We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best stay in Berkeley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best stay in Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

After trying many hotels in the East Bay, we've chosen the Claremont as as our top choice. We first tried the hotel over a year ago when our son moved to the area, and experienced a minor issue with the front desk. Hotel management quickly responded to an email and the situation was remedied. The manager said to let him know when we were in town next, so we did, and to our surprise and delight, we were upgraded to a suite during this stay. This was my husband's first stay and he commented how the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel decor is fitting the Grand Dame, albeit a bit dated (when refurbishing, they may want to follow the French model: the older the property, the more modern the interior). Bathrooms are well appointed and have good lighting for make-up which is always nice. All in all, a great stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nubusniesstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We love to be your top choice in the East Bay! Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your recent stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Providing the very best in hospitality and service is of utmost importance and we will be sure to share your review with all of our associates as it sure to make their day. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    342
    188
    127
    108
See reviews for
344
394
90
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the Claremont Hotel for business (at UC Berkeley) the other week - had an overall experience that exceeded the quality and hospitality I usually experience at Four Seasons, Mandarin, and Peninsula hotels. The room (suite) was large and comfortable and most importantly quiet with lots of room to spread out and work. The views are spectacular.

Having two restaurants to choose from, one very high quality and the other more spirited was a nice way to mix up dining by myself for a couple of days. Mostly ate at the Meritage bar where the bar tender, the bar manager, and restaurant manager all had the perfect hosting skills (e.g. when to come over and have a brief chat and when to leave me alone and let me get work or reading done). Food was consistently excellent, and a very creative drink list. What really made this hotel stand out was the staff, from a speedy check-in, to getting a car service in the morning, to small things I needed in the room, to ensuring I had a comfortable place to dine each evening.

The best illustration of a quality property is not just when things go right, but when they go wrong - in my case, the first room I checked into the heating system was broken. Within two minutes of calling to the front desk, a very friendly maintenance woman came to my room, quickly realized it was not going to be a quick fix, without me saying a word, she got my room switched (to a similar room) had the bellman come and move all my belongings and went ahead of me to the new room to make sure everything was perfect and to cap it off, the next day I got a call from the head of maintenance and the GM making sure everything was o.k... That's the hallmark of a well run property!

As with any good review, there always has to be a downside - here's my one and only: Plugs in the bedroom (for my phone and iPad) were inaccessible.

Was a great business stay, and by the looks of the spa, gym, and rest of the property would be an even better place to stay for leisure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
What a lovely and detailed review, thank you! Whether a stay is for business or pleasure, it is our greatest hope that all of our guests enjoy their time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. As you mentioned, our restaurants offer two unique dining experiences from casual and relaxed to upscale and refined. Our associates love to provide the very best in service and it is great to know that you appreciated their quick response to the issues you experienced with your initial guestroom. We will be sure to share your kind words with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another excellent stay and we hope that you have the opportunity to enjoy even more that we have to offer the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions for work but this was the first time I went for pleasure and tried out the Paragon Bar and Grill for our anniversary. We walked in and asked for a table and the hostess told us to sit anywhere we liked so we picked out a nice table were we both could watch the sunset. We were immediately told bluntly that this area was closed until dinner at 5:30 for dinner. Not knowing what time it was we moved to another table where we were told the same thing by a different waiter but she realized it was 5:25PM and took our order. I thought this was being very petty so we ordered and waited a very long time for our dinner to arrive (I did notice a Chef talking in the bar for awhile after we had ordered) and the tacos I ordered were very small and not worth the $12 they cost considering it came with nothing else. My wife ordered a hamburger which was good but my tacos were not at all. Overall I love the hotel and the check in clerk and the perks but the Paragon left a bad taste (literally and figuratively) to the whole stay and we were made to feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. Patrick

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Whether a guest stays the night or visits to enjoy a meal at one of our restaurants, it is always our goal that everyone enjoys the best possible experience. While it is great to know you have appreciated staying with us for business, it is truly regrettable that your anniversary dining was not what we you had hoped for and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. All of our associates desire to create a memorable experience for all and we are disappointed that was not the case for your most recent visit. Your comments will be shared with everyone here as we are continuously working to improve our guests’ experiences. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I were here for a family event, and wanted to give my 89 year old father-in-law and his wife a special couple of days. The Claremont was the perfect choice. It is grand in the old style, but the friendly and attentive staff make it decidedly NOT stuffy. Starting with the friendly reception staffer, who pointed out that they had given my father-in-law a GREAT view room (and it was spectacular - he loved it!), the very helpful and patient porter (thanks Michael!), and the attentive service in the hotel restaurant Meritage that made our dinner there feel incredibly special (special thanks to the manager Frederic and his staff - had a nice chat with him before my father-in-law and his wife came down, and it was clear how focused they are on making guests happy), it was a wonderful treat for all. It was our first time at the Claremont - I doubt that it will be our last.

PRACTICAL TIPS: it is worth the extra dollars for a bay view room - the site and quality of the panoramic view is spectacular. Also, when getting here, my Google Maps got it wrong and did not account for the many blocked off and dead-end streets in Berkeley. I should have ignored my Google Maps and paid closer attention to the directions on the hotel web-site.

Room Tip: Go for the Bay view, even if it is a bit more. Last night our evening entertainment was watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouver-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great experience enjoying such a truly special family getaway at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, thank you for sharing your story. Providing our guests with incomparable service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your stay was such a memorable time. From gorgeous views of San Francisco bay to spectacular dining, sometimes the culmination of all of the small touches make an experience that much more exceptional. We hope you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a grand old hotel with a 40/50's feeling and decor. It is a large hotel and is a popular conference facility so it can be crowded. The rooms are comfortable but could do with a bit of modernising. The spa and sport facilities are really good with really helpful staff and coaches.

The hotel is NOT close to any shops other than some local cafes. Without a car you really are stuck and if you need a cab to the airport insist on a metered cab which is a lot cheaper than the limo service used by the hotel. $70 versus $108.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room so you can enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Our historic hotel is unique in that no two guestrooms are exactly the same with all of the exclusive charm you can expect from, as you called it, a grand old property. We are thrilled you enjoyed use of our Spa and Club, both offering so much from the very best in relaxing spa treatments and therapies to fun group fitness classes and more. Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Claremont Hotel the room were old and classic in the castle. The live music in the bar as you walk in was good. One suggestion check out policies because the front desk seems unsure how the hotel returns lost items when found. Pleasant to eat and drinks were very expensive for the taste.Too expensive to shop there better fine other places in the area.

Room Tip: Check out polices the staff is unsure. Talk with someone in charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybird265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club &Spa, being likened to a castle is a lovely description! Built in the early days of the Gold Rush, our hotel is rich with historic significance while maintaining the comfort and amenities of a modern hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and will be sure to share them with our Management Team and would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay here when visiting our children and grandchildren. The pool area is great for them to getaway, we use the tennis club and health club.

There are always a number of specials available to add value to your stay.

If you want a view, you will pay a premium. The bar has a deck with a view and good food

Room Tip: The hillside rooms usually face the ugly a/c units. Ask for bay view , but be prepared to pay a $50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammark60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Located high in the hills of Berkeley overlooking the scenic San Francisco Bay, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa provides the perfect destination for family getaways and we love reading that you all enjoyed such a lovely time when visiting us. From our sparkling outdoor pools to tennis courts, fitness facilities, Kids Camp and more, it is great to know you make such good use of our services and amenities. As you mentioned, we offer a variety of packages to provide a more affordable stay for all of our guests. Thank you for providing feedback of your most recent experience, we look forward to welcoming you, your children and your grandchildren for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing