We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything wonderful but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything wonderful but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Claremont, had massages in the spa, dinner in the hotel.

The massages were first rate although the amenities in the women's side may have been a bit sparse. The dinner at Meritage was very good. We would go back. Good food, great presentations, wonderful service.

The room was large, quiet, and equipped with ADA bath. However, the Club Rooms, as they are called, were so far from everything that my husband, who has difficulty walking long distances, was challenged. To get to the rooms, you take an elevator from the lobby to the spa. You get off that elevator and walk the length of the hotel to another elevator and take it up to the floor where your room is. Then you walk the length of the hotel again to actually get to the room. The room was large, the bathroom quite large. If they offer you club rooms, ask what else is available if you have an issue walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Everyone here greatly enjoys taking care of our guests and creating the type of experience that inspires a return visit. We must apologize if your accommodations were inconvenient for you and your husband in any way. If there is anything you might need while you are staying with us, one of our associates is always happy to help. It’s great that you were able to enjoy a wonderful getaway and spa experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    349
    192
    127
    109
See reviews for
353
402
93
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this hotel for a college visit trip with my daughter. The hotel is beautuful and very grand. The room we had was lovely and spacious. Beds very comfortable with nice linens. The workout facilities and steam room, Shauna and pool were fabulous. Did not eat in any of the hotel restaurants. Next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melinnewberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Touring colleges can be such an exciting time! Thank you for sharing your impressions of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We couldn’t be happier to learn that you enjoyed your stay from the comfort of your spacious guestroom all the way to our fitness facilities. Next time you visit, you certainly must try dining with us, as you mentioned! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've eaten at the top restaurants in New York and London.Meritage has a new chef and is much nicer than most of the reviews suggest. It's not Michelin star ready, but not much below that. We were well pleased. Also, the wine list was good and not over-priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view not obscured by the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
There is something so special about enjoying an excellent dining experience and we are thrilled to have provided you with that here at the Meritage. Thank you so much for providing your feedback about your time at The Claremont Hotel Club &Spa, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just had a weekend getaway and stayed at this hotel for one night. We were not disappointed. The hotel/resort itself is a historical landmark of Oakland Hills (right next to Berkeley) and if you search it on wikipedia, you will even find an entry for this hotel. The lobby and the ground was absolutely beautiful, we almost felt that we were back to Ritz Carlton in Hawaii! The staffs were friendly and helpful. Initially we were given room #247 (no view and small room). However, after we entered the room and opened the mini-fridge, we found some mold in it. We called the front desk and they immediately switched us to another room (#430), which is bigger and has partial SF Bay view (but NO mini-fridge). As this is a old hotel and has a lot of irregular shaped rooms, first thing that we learned is that NOT all rooms are created equal... this means that there are a lot of variations in terms of the room(s) that you might get.

We then used their swimming pool(s) and were really impressed with the pools. First of all, there were TWO big lap pools with a small kid's pool area and a small kid's playing area (water coming out from the ground, etc.). As it's winter, so not many children was playing at the playing area (I could imagine that it would be perfect for young children during summer time though). One of the lap pool was relatively colder (although still heated in some way, I think maybe around 75 degrees. Depth is from 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 feet). The other bigger pool has a small children's pool connecting to the 2nd lap pool, which is a very nice setting. The depth of the pool is from 3 1/2 to 17(?) feet. This pool is also MUCH warmer (like 88F I think). It's really nice for family trip.

There is also a outdoor whirlpool (jacuzzi) and TWO more indoor jacuzzi (one for ladies and one for gentlemen) downstairs. Right next to these two jacuzzi there were sauna rooms. They even provide free coffees and there are regular "club" members using their fitness center and pools, so it's a bit crowded. There are also 10 tennis courts, but we didn't get a chance to use them.

Overall we were happy with our stay. Some things to recommend:

1. We were a bit surprised with the $25 resort fee (including Wi-Fi and club fee) AND $25 parking fee. So on top of what we already paid, we have to pay $50 more just for staying one night. Usually for most resort hotels they would just charge $25 resort fee, which also include parking. So I think that extra $50 is a bit overpriced.

2. The room decor is a bit outdated and does not match with the grand and luxurious feeling of the main lobby. I would recommend hiring a really good interior designer and try to redesign the guest rooms. Just my 2 cents.

3. Some of the rooms with two beds are only equipped with two full-sized beds, and NOT two queen-sized beds. Most of the hotels at this class would normally have two queen-sized beds.

4. Some shallow area in the swimming pool might need some repair and renovation, the bottom of the pool seems to need some TLC. Family with young children might want to watch out to prevent getting a cut in the pool.

Room Tip: NOT ALL ROOMS ARE CREATED EQUAL. Room 430 has a bigger room with two (full-sized) bed and a partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whchuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for providing such a detailed account of your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We love to hear from our guests, both to know what they have enjoyed, as well as what areas might need our attention. A dip in our heated outdoor pools can be such a treat and our fitness facilities offer some amazing classes. Part of the charm of our historic hotel is the uniqueness of our accommodations, with no two exactly alike, just as no two guests are the same! Please do know that refrigerators are available in all guestrooms upon request. As you mentioned, we do charge a facilities fee that covers a magnitude of amazing activities and amenities for all of our guests to enjoy including wireless Internet service, use of our 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness classes, child care and more. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again so that you can take advantage of even more that we have offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had a great time on a getaway with my husband. It was beautiful and very pleased. Staff at the front desk were wonderful. The room was very clean and the room was spacious. We would definitely stay here again. We have decided this will be our getaway spot from now on. Ate at the Paragon. The food was great, but the service was slow and not the best. Would eat there again just for the mac and cheese. I know that sounds weird, but it was the best mac and cheese we ever had. It came as a side dish. Love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We think your review is wonderful! To learn that you and your husband have decided to make The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa your getaway spot from now on is such a lovely compliment. Macaroni and cheese is always a favorite comfort food dish for so many of our guests, although we must apologize if you experienced any delay in service while dining. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again and hope it’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Claremont came highly recommended by a few of my associates so I decided to give it a try as I had a business meeting on the bay side and was bringing my wife. The hotel was beautiful, as were the grounds. Our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable, but was nothing extraordinary. We found the service to be very good and their upscale restaurant, Meritage, to be outstanding. We never did make use of the amenities so I can't comment on the spa or gym. We also enjoyed the short walk down the hill to have breakfast at a small popular spot at which the locals all eat. All in all, the Claremont is worth the visit and my wife and I are planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded bay-view room, preferably one that is away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Set high in the hills of Berkeley, our destination is perfect for enjoying so much of what the area has to offer and we are so glad you agree. From your comfortable guestroom accommodations to your dinner at Meritage, it seems you enjoyed much of what we have to offer. Our associates truly love to leave every guest cared for and we will be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. We would love to welcome you and your wife back again for your next trip to the area, business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Checked in late last night. Was disappointed by the extremely limited late night menu as I had been traveling most of the day.

Place definitely needs updating-it just has a very dated feel. The air system is very noisy. Rooms definitely need to be soundproofed better. I was awoken at 4 AM by the people in the adjoining room next door. I could hear their entire conversation, bathroom activities, even them opening up a can of soda.

From the limited view that I could see when arriving late and in the dark-this first floor room has a lovely view of.....a roof. Not impressive at all and definitely so far not an establishment I would return to voluntarily.

The only positive thing I can say so far, is that the front desk check-in went smoothly despite the late hour and they were very polite. Also, room service was fairly quick-although as mentioned, the choices were limited to two items.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It is always our desire for guests to leave our hotel impressed at every turn as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests. While it is great to know you found our associates to be so polite, we were quite disappointed to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if any sound from outside your guestroom was of disturbance. We encourage everyone who stays with us to share how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing