We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveler rating
309
289
158
68
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
309
289
158
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel durant telegraph avenue corner room old building front desk staff football game restaurant bar campus bong lobby parking collegiate lamps poster renovation greek school
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 870 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2019

We had a pretty nice 2-night stay at The Graduate. It's incredibly close to UC Berkeley, though this means it sounds a little rowdy outside in the evenings if school is in session. And the room was nicely furnished with the kitschy school theme appropriate for being so close to campus. The linens were nice. Check in went very smoothly.
On the downside, the hallways were a bit dingy and the bathroom had no fan so it fogged up a ton when showering.
The gym is tiny and has old equipment, but is certainly better than having no fitness center.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Hi Jenny,
Thanks for taking to time to leave a review! We are glad to hear that you felt like a student again while you were in Berkeley. We take great pride in our Graduate design and our staff works endlessly to provide the best service. Also, thank you for your comments about the hallways and bathroom, I will speak to our maintenance team so that we can make improvements. We would love to welcome you back the next time you're in the area to see how we've improved. Stay tuned for our next property opening in your city, Palo Alto!

John
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Loved the very affordable Berkeley. It felt warm and cozy for an especially cold and rainy May graduation. While some may not appreciate the kitschy decor, we thought it was charming. We really enjoyed our time there.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank byttrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort07309069347, General Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

byttrup,

Thank you so much for the review! I'm delighted to hear we offered a comfortable place to call home during your time in Berkeley and loved the bohemian decor. We can't wait to be your hosts again soon, come back soon!

Best,
Christine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a double room with view on the Campanile Tower. It was a corner room so very light with all the windows. As the building is pretty old, there is noise coming from the street. We had a room with a connecting door to another room. We could sometimes almost literally hear our neighbours talking . They must have experienced the same with us and we were 4 occupying our room. We put some bedding in front of the door to try to cut the noise. If not fully booked, I'd suggest leaving one of those kinds of rooms empty. Bathroom was pretty dated, that could use some improvement. We loved the decor of the hotel, the door keys and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location close to campus and a 15-minute walk to downtown Berkely for BART and restaurants. When staying in Berkeley for a visit to campus, this is definitely a good pick.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 368annaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the natural light in your room as well as the look of the hotel. Graduate takes a lot of pride in every detail that you see in the lobby and the room, all the way down to our UCB alumni room keys. I do apologize for any inconvenience the noise of your neighbors caused, and we are more than happy to accommodate you with a room on the quieter side of the hotel, or away from neighbors if our availability allows it. As for the bathroom, we will reach out to our maintenance team to look into possible improvements. Again, we are excited to hear that you plan on staying with us again and we hope to see you in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Pros: convenient location, comfortable bed, good quality towels, sheets and bath products. Friendly staff. Food at restaurant is decent. Fast wifi.
Cons: My first room had no hot water faucet in sink. Staff moved me to better room. Cleaning is slow (even when I asked cleaners to service room), maintenance issues both in rooms and public areas (broken elevator, missing a TV remote, refrigerator not plugged, loose shower head).
Overall: reasonable place at a reasonable price considering the alternatives in Berkeley.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank arnonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Arnonk,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff and amenities. We also take your criticisms to heart and we rely on them to become better hoteliers. I will be sure to follow up with maintenance to fix the problems which you mentioned, as well as our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been visiting this hotel for years. It became something of a favourite a while back but despite great efforts of renovation and restyling (many and various times) its the very infrastructure of this old building that lets it down. My main complaint is noise. Many times I have heard full conversations in surrounding rooms, especially in the bathrooms which are interconnected by ventilation conduits. If you are close to an elevator you’ll hear it trundling up and down the shaft and beeping each floor. You’ll hear people coming and going, though the excellent staff know to be quiet. Every effort is made to surmount this clunky old ship; lovely beds and linen; excellent bathroom products; great textiles and superb styling. Often the check-in has been friendly and helpful but very slow.

The nail in the coffin as far as I’m concerned is that the new management has decided to close the infamous bar/restaurant ‘Henry’s’ at 10pm. This is a real disappointment.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank simonthe1tenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure44514800024, Front Office Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

We are deeply sorry for the experience you had. We want our guests to be as comfortable as all possible, and I realize that being in a noisy location can inhibit that. We acknowledge our challenges with noise and would be more than happy to place you in a quieter location if you were to stay with us again, perhaps away from the elevators or in an area without neighbors!

Of course, thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews