We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop Dead Gorgeous Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Drop Dead Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This grand old hotel has all the class and charm one would expect. Even though I had booked a more modest room, upon arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade to a bay view room. (Just google "room 254 at the Claremont" to see the view on flickr.com). The staff was great and my room was superb. If the on-site dining prices had been a bit more modest, I would have given the Claremont 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus-Atwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
An unexpected upgrade can be such a treat! Thank you for providing feed back of your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our associates truly love to provide the best in hospitality to our guests and we will be sure to share your kind words. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    369
    202
    131
    116
See reviews for
379
431
99
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Claremont seethes with history and beauty. Everything at this hotel is immaculate: Food and service at the restaurants, the spa staff and facilities, the rooms and housekeeping services, and especially Sandie, the concierge. Everyone made a special weekend that much more special :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We love to help create special memories for our guests! Thank you for sharing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa as well as your appreciation for so much that makes our resort so unique. From your enjoyment of the history of our grand hotel to your dining experience, spa treatments and more, we are thrilled to have made your weekend so special. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visit this hotel a couple times a year as we visit with family in the area. My husband has been coming here for over 60 years. The property is gorgeous and everything is on a grand scale. Be prepared as this is far from a budget experience . Parking is $25, amenity charge $25, room service egg is $15. The amenity fee does get you into the spa to enjoy the whirlpool, steam room and showers. However, you are required to "book" your visit. This is where my troubles began during my last visit. I called a week ahead of time to reserve my visit. I went to the Spa the morning of my visit about two hours early to confirm reservation. There was no record of my phone call. So the lady at the counter entered my name into the system. Two hours later I returned only to be told there was no record of my reservation! I found the lady whom I met earlier and asked for help. After a 10 minute back and forth dialog I was finally allowed in. Terrible customer relations for something I could not opt of on my bill. I steamed off my steam and felt better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view. On a fog free day you will be treated to a great view of San Francisco with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It is such an honor to hear from our guests who have stayed with us so many times! Thank you for sharing your feedback and appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club &Spa. As you mentioned, we do charge facilities charges and with that, guests can enjoy a vast array of amazing activities and amenities including wireless Internet service, use of our 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center and more. With many of our packages including both parking and facilities charges, we hope to provide a more affordable stay for all of our guests. While we are glad to know you enjoyed your overall experience, please accept our apologies for any confusion in reserving your spa services. We will be sure to use your feedback to strengthen our communication on every level. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I got a deal through one of the many deal programs available for this hotel so we only stayed one night but I would definatly go back! The hotel is counting down to its 100th birthday, built in 1915. The hotel is grand and truely something to see. The on site restaurants serve great food with fantastic views of San Francisco and the Golden Gate bridge. The hotel rooms are large considering the age of the place. The bed and linens are first class and the private bathroom was small but very nice. From the rooms on the front of the hotel you can see the city and the Golden Gate. Very nice place that I hope to return to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front side of the hotel for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly does have a rich past spanning, as you mentioned, close to 100 years and our incredible history continues to grow with each guest’s experiences. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experience while staying with us. The views from our property offer some of the best of the San Francisco bay! Your recent stay reflects the type of experience we hope everyone will have when staying with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is still an elegant, historic spot. The public spaces are immaculately maintained, big spaces with wide corridors and interesting historic black-and-white photos throughout. The rooms are very comfortable, but suffer some of the problems that are often seen with retrofitted older properties: few outlets, odd room configurations, and creative uses of space. This trip was just an over-nighter for me, so I didn’t get to use the spa and lap pool – the primary reasons I usually stay at the Clairmont. I think the management might be tightening the belt a little, and that detracts from the atmosphere that would otherwise make it extremely high-end. The bar was already closing at 10pm, and after arriving at 10:20, we were basically run out of the bar at 11:45. Room service was unavailable for anything, including cold food, after 11pm, and the restaurant stopped serving food at 10pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erdocmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is truly one of the greatest California landmarks high in the hills of Berkeley and offers all of the charm and historical significance of years gone by coupled with luxury and convenience. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your most recent visit. While we are glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay, we must apologize if you were inconvenienced in anyway by the hours of our restaurant, bar and in room dining options. Your opinions are extremely important to us and we will be sure to share your comments with our management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We live in the Oakland Hills and frequently have dinner/drinks at the Paragon (Claremont Hotel restaurant) as we love the view of the bay from there and the sunset especially. My husband and I thought we'd do a romantic getaway here and we didn't have a great experience. Our hotel room had the beautiful view of the bay, but besides that it was run down. Also we did not feel as if the service was very good poolside, or in our room. We were also disappointed to find out that thought use of the spa was part of our room package, the spa hours were very limited so we missed it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We love to read that you have enjoyed dining with us so often and we agree, the sunset views are certainly something that should not be missed! However, it is truly disappointing to learn that you did not have the same positive experience while staying the night and if you experienced any confusion over our spa hours. Please know that we all believe that providing the very best in service is of utmost importance and we will be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. We hope to welcome you back again soon and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our Suite and our connecting room for our daughters and the View and the amenities was unbelievable. So many things for the children to do and adults alike. The Parties were incredible! And the most important thing of our stay is that it did not break the Bank!! Service and Staff were incredible - It was like staying at a 6 Star Hotel.....

Fred N.

Room Tip: Room 410 has a great view of the Bay and a Dinning Room table that sits 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddymac564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are thrilled to have been a part of your family’s holiday experience, thank you for sharing your glowing review! As you mentioned, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa has so many incredible activities and things to for everyone in the family and it’s great to know you all enjoyed it so much. Our associates will love to know you found them to be, as you put it, incredible and we will be sure to share your comments with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,282 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing