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

While staff was very nice, and overall facility was well maintained (considering its old age), the room was disappointing. It was pretty small with small/short beds, drafty windows, etc. It was equipped below expected standard. The smell of the corridor & room was musty and of some presence of mildew or other, unpleasing odor. In addition to the pricey basic rate, we were charged daily an extra $25 for "services"...
This resort fits more a three star rating or less, definitely not four.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. While we are truly happy to know you appreciated the hospitality you received from our associates as well as the beauty of our historic property, please accept our apologies if you were disappointed with your guestroom in any way. Every room in our hotel is completely unique from the next, with something for every taste, just as all of our guests are one of a kind. Please know that your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates to ensure that everything is at its freshest for future stays. As you mentioned, we do charge a resort fee and with that our guests enjoy some of the very best amenities and services like complimentary Internet, 3 hours of complimentary childcare, access to our fitness center, Mind & Body Center, Spa and more. We hope to welcome you back so you have the opportunity to enjoy the type of experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

staff is friendly and helpful; we had forgotten umbrellas and they were at the ready on a rainy weekend; room was spacious and beds comfy; bathroom spacious as well; the exercise / health club facility is amazing; lap pool / play pool/ can sign up for fitness classes as well - my morning spin class was great. We ate breakfast at Meritage - food and service were exceptional

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! Sometimes the small things can make a big difference and we are glad to know you appreciated the umbrellas for your rainy getaway weekend. Our Club has something for everyone from a dip in our outdoor pools to calming yoga and more. We are grateful for your feedback and hope to see you again soon for another beautiful stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a grand old hotel on the outskirts of Berkeley. We enjoyed the atmosphere - made us feel we were really in a 19th century "spa" environment. Our room had a fantastic view of the bay and Golden Gate, and the grounds are lovely. Great outdoor pool. That said, I am not sure it is worth the price. Very expensive, and some irritating aspects. While our room rate included access to the spa and jacuzzi for a free 90 minutes a day, we were not told we had to pre-book this time. Times fill up quickly and we lost out on this perk. Spa treatments appeared expensive for what they included and the hotel is nowhere near central Berkeley (this could be plus or minus). The College Street business district is about a 10-15 minute walk and there is no (free) transport offered by the hotel. Breakfast offerings were a little disappointing and expensive, though my husband had a lovely spinach and poached egg on polenta. Not sure we would stay here again ...

Helpful?
Thank krisztinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Set high in the hills of Berkeley, our hotel is truly a unique, historic gem and we are so glad you agree. We must apologize, however, if we were unable to accommodate your spa time. Our Spa is an amazing experience and can book up quite quickly but we regret any inconvenience. As you mentioned, we are minutes from the center of Berkeley, just outside of the hustle and bustle of town. We would love to welcome you back again to take advantage of all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Claremont reminds me of an old school hotel - the grand hotels of the past, because it is one of them. It is also an expensive private club that caters to the well-off in the area. I thought of the hotel in the movie The Shining when I first saw it, though without the scary bits.

Check in was fast and easy and handled by a friendly clerk. Off to the room in one of 3 tiny elevators and I was walking down a long hallway to my room. The decor is fancy, somewhat Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco style, and you can tell that the hotel's bones are old given the plaster walls and inherent issues with an old building. However, all seemed to be in great repair.

My room had no view, except of the HVAC exchanges and the hills, but I wasn't spending my time there for the view. The room was average in size, plaster walls with a few scuffs here and there but nothing to indicate poor upkeep or maintenance. A king size bed was centered in the room. A small alcove had a chair, tiny table, and a desk upon which the basket honor bar rested. A large flat screen TV sat atop a dresser to the side. My package included parking (the lots to the hotel are gated), internet (I think, can't recall for sure), and the recreation fee that would otherwise add another $25 to the daily room rate for access to the gym, pools, etc.

The bathroom had no windows but plenty of light streamed in via an opaque skylight. That was a nice touch. The shower stall was an enclosed one, and poor ventilation was apparent for there were mildew stains in the grout on the shower ceiling and in other parts of the stall, including black mildew at the door latch. The rest of the bathroom was nice with the exception of a commercial-looking toilet that was adjacent to the door (vs. being placed back away from the door). The toilet placement = easy noise intrusion into the bedroom when being used = awkward!

The hotel hosts many private events and no wonder, the feel and look of the place gives off an aura of a time past, which is not easily achieved unless you have the structure to go with it. The views from the balconies are beautiful and the resident restaurant serves modern California cuisine.

Overall the Claremont is wonderful property. Head over there to be pampered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSpinnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our property to be so grand. Our hotel certainly has a rich history with furnishings and architecture that pay tribute to an earlier time. We are elated that your recent stay reflects the type of experience we hope everyone will have with us but we must apologize if you encountered any issues with the bathroom in your guest accommodations. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates to ensure that everything is at its best for future stays. We would be happy to welcome you back again for another pampering visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Grandiose old hotel with tons of charm. The rooms are a bit old but definitely nice enough. It has a great view with a large patio. My room was near the elevator and quite loud. There is a great gym with included workout classes. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The "extras" are expensive ( parking, spa, gym) but overall it is a wonderful hotel and was an extremely pleasant stay. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and spans nearly 100 years of service. It always such a pleasure when a guest share their appreciation for our historic property. No two rooms are exactly alike, with something for every taste and preference, however we must apologize if sounds from outside your guestroom were of any disruption. Our resort fee includes some fantastic amenities like complimentary Internet, access to our pools, tennis courts as well as numerous health club and spa choices and more. Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a FANTASTIC step back in time - this hotel was built in the early 1900's - and still retains its status and charm - - yet updated with all the comforts that modern travelers expect - and then some (like allergen free rooms).

The property sits in the hills of Berkeley and is surrounded by muti-million dollar homes -

It has a Spa, several pools, tennis courts, but most important - relaxation.

Our room was top notch - we had a Bay View Room - which was quiet, large, and a view to die for... we turned off our room lights and sat (in overstuffed leather chairs) staring at the Bay Bridge and city skyline. During the day our view included Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Service was Excellent (although bar staff were a bit slow) - we were there on a Sunday night so the Meritage Restaurant was closed - but we ate breakfast there and it exceeded our expectations (I had the Red Flannel Hash - delicious - Poach Egg over Hash with Onions & Beets)

Even if you are a local - come spend some time here for the peace, quiet, history, and luxury.

Steve

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a Bay View Room - view is priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a better review, thank you! Everyone here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa strives to create just the type of experience you have shared here and we are all so glad to have exceeded your expectations. With historic charm and modern conveniences, our hotel offers the ideal Berkeley accommodations and your breakfast dining experience at Meritage sounds delicious! We would love to see you again for another fantastic stay and we hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing