We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate in luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Enjoyed a suite at this historic luxurious hotel. Large rooms, wonderful view overlooking the whole bay area, excellent food & service. Flat screen t.v., wireless internet, everything was 1st class. Huge work out area filled with all kinds of exercise equipment, heated pool. Walking distance of university district of Berkley. Great nite club with live band. Pricey.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertKestenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We think your review is first class! Did you know The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa was originally built in the early days of the gold rush as a private residence? From your spacious suite and spectacular views, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Club features not only state of the art exercise equipment and heated pools but also fitness classes, tennis and more. Thank you for your feedback, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

ok so i'm little bit on the fence with this one nice hotel & staff but the rooms are kind of dated with dingy lamps but i can tell that they really are trying to give that luxury experience god bless there heart a little more cash needs to be spent in the updating & mending of broken & ripped items.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasham648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your viewpoint and appreciation for our Berkeley hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with did not meet your expectations on every level. Our guests' needs and comfort are our top priority and we appreciate that you have brought your experience to our attention. It is our hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were a walk-in couple looking to take advantage or an extended weekend vacation by receiving a good package rate at this beautiful hotel. Our Check-In rep Corynn was extremely friendly, helpful and got our visit to the Claremont off to a fantastic start! The facilities all were great and the staff is professional and friendly from start to finish with help leaving the hotel. Great people!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We think we have great guests! There is nothing we like to hear more than how much our guests enjoy their time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions as well as your compliments to our associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love old hotels and this one did not disappoint. The staff in particular were helpful, friendly, and acted promptly whenever I had a request. The pool in particular was a special bonus, and I would recommend this hotel especially to anyone who likes to swim for fitness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 380ElizabethM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is closing in on our 100th anniversary soon, filled with so many years of amazing history and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our associates will love to hear that you enjoyed their service and we will be sure to share your feedback with everyone. Thank you so much for your review and recommendations, we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Almost every year my Italian husband and I spend a few days at the Claremont when he arrives at SFO from Italy. C. is one of the most fascinating and elegant hotels in the world. It is in a unique position facing San Francisco and has a strong personality and style. However, this year (at the beginning of August) we have noticed that the place looks a bit ragged for the wear and we feel the many cutbacks in services and amenities even with the rising prices (even with the constant construction noise) We hope to see the old standard return where we can de-stress and regenerate in a calming atmosphere as we have done for so many years (we already wrote an opinion from one of our previous vacations that was enthusiastic, we still love the Claremont).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISALITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Rising high in the hills of Berkeley, our hotel does offer quite a view and we are so glad you've enjoyed it. Did you know that The Claremont was originally built as a castle in the early days of the gold rush? We must apologize, however, if your recent stay was disrupted in any way by construction noise from outside of our hotel. Your annual visit with us must continue, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've stayed at the Claremont twice in the last two years and both stays have been great. From the wonderful restaurant to the incredible spa, the fantastic staff and the views of San Francisco and the Golden Gate bridge from our room, everything has been delightful. The public areas and rooms are quite spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The club exercise and swim facilities are perfect. We've tried six different hotels in the Berkeley and Emeryville area and the Claremont is our clear favorite. I do wish the Meritage restaurant was open on Sunday and Monday evenings as the Paragon dance bar menu is quite limited. But there are other good options nearby on College or Claremont.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Penguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We love being your favorite hotel in Berkeley! Thank you for the wonderful review, it is always great to learn about what our guests enjoy while staying with us. From your account of the views, your accommodations and our grounds, it seems as if you enjoyed it all and for that we are truly appreciative. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'll start with the good. The grounds are beautiful.........I guess that's it. We arrived at prime check in time, 5pm and there was no service. No one at the gate to direct us. We couldn't tell where the main entrance was exactly and there were no bell hops or vallet to be seen. Another guest in the parking lot pointed us in the right direction and had to park ourselves and walk up the hill. My wife and I needed a night away and live near the Bay Area so we got a one night stay at the Claremont through Priceline. I don't know if it was because we booked on priceline at a discount or what but we were put on the bottom floor on the backside of the hotel with a wonderful view of garbage dumpsters and construction. We stayed on a Tuesday night and it was pretty dead. Only a few business people in the lobby and restaraunts so I find it hard to believe the crappiest room in the joint was all that was left. I say 'discount' loosely because when you show up they immediately charge you another $54 dollars for parking and 'resort fees'. That would have been ok if we could have gotten a good night sleep. Other posts on here are dead on, you can hear absolutely everything outside your room. Starting at 5am there was constant noise in the hallway from employees. The room must have been next to a service elevator or employee closet because there was constant door slamming and cart noise from the hallway. Construction noise of drills, hammers and saws was constant. We were to checkout at 12:00 and at 8am housekeeping was knocking on the door wanting to clean the room. At 9am someone knocked on the door to see if we needed the room stocked with drinks, food, etc. As I write this I think our stay would have been enjoyeable if our room wasn't where it was. We still would not go back. If you're going to spend that kind of $ in the Bay stay in the city at an upscale chain and be close to everything and know what you're getting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We couldn't be more disappointed than learning of your experience while staying with us, as all of our guests are truly important to us. Our fees are outlined on our website but we apologize if there was any lack of clarity. Some of our many resort amenities include 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center, yoga studio, Spa and a Kid's Club day camp for guests to enjoy. We do have several packages that include various facility and parking charges to provide a reasonable alternative. Someone from our team is always available to discuss your concerns and I regret that we were not able to provide you with a more positive stay. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,376 reviews
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $233 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing